Hacking EZ-FLASH OMEGA Definitive Edition Announced

korbinian

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Location
Mute City
XP
74
Country
Korea, North
All Rumble Support games aren't working.
rumble works for me on R4iSDHC with TrackMania DS. did you forget to set the 'b mode function'?
see p12 of their "User Manual.pdf" which is a part of the EZDE firmware: https://www.ezflash.cn/zip/omegade1.02.zip

paranoia edit: i do own this cart and dumped a backup of it. see pic. yes, i like james may.
tL88auf.png
 
Last edited by korbinian,
  • Like
Reactions: Sterophonick

iuready

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 2, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
12
Country
Korea, South
rumble works for me on R4iSDHC with TrackMania DS. did you forget to set the 'b mode function'?
I wrote it down, but I went into A mode and changed it to Rumble mode. And I operated the switch in B mode. There is a message in the GBA slot called Option Cartridge, which does not work with R4. Is there a ROM that can set the Rumble mode even if it is a supported game?
 
Last edited by iuready,

korbinian

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2021
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Location
Mute City
XP
74
Country
Korea, North
I wrote it down, but I went into A mode and changed it to Rumble mode. And I operated the switch in B mode. There is a message in the GBA slot called Option Cartridge, which does not work with R4. Is there a ROM that can set the Rumble mode even if it is a supported game?

i'm not entirely sure i understand, so i'll just lay out what i did to get it to go bzzzzt
  1. set HW switch to A position, insert EZDE into slot2, boot without anything in slot1
  2. navigate to options screen of EZDE
  3. scroll down and select "Set" at the 2nd line labeled "Mode B", activate "Rumble", then select "OK" (where it said "Set" before).
  4. turn off DS, set switch to B position, insert slot1 cart, boot game and drive into walls :yaynds:
 
Last edited by korbinian,

Shadowcaster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
100
Country
I'm confused. Rumble not working for "Drill Dozer (U)" rom, but works perfectly with Japanese version "Screw Breaker - Goushin Dorirurero (J)". Kernel 1.02, FW 3.0. Any help would be appreciated. All other functions work as expected, vibration for DS games, memory pack mode, DS link mode - all fine.

Drill Dozer (U) rom MD5: 14dab12e795098988d46b96885170538 SHA256: 95b8a2b69103dcbc6fae3504d6c8d93609f3e228444749670592cefcd6bcf47f
Screw Breaker - Goushin Dorirurero (J) rom MD5: 1455d99497a4d004aa0edc0e50bd2530 SHA256: 411cc8ffdacd5698a064ee49cf28a531c34c9a746d341ef9c1cb1cdd5fb7a204
 

GValiente

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2020
Messages
49
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
461
Country
Spain
I'm confused. Rumble not working for "Drill Dozer (U)" rom, but works perfectly with Japanese version "Screw Breaker - Goushin Dorirurero (J)". Kernel 1.02, FW 3.0. Any help would be appreciated. All other functions work as expected, vibration for DS games, memory pack mode, DS link mode - all fine.

Drill Dozer (U) rom MD5: 14dab12e795098988d46b96885170538 SHA256: 95b8a2b69103dcbc6fae3504d6c8d93609f3e228444749670592cefcd6bcf47f
Screw Breaker - Goushin Dorirurero (J) rom MD5: 1455d99497a4d004aa0edc0e50bd2530 SHA256: 411cc8ffdacd5698a064ee49cf28a531c34c9a746d341ef9c1cb1cdd5fb7a204
In Drill Dozer rumble works after a few minutes in the game.

Try to play it a bit to check if the rumble is working or not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shadowcaster

Shadowcaster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
100
Country
In Drill Dozer rumble works after a few minutes in the game.

Try to play it a bit to check if the rumble is working or not.
You are absolutely correct. It works. Japanese rom seems to have more rumble effects, but us version works fine too. Even IPS patched us to european verison works with rumble. Thank you for your help.
 

