External HDD not connecting to TV

Ethevion

Wannabe Artist
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
1,827
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
www.lvlupart.com
XP
1,144
Country
Canada
I've been trying to get my external HDD to connect to my TV so I can watch movies, but every time I try it doesn't work.

My TV is A Samsung LN40D550K1FXZC that I got in 2010 (or was it 2011 :unsure:) and my external hdd is a Western Digital My Passport 1TB.

When I plug the hdd into my tv, the light on turns on, but the tv says nothing is connected. I've tried NTSC and FAT32 formats, with different types of video files (.avi, .mp4, and .mkv). I did some searching online and found that the USB port from the TV might not be able to supply enough power to a 1TB hdd, but I'm not sure if that's my problem. Any ideas?
 

BORTZ

The Amazing
Supervisor
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
13,157
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Pittsburgh
XP
14,623
Country
United States
Ive heard that a lot of the older (yes i am aware that 2010 is only 3 years ago) Samsung smart TVs had tons of problems like this. I dont really know what to tell you, other than maybe try contacting support?
 

Ethevion

Wannabe Artist
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
1,827
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
www.lvlupart.com
XP
1,144
Country
Canada
Ive heard that a lot of the older (yes i am aware that 2010 is only 3 years ago) Samsung smart TVs had tons of problems like this. I dont really know what to tell you, other than maybe try contacting support?

It isn't a smart TV though, just a regular LCD HDTV. I might actually try to contact support. Might be my best bet.
 

kenenthk

Village Idiot
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
702
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,565
Country
Burkina Faso
If you cant get it working if all fails you can pick up a $50 android mini pc and give it an education/ stream from the device.
Not much help but just a last resort type of deal.
 

Ethevion

Wannabe Artist
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
1,827
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
www.lvlupart.com
XP
1,144
Country
Canada
If you cant get it working if all fails you can pick up a $50 android mini pc and give it an education/ stream from the device.
Not much help but just a last resort type of deal.

I was thinking of trying a USB hub with ac power or just get a thumb drive and play a movie at a time. No need for the storage to be huge anyways if I'm just gonna use it to watch movies. I'll keep your suggestion in mind though.
 

kenenthk

Village Idiot
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
702
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,565
Country
Burkina Faso
I was thinking of trying a USB hub with ac power or just get a thumb drive and play a movie at a time. No need for the storage to be huge anyways if I'm just gonna use it to watch movies. I'll keep your suggestion in mind though.

It does look like your TV supports wireless streaming unless I read it wrong?
I know my TV has a LAN port that allows you to connect to networks, it's not a smart TV and works like shit.

This is what I'm talking about: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bluetooth-A..._Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item58a09f6ebf

Bonuses with that is that it can do streaming as well as emulation and android gaming. Though there are higher spec ones for $100

I gave up on using streaming functions on TV and just use my 360 anymore Just because a lot are a bitch when it comes to file formats :P
 

Issac

Iᔕᔕᗩᑕ
Supervisor
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
7,011
Trophies
0
Location
Sweden
XP
6,229
Country
Sweden
Hmmm, I have an old samsung TV, and I can use it without any problems. However, make sure if there are any USB ports that has more power (look in the manual), because on our new TV (also a Samsung) there's a special USB port for HDD's. Gives more power, while the ones with less power only works with USB memory sticks.

Soo, try a memory stick...
 

Ethevion

Wannabe Artist
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
1,827
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
www.lvlupart.com
XP
1,144
Country
Canada
It does look like your TV supports wireless streaming unless I read it wrong?
I know my TV has a LAN port that allows you to connect to networks, it's not a smart TV and works like shit.

This is what I'm talking about: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bluetooth-A..._Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item58a09f6ebf

Bonuses with that is that it can do streaming as well as emulation and android gaming. Though there are higher spec ones for $100

I gave up on using streaming functions on TV and just use my 360 anymore Just because a lot are a bitch when it comes to file formats :P

Wouldn't I need an android device for that though or can it stream from a PC?
 

Ethevion

Wannabe Artist
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
1,827
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
www.lvlupart.com
XP
1,144
Country
Canada
Hmmm, I have an old samsung TV, and I can use it without any problems. However, make sure if there are any USB ports that has more power (look in the manual), because on our new TV (also a Samsung) there's a special USB port for HDD's. Gives more power, while the ones with less power only works with USB memory sticks.

Soo, try a memory stick...

Seems like the cheapest way. Just get an 8 GB stick and load the movie I want. I'm leaning towards it right now.

Nope, it is a android devive just in the shape of a flash drive, you can download programs like xbmc and stream from your pc, watch some youtube reviews on it.

Oh cool, I'm definitely going to look it up. It might be worth it if I decide to go beyond videos.
 

Thanatos Telos

random stuff
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
847
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
508
Country
United States
The USB port on the TV might not be outputting enough power. That AC adapter might do it.
The HDD start to spin, or is it only the light?
 

Ethevion

Wannabe Artist
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
1,827
Trophies
0
Age
32
Website
www.lvlupart.com
XP
1,144
Country
Canada
The USB port on the TV might not be outputting enough power. That AC adapter might do it.
The HDD start to spin, or is it only the light?

When I touch the HDD it's vibrating, but not as much as when plugged into my PC. The light is on as well. Would it be a good idea to get a USB hub that's AC powered or just get a thumb drive?
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
    linuxares @ linuxares: it wasn't no