Evil Scheme: FlashMe

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nero, Oct 15, 2007.

Oct 15, 2007

Evil Scheme: FlashMe by Nero at 12:24 AM (1,373 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Well, my brother went off with his friends to a party...

    His DS Lite is currently laying on his Computer desk... I don't know where his Flashcarts are though.

    I want to practice FlashMe, but I don't want to brick my own DS... So I guess I can try it on my brother's DS.

    P.S: I'm evil... [​IMG]

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1.) What's the best tool to use for shorting the circuit?

    2.) Which FlashMe version should I install?

    3.) If I brick his DS, will it brick my Flashcart as well?

    ~I know this probably should be in the FlashMe Forums, but the R4 forum is a lot faster and I know more people here.
     
  2. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well if you do manage to brick your brothers DS, you can always do the right thing...
     
  3. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Which is run if your brother is older, or say that he bricked it if he's younger.
     
  4. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    He's 5 years older. [​IMG]

    I just want simple answers. [​IMG]

    I can't run. O_O I live in the same apartment with him.
     
  5. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    1.) A toothpick with tin foil wrapped+taped around it.

    2.) The latest. Preferably the stealth version so he doesn't notice.

    3.) No.
     
  6. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    That's not a very nice thing to do to him. But I suppose you're going to do it whether or not I tell you, so I'll make sure you do it right.

    1. The best too to use to short the SL1 circuit is a small piece of tin foil rolled up into a thin stick (almost like a joint). If you're going to do this on a DSLite I suggest wrapping the tip in tape (scotch or duct will work great) and just leave a small tip sticking out. DSLites have a vital circuit right next to the SL1, so you need to make sure you don't touch that with the tin foil or you will brick it.

    2. I suggest you just use the latest FlashMe. I think it's v.7. EDIT:Stealth version would also be a plus.

    3. If you brick the DS it does NOT brick your flashcart.

    BTW, why exactly are you flashing your DS? Just get a Slot1 cart.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    And v8a is the newest.
     
  8. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Wait... Before I Flash his DS... Isn't there a problem with Flashed DS's going on Wi-Fi? I'd say most of the time, my bro is on Wi-Fi.

    ~I'm hungry, gonna go make me some Lucky Charms. [​IMG]
     
  9. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    That only occured with older versions of flashme. The current one won't interfere.
     
  10. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Wifi is not an issue. My wifi worked great back when I had a flashed DS and my GBAMP.
     
  11. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Great, thanks guys!

    ~So one touch to the circuit will brick the DS? Damn... Is there anyway you can tell that you installed the recovery part?

    edit: another question: Flashme doesn't void the warranty, right?
     
  12. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much. I'm not sure if you can tell whn you've installed the recovery part. I think it finishes at a certain percentage. I'm not entirely sure what that percentage is. And yes, it TECHNICALLY does void you're warranty, but if you use the stealth version it's near impossible to detect and there's also a NoFlashMe utility. If you're doing it on an old DS Phat then there is a sticker covering the SL1 circuit that says "Void Warranty if Removed," but you can always just hold onto it and replace it. If it's a DSLite the SL1 circuit is completely unprotected, so there are no worries.
     
  13. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the recovery is written in the first 50%, and yes, it very much voids your warranty, however, I sent in my flashed DS to Nintendo because my L button stopped working and they just fixed it and never said anything about it.
     
  14. springah

    Member springah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    OMG! youre an idiot.

    don't do it.
     
  15. zeppo

    Member zeppo change my avatar!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    982
    Country:
    United States
    I would never flash my ds. I'm not the most coordinated thing in the world, and just the risk is a good reason not to do it.
     
  16. striding

    Newcomer striding Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i flashed my ds just a few mins ago no problems make sure u plug it to the mains and use insolated tool
     
  17. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure his brother is home by now lol
     

Share This Page