EZ-Flash 3in1 and R4 Not Saving GBA games

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by NFreakHL, May 18, 2008.

May 18, 2008
  1. NFreakHL
    OP

    Newcomer NFreakHL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure this issue has come up countless times, but after an hour or so of searching here, other forums, and even Google, I got nothing. I'm using an R4 and EZ-Flash 3in1 combo with Rudolph's Expansion Tool (or whatever the predecessor to his GBA eXploader is called). I've patched all my roms that needed to be patched, I have both the GBA and SAVE folder (and save files do appear in the SAVE folder), and I've tried both PSRAM and NOR for everything (I only have 4 roms anyway).

    I load up the Expansion Tool, and try to run in PSRAM. - "SRAM save data not found - Can't backup to SAV file" - and as expected, the rom loads, the game saves fine (no in-game error messages like corrupt data), but next time I go to play, it won't load it up.

    NOR mode - Same message. However, the game WILL copy to NOR and let me run it as if the 3in1 was a regular GBA cart, but it just won't save.

    Also, when I tried the GBA Exploader, I got a message saying to set the Slot-2 device to the program or something along those lines every time I started the loader.

    My guess is the battery is dead or something. In this case, is there any way to recharge the battery? Or should I just buy a new 3in1?
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely this. If you purchased the 3-in-1 recently you should try to get a replacement. The battery is not rechargeable, but it can be replaced with a bit of soldering.
     
  3. NFreakHL
    OP

    Newcomer NFreakHL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Can you get me a link about the solder method? I'm not experienced with this stuff so I'm probably gonna end up buying a new one instead, but I might take a crack at it before I do.
     
  4. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Its actually quite easy to replace the battery, though you need a new replacement battery, a soldering gun and some solder, else your option is get a new 3in1.
     
  5. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's not (at least not in the original hardware version of the 3-in-1, I'm not sure about the new hardware version). It's a CR 1220, which is not a rechargeable battery. You want one that comes with solder tabs, you don't want to be soldering anything directly to a battery after it's been assembled.

    See here for more info: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6251
     
  7. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't realy matter if it fit's and puts out the correct volt/mAh

    But the cr1220 is easier to find regardless

    Checking radio shack for solder on one

    Clossest one i can find is (Crappy ass capacity 2mAh)Sanyo ML614-TZ4 3V Rechargeable Lithium Coin Cell Battery

    but i was going off what the ez4 (phat) uses (guide i read said thats the battery it uses)
     
  8. secspyral

    Newcomer secspyral Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I have the EXACT same issue as this person. The only difference is, my flash cart is brand new. this can't be a battery issue right?
     
  9. Zanonymous

    Newcomer Zanonymous Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Junkyard Ante
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem, except not really. After playing FF6 around 10 hours and saving, the next time I played it there was my save with 8 hours :wtf:. My other games save fine, but ever since then I quit playing it cause I lost too much time.
    And that's Pulseman, NFreakHL, am I the first to figure it out?
     
  10. secspyral

    Newcomer secspyral Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    i just cant see how it could be a battery issue when its a brand new card
     
  11. redjack

    Newcomer redjack Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I ahve this problem too. There is a save folder that has my saves and everything, but it jsut wont load those save files. The only thing different is that I use supercard ds one with flash me V 3 in 1...
     
  12. seedvt

    Member seedvt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Could be a bad batch.
     
  13. secspyral

    Newcomer secspyral Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    if this is the truth then i have no problem replacing the battery I just don't understand how this is a battery issue. The rumble feature works, I can load into the psram and everything. It just wont remember that i saved it even though the sav file is there
     
  14. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Of course rumble and PSRAM work, they don't use the battery. The battery exists to backup the SRAM. Everything else will work fine until the 3-in-1 itself dies. And just because it's brand new to you doesn't mean it was brand new to the warehouse where it sat for a year before you came along and bought it.

    Also, to the people planning to buy a rechargeable battery; you are being silly, cease this nonsense. The battery has no way of drawing power from your DS. The 3-in-1 is not wired for recharging batteries, the idea that you can just put a rechargeable battery in and it will be recharged makes no sense. The only way to recharge it would be to de-solder it and charge it externally to the 3-in-1, then re-solder it when you're done. And since rechargeables have shorter lifespans, you'll be recharging it more often than you'd be replacing a regular battery; and since it's the same process anyway, you may as well bite it and get a non-rechargeable battery.
     
  15. secspyral

    Newcomer secspyral Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
  16. Killer Phantom

    Member Killer Phantom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having problems with my newly bought EZ-Flash 3 in 1 as well.

    I play games, everything go well until I turn off my DS and nothing is there.

    Do I have bad batch problem as well?
     
  17. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know, I received mine today from DealExtreme, battery is dead on a brand new 3in1. If I cycle the power very quickly it seems that it'll save, but leaving it off for more than a few seconds means it won't. Even when it does work though, I'm having issues saving period with Astro Boy Omega Factor, for some reason when it writes the save file correctly it still doesn't work, though I assume that's a YSmenu issue.
     
  18. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    You can even fit a fat CR1620 inside if you have a GBA-sized EZflash. Those last twice as long as 1220.
     
  19. Fraz

    Newcomer Fraz Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Reviving an old thread but it's exactly my problem.

    I just got my EZflash 3in1 and no GBA saves will hold for any length of time. I had dead battery issues with old cards I've had and they still stay for at least minutes, although I'm willing to believe it was completely dead.

    I pulled out my multimeter to check it and it definitely wasn't as powerful as it should have been.

    Today I went and got a replacement battery (3v, 1.5 mA). It didn't have the 2 leads so I improvised with some wire I had lying around. Still not saving.

    I'm willing to consider that I'm not the electrical macgyver I think I am but before I can find another battery that is more suited what other potential problems could I check?

    edit: I should mention I've tried several games (needed to be patched v. not. 32MB v. less), so I don't believe the rom is at fault either.
     

Share This Page