1. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So just got my ez flash omega.
    Using an GBA SP 101. Not a single game saves. It does create a savefile but in the end it seems there is nothing in there because every game starts from scratch.

    And yes I give it plenty of time to write it away.

    Tried this with Kingdom hearts chain of memories. And with yu-gi-oh world championship 2004.

    Not a single one of those saves :/

    Using latest kernal and version downloaded from official site!

    EDIT:

    Just tried Riviera the promised land. It litereally says "save failed" ingame...

    So yeah can't save a single game :/

    EDIT 2:

    Tested this on an old GBA 001(agb) I had around.

    And believe it or not. It works there. I was even able to load up an old save from my ez flash IV.

    So whatever I do the Omega can't read old saves or write saves it made itself while using an GBA SP 101.


    ==> So this thing is official useless for me and money thrown out of the window...

    My EZ FLASH IV never had this issue with the same GBA SP 101...

    GBA AGB 001: SUCCESS
    GBA Micro: SUCCESS
    Nintendo DS Lite: SUCCESS
    3 other GBA SP's AGS 001: SUCCESS

    GBA SP AGS 101: FAIL :(
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  2. LarryD

    LarryD Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    I have the exact same problem.
     
    x65943 likes this.
  3. Glyptofane

    Glyptofane Death Dealer
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,275
    Country:
    United States
    Christ, there have been a lot of problems with these things creeping up for people lately. I really wanted to get one, but think it may be better to wait for the kinks to be ironed out first
     
  4. goNuts

    goNuts Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    same problem here :(
     
  5. Invader TAK

    Invader TAK Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    My Omega randomly died after I had it for TWO WEEKS. I would have sent it back but I wasn't gonna deal with sending it back to Hong Kong (I got it off NDS-Card). So I just ate the cost and got an Everdrive earlier this month which seems to be working just fine.
     
  6. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    China
    please report the firmware version and kernel version, SD card brand, size, allocation unit size.
     
    x65943 likes this.
  7. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like already stated: Latest firmware and kernal version (http://www.ezflash.cn/download/), Kingston and a Sandisk one, 16GB, formated in fat 32.

    Same micro SD cards do work in an EZFLASH IV on the same GBA SP 101.

    So it isn't the sd cards or the GBA SP 101 that is the problem here...

    And if you read my complete post don't forget it states the exact same setup does work on an old GBA agb 001

    If you want I can film the whole ordeal of me putting the Omega (with the same sd card) in both the SP 101 and agb 001.
    The SP won't work and the agb 001 will.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  8. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    China
  9. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm at work currently. So just download that firmware and hold the R button as normal?
     
  10. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    China
    run it as a game
     
  11. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok downgraded to firmware 3.

    Still did not resolve the issue...

    Still can't save..

    Even retried with another spare micro sd card of 4GB. Still did not work. Can not save...
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  12. LarryD

    LarryD Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    Tried it, still have the same issue.

    My Specs are:

    SanDisk 32 GB Ultra Class 10
    32kb allocation unit size
    Kernel 1.02T4
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  13. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But did it work for you?
     
  14. LarryD

    LarryD Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    No, nothing changed, i still have the issue. AGS-001 has no issue. I will try Micro tomorrow.
     
  15. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so tried in some other devices, same complete setup nothing changed:

    GBA AGB 001: SUCCESS
    GBA Micro: SUCCESS
    Nintendo DS Lite: SUCCESS
    3 other GBA SP's AGS 001: SUCCESS

    GBA SP AGS 101: FAIL :(
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  16. Nick206

    Nick206 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the same problem. Though mine won't save on any system. I've tried original ds, agb with 101 (my main system), sp, and micro. I'm going to try formating my sd card. Hopefully, that solves my issue.
     
  17. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    China
    That is amazing, please tell us your sd card brand, format type and allocation unit size.
     
  18. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,191
    Country:
    Germany
    I can verify that the omega wont save on my GBA SP AGS-101 either. What's interesting is that it doesn't even load saved games and therefore deletes a previously existing save.

    All these devices work fine, though: AGB-001, AGS-001, AGB-001 with a 101 screen, GB Micro, DS Lite, Revo K101+
     
  19. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    China

    which firmware are you using now? can you downgrade to firmware v3 and kernel 1.01

    use the firmware v3 downgrader first, then downgrade the kernel. download here http://www.ezflash.cn/zip/omegakernel20180404.zip
     
  20. vree

    OP vree GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not to be rude or anything, but as you can clearly read me and one other person already tried that method and it doesn't work. Your previous firmware v3 doesn't fix anything.

    I don't mind @Localhorst86 trying, but you are not looking in the correct direction to fix this anymore... There isn't anything in the previous firmware that has any solution to solving this problem, we have established that.

    Localhorst86 is describing the same problem we are having. It kind of seems to create a new save file or loading a save file. But actually it does nothing. Tested this with an old savefile created with the EZ FLASH IV. If this savefile was put on the Omega every single device except the SP 101 was capable of reading the save. The omega just acted like it was reading writing the save but it did nothing.

    A great game to test this quickly is "Riviera the promised land", this because you can instantly save after the first cutcene (that you can skip). And on the save screen it actually gives an error when you try to save on the Omega in an SP 101.

    It would be nice if you could communicate if you have any clue on how to fix this. Because me and other people are stuck with a card we can't use. Because for me personally I don't give a single thing about it working in the other devices, because I don't use those devices. My prefered retro gaming device is the GBA SP 101.

    And if there is no solution it would be nice if you could make an official statement on your website so we can reference to that when we try to return our product to china or whatever...
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - doesnt, single, flash