Ez Flash Omega doesn't save

Sheimi

A cute Vixen!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
XP
2,200
Country
United States
Basically any games on my Ez Flash Omega will not save at all. I have tried using the official kernel, formatting my SDHC card to Fat32 32k, both quick and overwrite. Also have RTC enabled, disabled the in game menu buttons, forced the save to Flash 128. It just won't save at all. I don't know what to do. Save states just crash the games.

Pokemon will give "The backup memory is damaged or the game's battery has run dry. The game can be played, but its progress cannot be saved".

Mother 3 will save near immediately, write the file to the microsd and still act like it didn't save. I also checked to make sure the roms hash match as well.

Edit: I am using a Ds Lite, also waiting a minute or two for it to be able to write to the micro sd

Micro SD: SanDisk Extreme Plus 32GB SDHC
 
Last edited by Sheimi,

zeebo30

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
56
Country
United States
We just bought our EZ Flash Omega and we can't get litterally any game to save. every single game without fail will not save
 

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,008
Trophies
0
XP
2,978
Country
China
forced the save to Flash 128.

Why force save type instead auto?
Did you check the rom hash with any clean com list?

We just bought our EZ Flash Omega and we can't get litterally any game to save. every single game without fail will not save
Please provide more detail, otherwise we can not help you from your single sentence.
 

Sheimi

A cute Vixen!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
XP
2,200
Country
United States
Why force save type instead auto?
Did you check the rom hash with any clean com list?
I had it set to Auto, it will write the save to the SD card initially as there is no save for the game. I'll get into the game, save. Pokemon will say "The backup memory is damaged or the game's battery has run dry. The game can be played, but its progress cannot be saved".


Then I set it to Flash 128kb for Pokémon only and it throws the same error.

Sonic Advance 3 will create a save file, but after leaving it idle for a few minutes, it will act like it is a new save file.

Yes I checked the rom hash and it matches.

Please provide more detail, otherwise we can not help you from your single sentence.
I think they have the same exact issue that I have.
 

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,008
Trophies
0
XP
2,978
Country
China
Can you provide an operation video?

from kernel start, showing every step you did. including the each setting page.

please do it with a fresh formatted sd card, and no save files in saver folder
 

Sheimi

A cute Vixen!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
XP
2,200
Country
United States
Can you provide an operation video?

from kernel start, showing every step you did. including the each setting page.

please do it with a fresh formatted sd card, and no save files in saver folder
Aight. Freshly formatted SD card. Used Super Mario Advance 4: Super Mario Bros. 3 as a good test. Game is spose to format the data, then the game loads. In this case, it doesn't happen. Goes from "Reading" to "Save Data Corrupted"


Toggling Fast patch doesn't have much of a impact. Even formatting, then forcing the game to have 128kb flash yields the same results. Tried like 4 micro sd cards.
 
Last edited by Sheimi,

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,008
Trophies
0
XP
2,978
Country
China
We just bought our EZ Flash Omega and we can't get litterally any game to save. every single game without fail will not save

you can power up the console with SELECT pressed until you see a safe mode.

choose Test Card

If it shows SRAM error

It means the solder joints on the S71 chip are desoldered, this will happen during shipping, if you can contact the dealer for a return, please contact them for a replacement

If you bought it from a non-official dealer and can't replace it, you can refer to the repair guide below

Find a local phone repair store and have them resolder the S71 chip

https://gbatemp.net/threads/basic-repair-guide-of-current-ez-flash-products.601332/
 

blum1o

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 17, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
3
Country
Germany
Hello I got a problem with my EZ Flash Omega Definitive Edition. I formatted it to Fat32 in Win 10 (16gb as card) and did the latest update correctly. However nothing will save not even the settings. Whenever I change an option for example the LED light it will jump back. I tried "test card" and it says okay in both lines.

Edit: Solution for this specific problem was the update 1.3 from can site which is not available at the com site
 
Last edited by blum1o,

nicopinzel

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 18, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
17
Country
Germany
Basically any games on my Ez Flash Omega will not save at all. I have tried using the official kernel, formatting my SDHC card to Fat32 32k, both quick and overwrite. Also have RTC enabled, disabled the in game menu buttons, forced the save to Flash 128. It just won't save at all. I don't know what to do. Save states just crash the games.

Pokemon will give "The backup memory is damaged or the game's battery has run dry. The game can be played, but its progress cannot be saved".

Mother 3 will save near immediately, write the file to the microsd and still act like it didn't save. I also checked to make sure the roms hash match as well.

Edit: I am using a Ds Lite, also waiting a minute or two for it to be able to write to the micro sd

Micro SD: SanDisk Extreme Plus 32GB SDHC
I found a method how it’s working. Press START and choose your game from there. Then the safe will be loaded.
 

ShinLarc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
225
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
Website
www.twitch.tv
XP
566
Country
United States
Having the same issue with Mother 3. I have tried saving every different method and then holding select at card boot and no issues detected. Feels upsetting to me that I’m unable to load a save game at all. Does anyone know a fix for this? I’ve also tried pressing start and loading that way. Do I need to copy my Mother 3 to NOR for it start saving correctly? Doesn’t work with Auto, SRAM, or flash64..
 

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,008
Trophies
0
XP
2,978
Country
China
Having the same issue with Mother 3. I have tried saving every different method and then holding select at card boot and no issues detected. Feels upsetting to me that I’m unable to load a save game at all. Does anyone know a fix for this? I’ve also tried pressing start and loading that way. Do I need to copy my Mother 3 to NOR for it start saving correctly? Doesn’t work with Auto, SRAM, or flash64..
You have to check your mother 3 rom's hash to verify it a clean rom or not.
 

ShinLarc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
225
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
Website
www.twitch.tv
XP
566
Country
United States
You have to check your mother 3 rom's hash to verify it a clean rom or not.

Thanks for this information. How exactly can I do that? If it is clean then do i need to do something afterwards? I have tried 4 other games and they dont save as well. Does it mean all of my roms aren't clean?
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
10,667
Trophies
3
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
12,166
Country
United States
My EZ-Flash IV (old white version with MiniSD) stopped saving my games, but it wasn't the cart's fault... My L button was sticking, and force-skipped the save process. (Boxypixel Unhinged SP build. I didn't shave the plastic down, so the button got stick down.)
 

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
1,008
Trophies
0
XP
2,978
Country
China
Thanks for this information. How exactly can I do that? If it is clean then do i need to do something afterwards? I have tried 4 other games and they dont save as well. Does it mean all of my roms aren't clean?

Assuming you are using windows, you can use winhash to verify your rom hash and compare it with the rom list you can find online, e.g. no-intro list.
 

ShinLarc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
225
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Texas
Website
www.twitch.tv
XP
566
Country
United States
Assuming you are using windows, you can use winhash to verify your rom hash and compare it with the rom list you can find online, e.g. no-intro list.
Just want to confirm that this worked.. I also had my ROM named all funky which may have been an issue as well. Just want to give you thanks for reaching out and helping me with my issue. Also it's really cool that you come here yourself to help people with issues they have now and again. I went out of my way to fix my game cube so I can use your product. I am really happy now.

thanks again!

coool.gif
 

Sheimi

A cute Vixen!
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
2,161
Trophies
1
XP
2,200
Country
United States
I didn't return the flash cartridge back to the seller. Sent it to my friend and he got it fixed. Now I have two flash cartridges.

When it happens, it is the S71 Chip
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol