Extracting the VC's Sin & Punishment for use on a real N64

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CZroe, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. CZroe
    OP

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Argh. Despite owning a metric fuck-ton of VC titles, I'm a big fan of playing a game on the original platform, especially when control is a concern. Just like Starfox 64, Sin & Punishment: Successor of the Earth is awkward with the Wii Remote + Classic Controller and the standard Gamecube controller or Gamecube Wireless Wavebird Controller. Luckily, I purchased and completed it many years ago on my N64. IGN had a photoshop image translation of the main menu screen, so I was able to explore thoroughly, but the Wii VC version's in-game translated menu is obviously more desirable.

    When I want to play through the game or show it to a friend, I always get annoyed that I can't just IPS patch a dump of my real Game Pak to match the Virtual Console one on a real N64. With all the ROM injecting I see on YouTube vids, I can assume that ROM extraction is also possible, correct? You know, similar to loading The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time "Master Quest" on my N64 using the one extracted from the Gamecube's The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time "Master Quest" Bonus Disc.

    If it's possible, I'm sure it's already been done. I downloaded GoodN64 tool and didn't see it in the database, but I doubt that gets updated often (it's hard to check/find the database build date).

    Heck, if the changes are minimal, the English menu might be possible to load over the Japanese one using a later-model N64 Gameshark Pro's parallel port (it can effectively load states), but my Bung equipment should serve me well like it usually does.
     
  2. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
  3. harrybuttox

    Member harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    I would assume it would work since it is just a plain old rom..give it a try and let us know the results!
     
  4. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it might work if you have the right tools and exquipment. but the VC isnt the same as an N64 rom... VC is .WAD (sure you know that) an N64 is something else (i'm taking a guess that its .N64 beacuase that would follow the patern of all the other roms lol)

    so i guess you'd need to convert the rom into an n64 one, change controls because they are programmed as wiimote, classic and gamecube instead of N64 (not sure if thats right or not though), and then have the equipment to shove the game onto a cartridge to play.

    i'm only using common sense there so dont blast me if i'm wrong lol
     
  5. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It should work, I have played it on PJ64.

    1. Get the wad
    2. Get WADTool and decrypt it
    3. Get this file
    4. Extract the *nameofwad*.005.des with extract.exe
    5. Open the newly created folder
    6. Look for the file "rom"
    7. Copy it
    8. Play it
     
  6. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Well, not quite.

    The VC titles are wrapped in a container that includes the bare rom, an emulator, the banner, and the manual, among other things. All controller bindings are part of the emulator, which I imagine could be changed.

    The rom itself is supported directly by its respective console and people have been able to inject their own roms into VC titles for this very reason.
     
  7. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh yeah... i duh'd that one up lol

    i've injected myself so there must be an N64 rom in there somewhere XD my bad.
     
  8. Knocks

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Why can't you just play the original, non-VC ROM? Because it has a couple of katakana menu screens?
     
  9. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe he cant read the basic katakana characters?
     
  10. CZroe
    OP

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Because I have the original Game Pak, I can play the original and have... thoroughly. It's just that, if there is a "more complete" English one available, I may as well use it when I return or fire it up for guests. It's OCD. [​IMG]

    I usually have to dump the ROM to one of my Doctor V64jr's anyway to avoid digging up a method to insert it without physically modifying my N64. Rather than load the dump application's ROM and reboot the N64 after it reads the inserted cartridge and over-writes itself with the ROM in the Doctor's DRAM (I just made this sound WAY more complicated than it really is), I could just load the English version in the first place.

    So little has changed in this "translation" that I remain confident that it would be able to read and use the original save from the cartridge (usually, executing a different game would save over the inserted cartridge's backup memory if the game did not match).
     
  11. Knocks

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:

    Doesn't the Wii Shop have a warning that games in the "Import" category are in their original, untranslated versions anyway?
     
  12. CZroe
    OP

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    They say that the menu was originally translated for an intended US release back in the year 2000. It seems to be the only thing changed from the Japanese release for the VC release (well, that and the default control scheme, which could either be set by the emulator initializing a different value in memory rather than a ROM edit or be a different default mapping to the Classic Controller). The voices were already recorded in English and subtitled in Japanese (Chinese for the iQue release), and they remain so in this release. Nintendo claims that all their VC games aim to perfectly duplicate the original experience, but Animal Crossing, Classic NES Series, and eReader ROMs are used throughout (for example, look at the The Legend of Zelda's copyright dates)! These were sometimes modified extensively and didn't even use the same mapper as the original cartridge (eReader Urban Champion is one example IIRC).
     
  13. bootmonster

    Member bootmonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FYI the rom is untranslated when you rip it from the US/PAL release, seems the menu translation is done during emulation.

    I tried this when the VC first got ripped, oh well [​IMG]
     
  14. CZroe
    OP

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. I wonder if it is actually in the original also and can be enabled with a GameShark/Action Replay? We need a memory dump!
     
  15. Knocks

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    If the VC ROM is, in fact, untranslated, one of the two could be happening:

    1) the game might use two ROMs: the original one and a smaller, additional ROM from which it is pulling translated menus--similar to how MAME uses parent/children romsets

    or

    2) the dump includes a translation patch which the emulator applies on the fly

    To play the game translated on the original hardware, you would first need to extract the translation resources from the VC dump and then hack the original ROM and inject the modifications into it.

    You probably have a better chance of learning Japanese than doing all that [​IMG]
     
  16. CZroe
    OP

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    If it patches the ROM in memory, all it'd take is isolating the patched ROM from a simple memory dump (save state) done while the Wii is executing S&P. If it takes that, I'll have to wait until someone gives me a utility for doing it. If it patches the menu on the fly after the Japanese one is decompressed from the ROM and written to the emulated N64's RAM, then it would involve decompressing the ROM resources... that's something I couldn't do if one of the game-specific N64 compressor/decompressors on Dextrose.com didn't do the trick.
     
  17. bootmonster

    Member bootmonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wrong topic
     
  18. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    Just out of the curiosity, I inserted the original rom that I have for use on my Z into the Sin and Punishment wad.

    Strangely, it hangs at the classic controller screen. The rom I extracted from the Sin and Punishment wad worked on my Z, though. Just with Japanese text.

    Too bad, because it does play way better with the original N64 controller, and I personally don´t want to pay that much for an adapter just for one game. My Z and N64 are still hooked up to my t.v., even though they don´t get used that often nowadays.
     
  19. Supertag

    Newcomer Supertag Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    The rom inside SP.wad is untranslated ? seems really silly
     

Share This Page