EZ-FLASH IV and GBA

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by the byter, May 2, 2009.

May 2, 2009

EZ-FLASH IV and GBA by the byter at 7:05 PM (3,105 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. the byter
    OP

    Newcomer the byter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I have a new EZ-FLASH IV and I'm having some difficulties with it. I'm new to this device and to the GBA, for that matter.

    ROMs work when I load them in a DSL (tested 5 or 6). If I load them in the GBA loader, I get either:
    a: Gameboy logo comes up, boots through various startup screens, then dies in a screech of sound
    b: Screen goes blank after loading
    c: Game appears to work, but sound is a mass of static


    Any suggestions? Am I just very unlucky in choosing incompatible games?
     
  2. the byter
    OP

    Newcomer the byter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Any ideas from someone experienced with these?
     
  3. Quark^2

    Newcomer Quark^2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use the EZ4_Client util to put them on your EZ4?
    You can't just drop the .gba files on your miniSD, you must use the util.
     
  4. the byter
    OP

    Newcomer the byter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, used the client. As I mentioned, they work on the NDS, but I can only get one game working on the GBA.
     
  5. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    clean the connections on the gba?
     
  6. kalmis

    Member kalmis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Finland
    I got EZ Flash 4 as well and haven't still found one game that is not working. Ok the Ninty MP3 player didn't but not sure if its supposed to either.What are some the games that are not working?
     
  7. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    As far as the USA list goes, everything is playable.
    Some games need some patches, but its the games that need patches on most cards *the classic nes series, and a few of the DBZ games.*
    A few games have issues with the client software, and the reset function needs to be disabled. Also a few games have naming issues, and need to be under 24? characters. Most people to play it safe just do the 8.3 name formating on those games.
     
  8. creep01

    Newcomer creep01 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Philippines
    this happened to me but thats because i patched the games with cheats with GBAATM,so dont do that!!!!!!
     
  9. the byter
    OP

    Newcomer the byter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using ROMs matching the advanscene pure set, audited with clrmame.

    The games work if I load it on an NDS, but crash in a variety of ways if I load the same cart on the GBA. The GBA appears to work fine with other carts though.

    I am using the EZ Flash Client 1.03. I use the defaults (save size type, save size size, and the "add save patch" checked).
     
  10. nuki4a

    Newcomer nuki4a Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Japan
    you need also EZ4-Loader060710 (firmware) and every game will work
     

Share This Page