Etrian Odyssey III AP Fix.. Still nothing out yet?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Siveria, Sep 28, 2010.

Sep 28, 2010
  1. Siveria
    OP

    Newcomer Siveria Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Any idea if any of the scene groups are working on Etrian Odyssey III, or if anyone at all is? Been 3-4 days since a good dump of it has been released and we've heard nothing really about it, least on the AP fix side of it. Wonder if they are having a hard time with it, didn't some game take about 2 weeks for them to fix the AP?
     
  2. HeatMan Advance

    Member HeatMan Advance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    I think they are just having a hard time dealing with people nagging about it. But hey, look on the bright side. The full game is out. If anyone really can't wait there's always that perfectly working retail copy.

    3-4 days... Sheesh.
     
  3. dgwillia

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Dammit, your topic title is misleading from the Main Forum page
     
  4. xaeroak15

    Newcomer xaeroak15 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    It seems that DSTWO can run it perfectly?...
     
  5. Siveria
    OP

    Newcomer Siveria Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    If DSTWO can run it perfectly.. what does it have that other Flashcards lack? It must have something other than a 2.5-3x higher pricetag.
     
  6. Valatros

    Newcomer Valatros Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    From what I've read, it has an onboard processor that lets it do some sort of proactive anti-piracy changes without needing an update... among other things. Let's it run basically any proper dump without any kind of AP fix or firmware update, it seems.
     
  7. Siveria
    OP

    Newcomer Siveria Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Intersting maybe i'll pick one up, but what happens if they somehow find a way to block the chip inside it?
     
  8. Lorahalo

    Newcomer Lorahalo Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    I WOULD go out and buy a retail copy but I'm Australian and get dicked over in every way imaginable when it comes to games.
     
  9. Zarcon

    Former Staff Zarcon .:~Enigmatic Wanderer~:.

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,907
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Then it'll be like any other flashcard and need to rely on firmware updates. [​IMG]
    Well, it'll also have superior GBA/SNES emulation I suppose, haha.
     
  10. Valatros

    Newcomer Valatros Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Probably the same thing that happens if they somehow find a way to block the chips on all the other flashcarts out there. Guessing "blocking a chip" is one of those borderline impossible things for them to do though, even if it IS an easy thing to say... since if they were able to do such a thing, they'd just dismantle an acekard, see the chip in it and block it and kill the entire ds rom scene.

    If you meant blocking the processor... not possible. The processor doesn't do anything to the DS, it's like a small minicomputer built onto the flash cart... I imagine the anti-AP simply watches the ROM data being read, and if it ever reads an address expecting a certain result and tries to freeze for finding the wrong value, it alters the value to what's expected (if that makes any sense...?). Just an assumption though, I've the bare minimum of knowledge on how such things might work.
     
  11. Siveria
    OP

    Newcomer Siveria Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    It makes sense to me, and I could see it working that way.
     
  12. Drascin

    Newcomer Drascin Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    Unless you're one of us PAL peasants. Then you get your choice of either paying gouging import prices (seriously, 20$ shipping just for an "arrives in around 4 days" is really rather nasty, when you're buying a 30$ item) to get it decently soon, or pay just an extra 20% more for the privilege of receiving it in maybe two weeks or so.

    Sometimes it really sucks, being European. 's why I'm so desperate for a fix. But nagging helps with nothing, so I just shut up and wait expectantly...
     
  13. magicksun

    Member magicksun GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Argentina
    Country:
    Argentina
    but boys hello , in ds there isn't a NTSC or PAL !
     
  14. dhusui

    Newcomer dhusui Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    malysia, kuala lumpur, ampang
    Country:
    Korea, South
    OMG I'm sick of waiting..................................
     

Share This Page