European DS Browser in US?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by GCTonyHawk7, Oct 22, 2006.

Oct 22, 2006

European DS Browser in US? by GCTonyHawk7 at 6:17 AM (1,285 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. GCTonyHawk7
    OP

    Member GCTonyHawk7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Hey,

    Recently, I actually ordered a European copy of the DS Browser. It just now hit me... will it work correctly in the US? [​IMG]

    I know the Japanese one is really slow and stuff in the US, but won't the European one work fine?

    Anyone in the US got it, how does it go?

    Please help me out. [​IMG]
     
  2. FifthE1ement

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    It will work just as fast as the Japanese one. All DS gamecarts are region free and can be used anywhere in the world. You will have no problems though I assure you.

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  3. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  4. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,442
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    No proxy, the browser is just slow. Period.
     
  5. tetsuya

    Member tetsuya GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Inside my house
    Country:
    How slow compare to dial up? I was also thinking of buying it.
     
  6. numlockfx

    Newcomer numlockfx Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    dont u need a memory expansion thingy in the ds slot for it to work?

    i hope they can patch it soon so that it uses the memory on the flashcart to store webpage data instead of in the ds slot
     
  7. mastertop101

    Member mastertop101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Canada
    Order means BUY, yes, I said BUY.
    B-U-Y
    not DOWNLOAD.
     
  8. KillerHunter

    Newcomer KillerHunter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    Ahh, that's the error I was looking for. I tried with the Japenese Rom, but it obviously fails because it is only the rom.

    Anyone knows if the browser supports Flash?
     
  9. -WW-

    Newcomer -WW- Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Sweden

    There's no support for Flash, PDF, movies, sounds etc.
     
  10. ateam

    Newcomer ateam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    The State of Confusion
    Country:
    United States
    I own the European Opera browser for DS and absolutely love it. I used to bring my laptop around to places like work and school for doing random web-browsing when I was bored, but a tragic milk accident on my keyboard saw to it that my days of portable computing joy were over. I now use my DSlite instead, which works with almost all wireless APs I come across and renders websites beautifully. The claims that the browser is slow are true, though I find it to be very usable nonetheless.

    If you are without a laptop and would like to browse the web on-the-go, or would just like to get the most out of your DS, I suggest that you invest in the Opera browser.
     
  11. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,442
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    How much are they paying you? [​IMG]

    Anyway, I wanted to get Opera DS to connect to the WiFi spot at college, but then I saw the "security settings":

    EAP: PEAP with certificate;
    WEP with "key is provided for me by network" option enabled... (available only in Win2000/XP)...
    Username/password prompt.

    2 out of 3 can't be done on the Opera DS.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page