Hardware "European 3DS plays Japanese 3DS game"

JPdensetsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Taipei
Website
youtube.com
XP
438
Country
Taiwan
A few days ago I was looking on a Belgian secondhand site and I found a very interesting offer. "Japanese Nintendo 3DS + Kingdom Hearts 3DS for 170 euro. I contacted the guy but since he lived to far away, I asked if there was a possibility to send it over. The seller also sent me a few videos where he showed me the good-looking 3DS and the 3DS playing Kingdom Hearts. But what I found remarkable is that on the backside of the 3DS you could see the CE-marking which is only used on European products.

I told him that it's impossible to play Japanese 3DS games on a European system because it's region-locked (from what I've read on the Internet) and he keeps saying it's actually possible. I shouldn't believe him, should I?
 

JPdensetsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Taipei
Website
youtube.com
XP
438
Country
Taiwan
ask for a video of it running and to check the firmware and whatnot.
Well he showed me a video running the Nintendo 3DS and it was entirely in Japanese. I also noticed he used the same camera, that's the reason why I was actually doubting. Of course I've read many time that it's not possible to run games from another region, I was just wondering how it's possible. :/
 

AceWarhead

"Must Construct Additional Pylons"
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
1,277
Trophies
0
XP
601
Country
United States
Wait, if it is European, why does it have Japanese text on the 3DS Menus?
EDIT: Bah, nevermind. That does look rather interesting.... What is that text box that pops up when he boots it up though?
 

loco365

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
That's a Japanese 3DS. /thread The popup is the system complaining about the SD card and that it needs to install additional content software to it. He's obviously pulling your leg.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people

JPdensetsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Taipei
Website
youtube.com
XP
438
Country
Taiwan
Wait, if it is European, why does it have Japanese text on the 3DS Menus?
EDIT: Bah, nevermind. That does look rather interesting.... What is that text box that pops up when he boots it up though?
It's something about his SD that could not be read.
You know how that Hack is called?
Because I know it.
It's called, Battery Cover Swap.
Aka, he swapped the Battery Cover from a European 3DS, onto a Japanese 3DS.
Could you tell me something more about it?
 

loco365

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,457
Trophies
0
XP
2,927
Wait, if it is European, why does it have Japanese text on the 3DS Menus?
EDIT: Bah, nevermind. That does look rather interesting.... What is that text box that pops up when he boots it up though?
It's something about his SD that could not be read.
You know how that Hack is called?
Because I know it.
It's called, Battery Cover Swap.
Aka, he swapped the Battery Cover from a European 3DS, onto a Japanese 3DS.
Could you tell me something more about it. So basically he isn't lying, is he?
He is lying. He took a Europen 3DS' battery cover and put it on a Japanese 3DS. It won't change the region of the 3DS in any way. It'll always be a Japanese 3DS.
 

JPdensetsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Taipei
Website
youtube.com
XP
438
Country
Taiwan
Wait, if it is European, why does it have Japanese text on the 3DS Menus?
EDIT: Bah, nevermind. That does look rather interesting.... What is that text box that pops up when he boots it up though?
It's something about his SD that could not be read.
You know how that Hack is called?
Because I know it.
It's called, Battery Cover Swap.
Aka, he swapped the Battery Cover from a European 3DS, onto a Japanese 3DS.
Could you tell me something more about it. So basically he isn't lying, is he?
He is lying. He took a Europen 3DS' battery cover and put it on a Japanese 3DS. It won't change the region of the 3DS in any way. It'll always be a Japanese 3DS.
But the fact is, I want to buy a Japanese 3DS ...
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/V8a7KKq