Everything You Need To Know About 3.3: Hacks, Trucha, Etc.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dimmujed, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. dimmujed
    OP

    Member dimmujed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    3.3 is the latest update for the Wii, as of posting this. No games have it included yet, nor will for a few months at least.

    It scans for the Twilight Hack, but is easily fixable due to bad coding. The update checks for 2 things, specifically, if a save game is for Zelda, it checks the length of 6 strings inside the save file (two of which are the player name and horse name). It repeats this check for all 3 save slots, and then another three times for all 3 backup slots. There is a new Twilight Hack save that gets around this now!(Source: Hackmii.com)

    Also, the update doesn't allow Trucha Signed discs (modified ISO's and Scrubbed ISOs) to boot directly from the menu. Instead you must have someway of loading Gecko Region Free (Homebrew Channel/Loader/Gecko Region Free Channel) and use it to bypass the block, allowing your Trucha Signed games to work like a charm.

    So in Summary:

    1. 3.3 is the newest update.

    2. Deletes old hacked Twilight Saves but there is a new version taht works fine.

    3. Trucha signed discs can still be booted via Gecko Region Free.


    Hopefully this will cut down on 80% of the posts about this subject! Sticky This Please!
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Short, sweet, to the point, and very informative. I also hope this cuts down on the repeat posts (although, what is this?). Good work.
     
  3. elektrixxx

    Newcomer elektrixxx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a question. What are the "backup slots"? Do they have to be used if the primary saves get corrupted?
     
  4. dimmujed
    OP

    Member dimmujed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States

    As far as backup slots, I'm not sure. I just copied and pasted that part from Hackmii.com

    btw 3.3 is the newest wii update.
     
  5. AvEnGeR-X

    Newcomer AvEnGeR-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  6. BuDaH

    Newcomer BuDaH Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Good job for the post. Simple and clear for the dummies for reading codes and managing memory slots and stuff. [​IMG]
     
  7. krawhitham

    Newcomer krawhitham Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  8. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If they are already installed it's no problem, I think you can install them through HBC using wad installer/manager



    PLEASESTICKYTHISTOPIC
     
  9. sgademonic

    Newcomer sgademonic Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Singapore
    I have a chipped jap wii with latest firmware but have not installed hbc. Can i still install it with the bootable iso?
     
  10. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Latest, you mean 3.3? Nope.
     
  11. dimmujed
    OP

    Member dimmujed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    updated, still topic after topic of the same exact things.....
     
  12. ihatexams

    Newcomer ihatexams Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Loidis
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is this update coming to PAL?
     
  13. davidw89

    Member davidw89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Australia
    yes.

    is it safe to update if you have wiikey installed + homebrew channel etc
     
  14. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.
     
  15. lajd

    Member lajd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    WiiScrubbed discs aren't trucha signed (unless a file was replaced). So these would still work.
     
  16. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The update is for PAL and NTSC.
     
  17. StuMcBill

    Newcomer StuMcBill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Ok so how about installing VC / WiiWare WADS on 3.3.

    If you already have homebrew channel installed with WAD manager, can you still install them?

    Or are they trucha signed?

    Well I just tried a copy of F-Zero X and it worked fine!

    So I assume all VC and WiiWare games are ok on 3.3!

    And now I have the new twilight hack installed, I am in exactly the same place I was on 3.2, as I have no chip and have not been running Trucha Signed games!

    Although the Guitar Hero Mods sound amazing!!
     
  18. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Posts are stickied on merit without the need for a request.
    I don't think this contains enough information to warrant a sticky.
     
  19. ihatexams

    Newcomer ihatexams Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Loidis
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strange I dont think Ive been asked for a system update since, for some reason am still on 3.2 lol.
     
  20. Daveychan

    Newcomer Daveychan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Hello, my apologies for hijacking this thread, but i wanna quickly jump in here.

    Sorry skawo96 , but I believe you are incorrect about this. There is no 3.3J firmware yet, so sgademonic, you are most likely at 3.2J firmware, and you CAN install the HBC with the iso. (I just did it last night with zero problems.)

    Hope that helps.

    cheers
     

Share This Page