1. Tradegirl2011

    OP Tradegirl2011 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Switzerland
    The EZ-FLASH Junior is not working with the GBC clone GB Boy Colour unfortunately. (microsd initial error)

    I flashed it with the newest firmware (FW3).

    Any chance that it will work in future?
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,036
    Country:
    United States
    Nope
     
  3. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    China
    1C2BD187-9ABD-4608-A818-880EE6D5567D.jpeg 6CBFB4F5-BFA9-46EB-AB86-D9D128D10A87.jpeg

    The support of clone consoles(none genuine game boy consoles)are not listed in the product features.

    but the chinese users find the solution

    if the batteries's total voltage higher than 2.8v, the sd init error, and lower than 2.2v, recycle gb boy title

    so please try to use a pair full charged rechargeable ni-mh batteries instead normal batteries
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
    hug0-a7x likes this.
  4. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7,430
    Country:
    United States
    My ElCheapo SD v2.0 with latest 2.0.20 firmware doesn't work on my GB Boy Colour either. Most flash carts don't.
     
  5. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    29,618
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most clone consoles of any form have traditionally worked by basically being a ROM and save dumper (and save writer in some instances) attached to an emulator. This goes whether it is an adapter for a home console (in which case said adapters are often little more than controller, power and video out from the console) or a handheld offering.

    Dumping the cart for a flash cart tends to then see it dump the loader, but obviously no communications going back to in turn grab the ROM you select. Some flash carts might have an autowrite and autoboot to feature, or old school NOR GBA carts can sometimes have a single wrong written with no loader. I don't really have a reasonable solution to it either outside of something ridiculous like present the ROM and a file list, write it back with the save, have the cart load the save and check the save and force boot that.
    Such a setup also means said clone consoles might not work with some multigame carts (if you have problems with cheat devices and them then good chance it will also trouble a clone console, though there might be workarounds there).

    We are starting to see true clone consoles with FPGAs and remade chips start to be made (homebrew versions being made a few years back) and they might work but most legacy clone options won't, or you will have to use whatever SD support they might have.
     
  6. Bonny

    Bonny GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Germany
    Fun fact: I also own exactly the same green GB Boy Colour as shown on the pics above. It is a newer version of this Clone Game Boy console (manufacture date: 2018 / 12). And yes, the Junior isn't working with it. Different errors, stuck on EZ-Flash startscreen, or the "sd init" error will occur.

    But the Junior is working with an earlier version of the GB Boy Colour. I got one in transparent Blue, manufactured 2014 / 12.

    Do you mean the battery needs to be fully loaded and have high mAh?
     
  7. voddy

    voddy No Title Available
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    510
    Country:
    United States
    Wow that's exactly my question too haha
    Bought the gb boy colour and a junior flashcard.
    SD init error.
    I don't have any high mah Akku but I hardly believe it is the reason.
     
  8. voddy

    voddy No Title Available
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    510
    Country:
    United States
    So you think I need a 1300 mah rechargeable battery on 1.2 volt to make it run?
     
  9. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    China
    no matter 1300mah or 2500mah, just two 1.2 voltage rechargeable batteries. at least the most of Chinese gb boy users get their cards work with this trick.
     
  10. ghjfdtg

    ghjfdtg GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    What's the reason of this working? Did they screw up voltage regulation on the GBC clones?
     
  11. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,036
    Country:
    United States
    LOL duh
     
  12. voddy

    voddy No Title Available
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    510
    Country:
    United States
    I ll try it
    I ordered some batteries and a charger
    2000 mah 1.2 v
    I had 1.5 ones but it didn't work so maybe 1.2 will do the job ^^ I ll comment when they arrive and being tested.
     
  13. roxas855tw

    roxas855tw Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Which means Akaline Batteries are not recommend on Gamy Boy Color with EZ flash Jr ?
     
  14. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,036
    Country:
    United States
    Yes
     
  15. Bonny

    Bonny GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Germany
    I was using two 1.2V batteries with 2450 mAh from Sanyo (made in japan) with my green GB Boy Colour (the newer version of the GB Boy Colour from 2018). Didn't work for me -> sd init error

    The same batteries were working flawlessly in the blue GB Boy Colour (the older version from 2014).
     
  16. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    China
    If you read the post carefully, you will understand we are talking about a clone console which named gb boy colour.
    It has several versions which have different power voltage support.

    The genuine game boy color is not affected by what batteries you are using.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    If you got sd init error, it means the voltage is too high on this console, try to consume some power of your batteries to lower the voltage.
     
    Bonny likes this.
  17. roxas855tw

    roxas855tw Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I see , i have tested with my Genuine Game Boy Color.
    Sometimes I played my favorite GB Game , it would be self-reset.
    I saw the power light on GBC was not light enough.
    I thought it might be low battery power ( I used AAx2 eneloop rechargeable battery )
    I also tried 3V Power Adapter for GBC , and I could play much longer than using batteries
    I had tried an Original Game Boy with batteies , it doesn't reset by itself.
    Any solution that power issue can be fixex in the furtue ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - working, Junior, Colour