1. mercm3

    OP mercm3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I wanted to know if rudolphs Exploader auto saves when loading a new rom into the PSRAM? I modified my ini file to
    read
    #
    # GBA_ExpLoader.ini
    #
    SaveDir /GBA_SAVE
    SignDir /GBA_SIGN
    #No_MultiSave ! No Multi Save
    No_MultiSave

    but still seems i have to manually save the SRAM data every time I launch Exploader is this correct or is there a autosave i am missing something?
    Also is there a softreset function when playing a GBA game?
     
  2. krazykirk

    krazykirk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    You don't add the No_MultiSave, you uncomment the first one so it looks like this.

    # GBA_ExpLoader.ini
    #
    SaveDir /GBA_SAVE
    SignDir /GBA_SIGN
    No_MultiSave ! No Multi Save

    EDIT: And no there is no soft reset as there is no DS functionality in GBA mode.
     
  3. Bri

    Bri GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The way he had it should work.

    I believe it should store the save file to your slot1 (in the GBA_SAVE folder according to your settings) the next time you run GBA ExpLoader (after turning off your NDS).

    -Bri
     
  4. mercm3

    OP mercm3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    After I turn off/on the DS i do get a prompt to save the sram from game A. If do not save at this point when I play game B I would lose my save data from game A. I was under the impression every time I loaded a new game into the psram exploader would auto save my sram data before, am I thinking incorrectly?
     
  5. Bri

    Bri GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I use the eWin 2in1 rather than the EZ 3in1, and I can tell you that with the eWin GBA ExpLoader saves everything automatically. Maybe there is a setting for the EZ 3in1 that makes it save automatically.

    -Bri
     
  6. sidneyyoung

    sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    uncomment the set-value and parameter, don't make a new one with no parameters, how the hell could that ever work ? voodoo ?
     
  7. Bri

    Bri GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    mercm3:

    Try what krazykirk and sidneyyoung suggested, which is to change the ini file so it looks like this (i.e. just uncomment the "No_MultiSave..." line rather than adding a new line):


    # GBA_ExpLoader.ini
    #
    SaveDir /GBA_SAVE
    SignDir /GBA_SIGN
    No_MultiSave ! No Multi Save


    See if that works. It definitely sounds as though you're using multisave.

    -Bri
     
  8. krazykirk

    krazykirk GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    Yeah, for some reason multisave is turned on as default, and you want to turn that off as you only need one save slot for each game.
     
  9. mercm3

    OP mercm3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Found the issue regarding the 3in1. You were correct Bri my ini file was fine the way it was. It seems the exploader needed to be in root of micro SD card in order not to use Multisave. Once I moved both ini and nds files to root that fixed the issue. Now much easier for boys to play GBA games thanks everyone for all the help.
     
  10. Bri

    Bri GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    mercm3,

    Glad you got it working! BTW, you can move the .nds file anywhere you want, but the .ini file does have to be at the root.

    The reason the program can't find the .ini file in the same folder as the .nds file is because a running application on the NDS has no way to know what folder it's running in, so it cannot look in the "current" folder for .ini files like a program running on a PC can. If the programmer wants to allow the user to put an .ini file elsewhere, the location has to be specific so that the program can search for it (for example, a lot of programs allow the .ini to be in a specific sub-folder of a "data" folder), or else it would have to search the entire microSD card for it.

    -Bri
     
  11. mercm3

    OP mercm3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Ahhh ok, bad assumption on my part just years of using the app.path property I didn't even think about the different enviroment a NDS has.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Exploader, softreset, Autosave