1. KevinF

    OP KevinF Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    EZ FLASH OMEGA Launch GBA game = white screen

    Hello everybody,

    I have a problem with my new EZ-Flash OMEGA.
    I received it today and made directly the update to the last kernel.
    No problem with that, the software works on my GBA. But when I try to launch any GBA game, I got white screen ...
    Have you a solution ?

    Regards,
     
  2. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    725
    Country:
    China
    Please tell me some details for us to judge the problem
    1. The size of the SD card, the format type, and the size of the file allocation unit
    2. The source of the ROM, is the ROM clean or patched? That is to say, these ROMs were used on other flash cards before?
     
    E1ite007 likes this.
  3. rembrandx

    rembrandx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Belgium
    @EZ-Flash2 I have blank screen errors as well, when trying to play .gba roms. Tested with the latest kernel. When I want to start up GBA games on a GBA SP AGS-001, the games stay stuck on a blank screen, or freeze on one of the opening screens of the game itself. It doesn't matter if I do a clean boot, or boot with addons, or if the game is written to NOR.
    The cart ONLY works if I use it on a old model GBA (AGB-001, without a frontlight).
    I've tried 2 different SD-cards: 1 with 8GB and 1 of 16GB, both formattered with 32kb clusters. There are about 30 roms, subdivided in named folders (eg: the A-folder has games that start with letter A, B-folder for games starting with B, …)

    Tested PRAM in safe boot and no errors there.
    NES-games seem to work, it's only the GBA games that don't work.
     
  4. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    725
    Country:
    China
    Where you get the ROMS? Have they been patched by other software?

    There were users who used to bring the SD card of EZ4 directly to OMEGA, probably in the same situation as you, because those games have been patched with SRAM.
     
    E1ite007 likes this.
  5. rembrandx

    rembrandx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Belgium
    The SD-cards are clean and formatted specifically for use with the cart.The ROMs are perfectly fine as well, they are not patched. They come from various reputable sources and I have played many ROMS from those places before on other devices without issue. For example, GB and GBC roms from the same sources play just fine on other types of gameboy using flash carts. I have no reason to suspect that there is anything wrong with the GBA roms themselves.
    If it was the SD card or the ROMs, they wouldn't play in the old model GBA. It only gives issues trying to get it working in the GBA SP.
    I'm starting to suspect that the Omega cart is trying too pull too much power from the SP or overloading something. After some research online, there seem to be a lot of people who can't get this cart to work on the SP.
     
  6. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    725
    Country:
    China
    Since your OLD GBA is fine, it means that the card itself is also fine, or you try to clean the SLOT of GBASP?
     
  7. rembrandx

    rembrandx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Belgium
    I did clean the contacts, on both consoles and the cart, yes. Thanks for helping find a solution but I think I'll just return the cart to the dealer.
    The SP has no issues with other cartridges, and the issue is only .gba-roms, not other game roms, like GBC and NES roms. Those work just fine. So I don't see how it could be completely the fault of the SP itself.
    It must be a combination of that specific Omega cart, with that specific GBA SP and it's specifically with GBA ROMS. Maybe it's underpowered in some way and the Omega cart is pulling too much extra power. Or the memory demands are different on an SP and the cart is messing with that.
    I have another GBA SP (AG 101) coming in soon, I could maybe do a better comparison when that one arrives but I've run out of patience with this. It's just too much trouble than it's worth for me.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Launch, screen, FLASH