Everything you NEED to know? (Wii hacking)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by loresfx, Sep 16, 2007.

Sep 16, 2007
  1. loresfx
    OP

Newcomer loresfx Member

United States
    I am a newbie to these forums and to wii hacking. I was wondering if we can have a sticky that will help people like me understand a little better about wii hacking/modding...

For example. What do i need to know about mod chips? is wii key the best choice to play backups?

Updating the wii firmware could brick the wii if modded?

whats the easiest way to create a backup of your original game?

Am i able to play backup games online with a modded wii?

These are things i am a little unsure about, i just need some confirmation.

Thanks, and great forums btw, A lot of Nintendo hack forums seem to lack community

cheers [​IMG]

2. Elrinth

Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

Sweden
    i have wiikey.. and I think it's great.. however the sideeffect I've noticed since it was installed is that gamecube original discs have trouble sometimes so I get read error - restart your gamecube (on my wii).

3. Hooya

Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States
    Well, all of these questions have been asked multiple times. You could find a lot of information by using some creative search terms in the proper sub-forum. I would also recommend checking out the forums at WiiNewz, as they have a lot of modchip discussion there.

Just realize that there is no one single best modchip out there. Everyone has their own preference, usually due to what they've spent money on. I prefer the open source solutions as it provides greater flexibility since you can go to a different code if you want.

For info on copying disks check for posts related to "rawdump".
    You won't brick your Wii if you install updates only from your own region (search for something like "region" and "update" and "brick")
    Yes, you can play online with a modded Wii. No negative side effects yet.

4. Mr_Grinch