Euro game on Jap console

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by 321erik123, Dec 30, 2002.

Dec 30, 2002

Euro game on Jap console by 321erik123 at 4:48 PM (765 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. 321erik123
    OP

    Member 321erik123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi

    I sold my old mario kart game (European game) to a guy with a Jap console. The guy say's that the save function doesn't work. Should there be any problems like this?

    Erik
     
  2. neocat

    Member neocat The GbaTemp 1337 Cat of D00M!!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    In my nintendo 64 box it clearly states that the european console is not compatible with japanese or american games and vice-versa, so I guess the GBA is the same

    Although i have a friend that has a mono GB that came from america and it works... but it is very old... apparently gb's are universal...

    EDIT: I won't delete this post not to make smith look stupid but i'd like to, so i edited
     
  3. Smith

    Member Smith GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AFAIK, Gameboys and GBA's are NOT region locked, meaning you should be able to play foreign games, etc quite happily on any machine. It's possible that theres some kind of problem with the cart, OR the gameboy if it wont save, i'd guess.
     
  4. obanir

    Member obanir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    Are you talking about gba erik?
    If so then gba like gbc are universal
    and the region of the cartridge shouldn't matter.
    It's only when linking to a game cube that you
    can't use a jap gba game with a us/euro game cube
    game and vice versa because of the text differences.
    At least thats what I assume.
     
  5. neocat

    Member neocat The GbaTemp 1337 Cat of D00M!!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    Then prolly the cart's batteries ran out
     
  6. ShadowXP

    Member ShadowXP ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My mum imported Yu-Gi-Oh! for GBA for me for xmas from America. I'm in the UK, and the first time it's a little bigger than EURO carts, but plays fine. (except it's even darker) But, about 2 years ago, I imported Banjo-Tooie for N64 from America, and that did not fit into the N64.
     
  7. fractic

    fractic Newbie

    The N64 and the Gc have a teritorial lockout [​IMG]
     
  8. m@li

    Member m@li Maëlys addict :)

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    France
    N64 are region locked...you'll need an adapter in order to fit it in! [​IMG]
    I don't know if your TV is PAL, but you could also have PAL/NTSC pb.
    I maked the same mistake with 3 games!!....[​IMG]
    Fortunately they were cheap (3 for half the price of one [​IMG] )!
     
  9. Smith

    Member Smith GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most of the "desktop" consoles have tended to use some sort of terrtory lockout system. However, it's worth noting that the Megadrive and Genesis, for example, were "locked" by virtute of having a different cartridge shape, so that one couldn't fit into the other. The software was usually compatible though, so if you removed or modified the case of the cart/console, you could play foreign games without an adaptor.
     
  10. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah the same thing with the SNES in the US and Japan.

    On another note, I can't wait for the Freeloader to come out can you guys?
     

Share This Page