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
905
Trophies
0
XP
2,769
Country
China
I'm confused. Rumble not working for "Drill Dozer (U)" rom, but works perfectly with Japanese version "Screw Breaker - Goushin Dorirurero (J)". Kernel 1.02, FW 3.0. Any help would be appreciated. All other functions work as expected, vibration for DS games, memory pack mode, DS link mode - all fine.

Drill Dozer (U) rom MD5: 14dab12e795098988d46b96885170538 SHA256: 95b8a2b69103dcbc6fae3504d6c8d93609f3e228444749670592cefcd6bcf47f
Screw Breaker - Goushin Dorirurero (J) rom MD5: 1455d99497a4d004aa0edc0e50bd2530 SHA256: 411cc8ffdacd5698a064ee49cf28a531c34c9a746d341ef9c1cb1cdd5fb7a204

We have been using the US version for internal testing and have not had any problems.

We just compared the Japanese version, indeed the Japanese version than the U.S. version more rumble, such as the title screen, the driller breaking the wall. JP version has rumble and US have not.
 
Last edited by EZ-Flash2, , Reason: Addtional
  • Like
Reactions: Shadowcaster

coolbho3000

GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
2,100
Trophies
0
Age
121
Location
Kikkoman Factory
XP
863
Country
In Mode A, my Omega Definitive Edition won't boot in my Game Boy Player with GBI. I get no Nintendo logo. It boots on my SP and original GBA. In Mode B, I get a scrambled Nintendo logo.

My Everdrive GBA X5 and my legitimate cartridges boot in the Game Boy Player. I've cleaned the contacts on both the Omega DE cartridge and the Game Boy Player thoroughly using isopropyl alcohol. The Game Boy Player is completely unmodified. The Omega DE has been updated to the latest firmware/kernel. Any ideas?

EDIT:

This is what it looks like in Mode A
Qx3VtO7.jpg


This is what it looks like in Mode B
6W3Clv4.jpg
 
Last edited by coolbho3000,

EZ-Flash2

Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2003
Messages
905
Trophies
0
XP
2,769
Country
China
In Mode A, my Omega Definitive Edition won't boot in my Game Boy Player with GBI. I get no Nintendo logo. It boots on my SP and original GBA. In Mode B, I get a scrambled Nintendo logo.

My Everdrive GBA X5 and my legitimate cartridges boot in the Game Boy Player. I've cleaned the contacts on both the Omega DE cartridge and the Game Boy Player thoroughly using isopropyl alcohol. The Game Boy Player is completely unmodified. The Omega DE has been updated to the latest firmware/kernel. Any ideas?

EDIT:

This is what it looks like in Mode A
Qx3VtO7.jpg


This is what it looks like in Mode B
6W3Clv4.jpg


You have to clean your GBPlayer contact. The situation is typical bad contact.
 

coolbho3000

GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
2,100
Trophies
0
Age
121
Location
Kikkoman Factory
XP
863
Country
You have to clean your GBPlayer contact. The situation is typical bad contact.
That wasn't the problem. I cleaned the pins very thoroughly. The PCB is not making contact with the GB Player, I think it's because the plastic is slightly thinner than a normal game :( I removed the screw on the EZ Flash Omega cart and it's booting now. But this is not an ideal solution.
 

coolbho3000

GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
2,100
Trophies
0
Age
121
Location
Kikkoman Factory
XP
863
Country
I unscrewed the EZ Flash cart and moved the top part of the shell "lower" then screwed it back in and now it's working. Maybe there's some plastic tolerances difference. Every other cart works in this GB Player :/

It's weird because the cartridge slot should be the exact same part as all the handheld GBAs. The EZ Flash worked in every one of my GBAs without doing this screw thing - two AGB-001, one AGS-001, and one AGS-101.
 
Last edited by coolbho3000,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: yeah it was a sucky year