Experiment: Acekard 2 Firmware on R4 original

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Eymas, Aug 19, 2009.

Aug 19, 2009
  1. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't want to wait until DSi4DS plays Commercial roms
    DSision's YSmenu is screwed up (sorry for the complaint Spinal [​IMG])
    MenuDO Takes too long
    YSMenu is (again) Screwed up

    So im trying to boot and use firmwares of other cards.
    So far i got these results:
    SCDS - Nothing
    DSTT - Nothing
    CycloDS/EDGE - Nothing
    R4 - Dumb question, im doing it on an R4.
    R4i - [​IMG] it doesn't work on the DSi.
    M3 Real - didn't tested yet
    Acekard 2 - works half

    Im glad with the results on Acekard 2 [​IMG]
    Only thing is: I need all the firmware files. like _DS_MENU.DAT and _DS_MENU.SYS .
    So can anyone PM me all te firmware files needed on Acekard 2 so that i can continue my experiment [​IMG]

    Already Thanks for the person who can send me all the files [​IMG]
     


  2. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
  3. Quick-zeno

    Member Quick-zeno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Canada
    Wha???
     
  4. warbird

    Member warbird GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    Japan
    You do realize that the firmwares are intimately tied to the hardware they are supposed to run on, so they will not run on other cards without heavy modification, unless the hardware is the same or very similar?
     
  5. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    warbird,
    that is so true...
    anyway, he mentioned that he ALMOST did it. Thus, i will wish him luck for not bricking his flash cart [​IMG]
     
  6. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    elixrdream: Thanks for the tip but i get the same files >.<
    Quick-zeno: __ak2 + AKmenu4.nds [​IMG]
    Warbird: Picture and Evidence [​IMG] :
    When booting akmenu4.nds
    [​IMG]
    Menu working perfectly after boot of akmenu4.nds
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    elixrdream 2th reply: My R4 Original still works [​IMG]

    Conclusion: I need all the firmware files needed for Acekard 2. if anyone can bring me all that, Kudos!
     
  7. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it's R4 [​IMG]
     
  9. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Ask normatt.
     
  10. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Only thing is: I need all the firmware files. like _DS_MENU.DAT and _DS_MENU.SYS .

    how different you want this to be [​IMG]
     
  11. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Kingdomblade: Euh... And he is the AK2 Genius of GBAtemp?
    Elixirdream: I think these 2 or more files are missing ingredients.
     
  12. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Eymas,
    Normmatt? hahahaha he is larger than life
    BEWARE [​IMG]

    isn't _DS_MENU.DAT is a file from r4 firmware?
     
  13. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Do not dare question the mighty normatt! And besides, he did invent AKAIO (a firmware replacement that's a lot more feature packed but looks the same).
     
  14. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ... [​IMG] XP Ok. so he is behind AKAIO? Then i have a liitle word for him : I like extra features [​IMG]
     
  15. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    offtopic: i worship normmatt for his knowledge and being so resourceful [​IMG]
     
  16. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yeah.. I didn't get that. Anyway, don't get your hopes up. You have to change the composition of the files and that would take an enormous amount of programming knowledge.
     
  17. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then you built it incorrectly or your R4 isn't as 'original' as you think. YSMenu works perfectly on original R4's if you do it right.
     
  18. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well. no hopes up? I have enough patience, so i´ll just wait to:
    Normmatt
    another option
    the firmware files.

    No haste luckily
     
  19. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No Offense, but
    1) You're being completely retarded... only the R4 and its clones use the _DS_MENU.DAT renaming other files won't let a different firmware launch.
    2) launching the AKMENU4.NDS file under R4 firmware is lol... I'm not even gonna bother explaining how retarded it is.
    3) MenuDO? lolwut? you can't actually have a proper menuDO release, because the latest (private) betas work perfectly on the R4 using little parts of YSmenu to load. In fact, I don't think that there is actually any proper betas of firmwares available.
    4) as I have stated before (somewhere) you'd need to modify it heavilly to make it work, like Rudolph did for M3 Sakura (it can't actually do anything much though).
    Now rudolph is a well established name within the DS Development scene, I somehow doubt that YOU of all people would be able to make other firmwares work on any other cards...
    5) this is just opinion, but I'd expect to see thumbs THAT short on a 10 year old... prove that your not just an attention whore kid
     
  20. Eymas
    OP

    Newcomer Eymas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Almere, the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    1) You're being completely retarded...
    Answer: if you did much in the summer vacation and you don´t know what to do? i´ll search for homebrew and found DSision 2 and i thought: Maybe firmwares of other cards will work. Maybe.
    2) launching the AKMENU4.NDS file under R4 firmware is lol...
    Answer: I saw the .nds file and i said directly: This is worth a Test.
    3) MenuDO?
    Answer: I know of the private release. and it takes too long to develop. setting hopes on Menudo is dumb because of all the features Soulanger want to put in takes long to code. so i set the hopes off Menudo.
    4) as I have stated before (somewhere) you'd need to modify it heavilly to make it work, like Rudolph did for M3 Sakura (it can't actually do anything much though).
    Answer: Tests are free to do, like watching someting über in a Shop. and i wanted to do something today [​IMG]
     

Share This Page