EZ-Flash V slot 2 card or M3 Lite (with questions)

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by chaoszerox, Mar 23, 2007.

  1. chaoszerox
    OP

    Newcomer chaoszerox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    I want to buy a slot-2 card, and can't decide on the EZ Flash V slot-2 card and the M3 Perfect Lite.

    How does the EZ-Flash slot 2 card saves work? If you want to upload a new game, does the save go back to the slot-1 card?

    And is it possible to find the M3 for less than $50?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a slot 1 card? Which slot 1 card do you have.

    Also it's pretty hard to find the M3 lite perfect for under $50, unless you buy a used one.
     
  3. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I couldn't decide either and bought all 2. M3 Lite is pretty neat, my 3in1 has yet to come. It looks like the 3in1 will get proper GBA support for all slot-1 cards through cory1492's and BiBoss's work, so I suggest you get one of those. Of course, if you want quick access to multiple GBA ROMs and have the option of it using in a DS Phat or GBA, get an M3 Lite.
     
  4. chaoszerox
    OP

    Newcomer chaoszerox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    I have an R4. I don't mind a used M3 lite, just as long as it's working and hasn't been damaged.

    I'd like quick access to multiple GBA roms, but i've heard that support for the M3 lite is being phased out? is this true?

    I'd still like to know how the EZ Flash V cart works...
     
  5. EvoTroy

    Newcomer EvoTroy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    My EZ-V works great. It takes a couple minutes to put a new game on it because it has to erase the current game and copy the new one. On the EZ-V menu you can press a button combination to back up your GBA save to the MicroSD and also load them. It's really easy to do, but then again, it does take a couple minutes to write new games. Booting the game is instantand can be done from within the EZ-V menu or you can boot it just like a retail GBA game.
     
  6. chaoszerox
    OP

    Newcomer chaoszerox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    I read somewhere that it doesn't support 256Mbit games (Kingdom Hearts, Riviera, etc). Is this true?
     
  7. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    No, it supports everything.
     
  8. chaoszerox
    OP

    Newcomer chaoszerox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    What about DS-GBA linking (with the R4)? Rumble and RAM functionality?

    Thanks!
     
  9. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    That's not true, the copyTest program still has bugs, it will not let you copy 32MB games using the R4.
     
  10. AeroScap

    Member AeroScap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes but from what i can gather only with commercial GBA carts, no rumble except for on dipstar, and yes to ram function. See in R4 forum Opera needs to be patched but works!
     
  11. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States

    and [​IMG] what are you trying to say or prove.
     
  12. scrawl

    Member scrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Iceland
    If you have an EZ-Flash V, the triple-pack supports 256mbit games.

    Currently DS-GBA linking only works between the EZ-Flash V and Triple-pack.

    Rumble is currently only supported between the EZ-Flash V and Triple-pack. Cory has released a proof of concept via an IPS patch for Metroid pinball.

    RAM Expansion works between slot-1 flashcarts and the Triple-pack, thanks to Cory's app.

    Savegames on the triple-pack are stored in RAM which is kept alive by a small rechargable battery. Backing up and loading savegame info to/from the Triple-pack is done manually via the EZ-Flash V loader or BigBoss's homebrew app.

    I believe the archilles heel of the EZ-Flash V is its reliance on a savelist database. If a backup isn't in the database, you have to fish around for the correct save type. Not a showstopper but an extra step.

    Additional information:

    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?t=4171&start=105
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?t=4262
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/wiki/index.php?t...h_V_Triple-pack
     
  13. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page