EverSD – How to Run More Games from Stock UI

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,131
Country
United States
As with anything that gets a patch or CFW, it's best to wait on updating until we at least find out if rolling back to an older firmware is blocked or not...
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,131
Country
United States
Looks like you can downgrade from 2.0.0 back to 1.3.1. Also, if using a tiny SD card (512MB or less) EverSD still works on a handheld running 2.0.0, just like with the VS. :D
 

Valenhir

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2021
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
115
Country
Spain
As with anything that gets a patch or CFW, it's best to wait on updating until we at least find out if rolling back to an older firmware is blocked or not...

Looks like you can downgrade from 2.0.0 back to 1.3.1. Also, if using a tiny SD card (512MB or less) EverSD still works on a handheld running 2.0.0, just like with the VS. :D

So I'm guessing you didn't wait. XD
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,131
Country
United States
Well, so far at least any progress made on VS carries over to the new handheld FW 2.0.0
Just played a bit of Street Fighter II : Champion Edition (Arcade Version) on my handheld. EverSD still works with the right size SD card, as do custom carts.
 

Valenhir

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2021
Messages
31
Trophies
0
XP
115
Country
Spain
I'm about to update and forget about using eversd for a while. How long do you estimate it'll take to have a working everpatcher for the new fw?
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,131
Country
United States
Not that I would really know, but my guess would be not too long. The fact that we can downgrade means either Blaze didn't (or couldn't) patch the flaws in the hardware that allowed access in the first place. Remember that EverPatcher does it's magic when in hardware flashing mode. The OS isn't even running in that mode so OS changes in 2.0 can't really increase security on the handheld.

I would bet the handheld 2.0FW will be modded before the VS console.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Valenhir

Ninodude01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2022
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
17
Country
Netherlands
Hello, I have a question. I tried to play games like Pokemon with the EverSD, but the problem is when I quit the game it will not remember my in-game save, I could only save trough save-states which is kind of annoying.. does anyone has an idea why this happens? A solution would be appreciated.
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,131
Country
United States
Hello, I have a question. I tried to play games like Pokemon with the EverSD, but the problem is when I quit the game it will not remember my in-game save, I could only save trough save-states which is kind of annoying.. does anyone has an idea why this happens? A solution would be appreciated.
Are you using my scripts from this thread?
Stock emulators or Retroarch?
Still on FW 1.x or updated to FW 2.x?
What "system" is it? (GB/GBC/GBA)
Name one or more EXACT roms you have the issue with.

I'll do my best to help you out.
 

Ninodude01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2022
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
17
Country
Netherlands
I'm using the script from this thread

gbatemp.net/threads/eversd-rom-artwork-scripts-for-fw-2-x-stock-ui.605202/

With the stock emulators because that one seems to work on the VS. as well, I was able to play DKC2 all night until now on the VS. (for the record, I use a 128GB micro sd card. I could play all roms except RetroArch on the VS.

FW 2.1

I tried GBC but the SNES games have the same problem, nothing is being saved with every ROM that i tried.

Hope you've got enough info.
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
452
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,131
Country
United States
I'm using the script from this thread

gbatemp.net/threads/eversd-rom-artwork-scripts-for-fw-2-x-stock-ui.605202/

With the stock emulators because that one seems to work on the VS. as well, I was able to play DKC2 all night until now on the VS. (for the record, I use a 128GB micro sd card. I could play all roms except RetroArch on the VS.

FW 2.1

I tried GBC but the SNES games have the same problem, nothing is being saved with every ROM that i tried.

Hope you've got enough info.
since it's FW 2.x all my replies to this will be in the other thread starting HERE

Please go there to continue the conversation.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: You always risk it with refurbished but for a 4tb for $25 it was worth it to at least try always...