Every single app that uses WiFi Black Screens / Code Dumps!

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Tichinde925, May 1, 2009.

  1. Tichinde925
    OP

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    When I have my Wii connected to my network, everything works perfectly.

    But when I bring my Wii to someplace or have no connectivity/disable WiFi, all apps that use WiFi (MPlayer CE, FCEU GX, SNES GX, etc) either refuse to load and result in a black screen or produce a code dump. (DSI error/exception).

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Is this when they try to access the network? Or just on startup? (I guess most apps would try and network init early anyway)

    The only thing that comes to my head is a sort of corrupt wifi configuration? try deleting them all, and then maybe some sort of renewal/reconstruction of them. Does a Wii format do this? I dont know
     
  3. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think i read this has something to do with the custom cios reinstall the version you previously installed and everything should work properly again.
     
  4. Tichinde925
    OP

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    But I wish to keep the current version of CIOS so that I can use USB 2.0 support.
     
  5. Tichinde925
    OP

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    3.2U

    I believe it has something to do with 'SMB' as only the apps that use it crash if there is no network to connect to. But I deleted/erased all SMB configurations. Even with or without the SMB configs, it still crashed.
     
  6. Warren_303

    Member Warren_303 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Westcoast
    Country:
    United States
    I have 3.2U also and I get the code dump at home where my WIFI works fine except when I load a version of USB Loader that tries to download covers. I'm not sure what the deal is but maybe it has to do with a CIOS as mentioned. Annoying shit I agree.
     
  7. Servdogg

    Member Servdogg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem. To use network installs in homebrew I just reinstall CIOS rev7 via wad install, then the network installs work. Then when I'm done, I reinstall CIOS rev 9 to reenable USB loader.
     

Share This Page