EZ 3-in-1 Save Compatibility

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Alastair, Dec 6, 2007.

Dec 6, 2007

EZ 3-in-1 Save Compatibility by Alastair at 9:55 PM (1,348 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Alastair
    OP

    Member Alastair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Country:
    Australia
    I've recently decided to switch from my SuperCard MiniSD to an EZ 3-in-1 and was wondering if my save games will work or be able to be modified to work. I only have about 10 games that I want to resume so if worse comes to worst I could just finish them on my SCmSD or restart them on the EZ 3-in-1.
    I have these three files pertaining to each game: .gba, .sav and .sci. My main concern is the fact that the games need to be patched differently to run on eaither cartridge.
    Thanks in advance for any help. [​IMG]
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    What is the exact size (in bytes) of the Supercard's GBA save files? Are they all the same size?
     
  3. Alastair
    OP

    Member Alastair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Country:
    Australia
    All but two. They're 64KB apart from one that is 512bytes (Rayman Advance) and one that is 8KB (Link To The Past).
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like those are raw saves. They will need to be padded to 128KB to use them with the 3-in-1 Expansion Pack Tool, but that's fairly easy. I wrote a windows batch script that does it automatically, but I need to update it to support the 4kbit (512 byte) saves. I'll post a link here when I get it done.

    If you're using an EZ-V to flash games to the 3-in-1, I think those save files will just work. I'm not sure about that though.
     
  5. Alastair
    OP

    Member Alastair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Country:
    Australia
    That's really kind of you. Thanks. [​IMG]
    I'll be using a CycloDS Evo. to flash the games.
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  7. Alastair
    OP

    Member Alastair GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Country:
    Australia
    Woah! Great little tool you've created!
    I tested it and the save comes out at 128KB.
    I cannot test to see if it works until the 3-in-1 arrives but I imagine that it will.
    I did this in Vista by the way - the .bat files do work. [​IMG]
    Thanks again! You've saved me one hundred hours or so by allowing me to play from my old save games!
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to help. Thanks for the Vista confirmation.
     

Share This Page