Hardware Ext hdd, ext or ssd?

dracosson

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
471
Country
United States
With black friday coming up was thinking of using some gamestop gift cards going to get an external possibly.

Going to have about $68 to use so could get toshiba 2tb drive , pny cs900 480gb , CS1050 480 GB external ssd or CS2060 500 GB ext.
I have the stock 1tb inside but think gonna clear off the drive and put some new games on it. My desktop only has usb 3 though.
I know the pro takes advantage of an internal ssd more but think the ps4 slim would take enough to justify swapping the ssd in?

I do have an orico enclosure to put ssd or hdd into.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HellGhast

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,324
Trophies
1
XP
13,977
Country
United States
if you have an exploitable system, get an external. the reason is that you can repopulate the games' list with different internal hdds without reinstallation. if you get an internal, you'll have to reinstall all games.
 

dracosson

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
471
Country
United States
if you have an exploitable system, get an external. the reason is that you can repopulate the games' list with different internal hdds without reinstallation. if you get an internal, you'll have to reinstall all games.
Its is exploitable. I only got two real disc games right now I'd need to reinstall. But are other game saves I do need to back up.

Would you say external ssd or jsut go for mass storage? Was thinking toshiba flex 2tb over the 500gb or so ssd ext
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,324
Trophies
1
XP
13,977
Country
United States
Hey god reborn, if I upgrade my internal to an ssd, how does one go about repopulating all the games I had installed on the external.. or would I just use the backup and restore function while updating the internal? Thanks!
depends, if you're on exploitable firmware, the games will repopulate once you mount your external hdd after you enable hen (go to the library to see the games' number increase. it's somewhat slow as it does one game at a time, so just wait for it). there's nothing else that needs to be done. you can get the sorting right by copying your app.db from system_data/priv/mms , then hexing in the new user id, which is the decimal version of the user id folder name. just replace all with the hex to use the app.db on the new user. you can also just try to make a normal backup of the hdd, but I have no idea how long that takes on the ps4. on the ps3 it's extremely slow, like hours. make sure you backup your saves and trophies. export your saves, then activate your account, and import them back. trophies require ftp, I think. if you're on 8.50+, you can still do it, but only legit games.
 

viper3344

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
389
Trophies
0
XP
878
Country
United States
depends, if you're on exploitable firmware, the games will repopulate once you mount your external hdd after you enable hen (go to the library to see the games' number increase. it's somewhat slow as it does one game at a time, so just wait for it). there's nothing else that needs to be done. you can get the sorting right by copying your app.db from system_data/priv/mms , then hexing in the new user id, which is the decimal version of the user id folder name. just replace all with the hex to use the app.db on the new user. you can also just try to make a normal backup of the hdd, but I have no idea how long that takes on the ps4. on the ps3 it's extremely slow, like hours. make sure you backup your saves and trophies. export your saves, then activate your account, and import them back. trophies require ftp, I think. if you're on 8.50+, you can still do it, but only legit games.
depends, if you're on exploitable firmware, the games will repopulate once you mount your external hdd after you enable hen (go to the library to see the games' number increase. it's somewhat slow as it does one game at a time, so just wait for it). there's nothing else that needs to be done. you can get the sorting right by copying your app.db from system_data/priv/mms , then hexing in the new user id, which is the decimal version of the user id folder name. just replace all with the hex to use the app.db on the new user. you can also just try to make a normal backup of the hdd, but I have no idea how long that takes on the ps4. on the ps3 it's extremely slow, like hours. make sure you backup your saves and trophies. export your saves, then activate your account, and import them back. trophies require ftp, I think. if you're on 8.50+, you can still do it, but only legit games.
Thanks for the info! So I’m on 7.55 and don’t care at all about online ever. Nor do I care about saves or trophies.

I have a 1tb internal loaded and a 5tb external filled to the brim as well. Just want the easiest way to upgrade the internal hdd to an ssd and just preserve everything so I don’t have to re-install it ya know?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,324
Trophies
1
XP
13,977
Country
United States
I just kinda thought that what might be best is to change the table names in the app.db by hexing. I think the addcont.db will probably still work as I couldn't find my table names in there (make a backup of both from system_data/priv/mms). anyway, you can get all games from internal and external doing this. games on external are found in the external folder or at least the meta is, but the games on internal are just in title id folders. if you do this through hexing, all games will be back. just make sure you do this and while signed out of your profile in order to get the app.db to go through. before I knew that the tables were tied to user id, it would say that the database is corrupt after ftping, the system will now restart. it would rebuild the database, which won't work with fake pkg games. external games will be repopulated, but internal ones won't be unless you do the above. good luck.
 

viper3344

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
389
Trophies
0
XP
878
Country
United States
I just kinda thought that what might be best is to change the table names in the app.db by hexing. I think the addcont.db will probably still work as I couldn't find my table names in there (make a backup of both from system_data/priv/mms). anyway, you can get all games from internal and external doing this. games on external are found in the external folder or at least the meta is, but the games on internal are just in title id folders. if you do this through hexing, all games will be back. just make sure you do this and while signed out of your profile in order to get the app.db to go through. before I knew that the tables were tied to user id, it would say that the database is corrupt after ftping, the system will now restart. it would rebuild the database, which won't work with fake pkg games. external games will be repopulated, but internal ones won't be unless you do the above. good luck.
Gotcha. I do remember my 1TB PS3 taking over like 14 hours to do a backup with the official utility haha. Wonder how long it takes on ps4....
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,324
Trophies
1
XP
13,977
Country
United States
not sure, but it would be the only way to get your internal hdd games back. that's why I don't suggest installing to internal if using fpkg. if you're official, you can just redownload the games, however long that takes.
 

dracosson

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
471
Country
United States
Just have to see what comes out for deals around the 15th or so when I cash in my other gift cards. Some the 4tbs have went off sale.

IF I do go SSD I'm probably gonna just back up my gave saves to a usb, then start fresh from SSD and then wipe 1tb and use for external. I KIND of am really hoping to grab a 4tb though since can do games externally.

I had some games I purchased digtally before trying home brew (on another drive) but then I accidentally tried to grab an update so deactivated as offical firmware (on seperate hdd the hb) was out of date. I may try to reactivate my legit digital ace combat 7 if I can T>T
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,324
Trophies
1
XP
13,977
Country
United States
you can dump the legit games, but if the drive is formatted or damaged, the games are gone. I think there was a way to get content from your account, but I think it's been patched.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Around the Moon in 80 hours.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Tesla really needs to step their game up if they wanna tear up tracks on the moon
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    The problem being is no electric chargers within 20 miles of each other are on the moon
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    yeah send a cybertruck up there
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it looks like something from space anyway
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    just need to add folding solar panels to it
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Jut have it nuclear powered.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Like submarines.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    submarines are quite a lot bigger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't think we have reactors small enough to fit in a car yet
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But the generator itself is relatively small.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And in any case you couldn't get proper cooling on the Moon so a powerful nuclear generator is out of the question.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    just run it at night
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and run on battery power at day
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Cooling issues.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the moon is like -170C at night i'm sure that's enough
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And the only way to take advantage of that cold is to burrow cooling fins into the ground.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Contrary to popular belief, the vacuum of space is not cold, it's nothing.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Heat does radiate from warm objects but the effectiveness of radiation cooling is negligible.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You need a medium to take up the heat and take it away.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And the denser the medium, with a higher specific heat capacity, the better.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This is why water cooling is better than air cooling.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And why cooling is a major problem in space.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the moon isn't quite a vacuum
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would like better cooling for my PC lol
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I would like better cooling for my PC lol