Error While loading fss0 - Any advice would be great!!

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have been in the process of hacking my Switch and had it almost there, I struggled to get awoo or tinfoil working and eventually settled on Goldleaf, however only some games would install and others would say I was missing sigpatches.

I looked all over but the advice was conflicting and I decided to try Awoo again, I was installing the games from the sd card via Goldleaf and so tried to do the same with Awoo.

Awoo ran into the same problems and i was offered the option to update to the latest Awoo firmware? At least I think that's what it said!! Anyway once I'd done it, I now can not load into the Switch at all. everytime I press launch I am greeted with the following;

Error while loading fss0:
atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
Wrong ini cfg or missing/corrupt files

Failed to launch HOS!

Press any key.

can anyone help me sort this? It's so frustrating as even when I get back to where i was I'm still stuck only being able to install certain games lol

I am on the latest build of atmosphere as far as I know.

Should I hard reset and start all over again and if so does anyone know a more reliable way to install games?

Any help would be massively appreciated.
 

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

thanks for the reply! Should I hard reset and is this an easier way to install games with this technique? I‘ m worried that I’ll end up back in the same situation lol.
 

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
Also this looks really complicatEd erista and mariko? I’ve never heard of them and it doesn’t say which to use. I think I would need a step by step guide and this is out of my league lol
 

Badablek

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
411
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,900
Country
France
@Zay475 you're using (probably) an old Hekate, with an old fusee-primary, to launch the latest Atmosphere...it can't work.

you don't need to reset anything.

Update Hekate to 5.6.5
Update Atmosphere AND sigpatches to 1.2.5
Edit bootloader\hekate_ipl.ini :

Code:
[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=0
verification=1
backlight=100
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=0

[Atmosphere]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
emummc_force_disable=1

[Atmosphere_emummc]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
emummcforce=1

[Original]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1

Done.

ps : if you're not using hekate, use latest 1.2.5 fusee.bin to launch Atmosphere
 
  • Like
Reactions: impeeza

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
@Zay475 you're using (probably) an old Hekate, with an old fusee-primary, to launch the latest Atmosphere...it can't work.

you don't need to reset anything.

Update Hekate to 5.6.5
Update Atmosphere AND sigpatches to 1.2.5
Edit bootloader\hekate_ipl.ini :

Code:
[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=0
verification=1
backlight=100
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=0

[Atmosphere]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
emummc_force_disable=1

[Atmosphere_emummc]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
emummcforce=1

[Original]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1

Done.

ps : if you're not using hekate, use latest 1.2.5 fusee.bin to launch Atmosphere
Hi there, thanks! I know I’m using the latest Hecate and pretty sure I have the sigpatches, but I haven’t altered .ini.

i‘ll give it a shot! If I can get back to where I was, what would you suggest is the best way to install games? Tinfoil wouldn’t recognise my usbf and gold leaf only let me install some of the games.
 
Last edited by Zay475,

kidkat210

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
592
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,228
Country
United States
Hi there, thanks! I know I’m using the latest Hecate and pretty sure I have the sigpatches, but I haven’t altered .ini.

i‘ll give it a shot! If I can get back to where I was, what would you suggest is the best way to install games? Tinfoil wouldn’t recognise my usbf and gold leaf only let me install some of the games.
For using installers, I suggest either tinwoo (its a fork of awoo and tinleaf which tinleaf is also a fork of awoo) or dbi installer
 

Badablek

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
411
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
1,900
Country
France
take DBI, use its MTP mode (X button)
no driver needed

But if you prefer using your switch to choose which games to install, then you can try DBIbackend (you will have to install libusbk from ZADIG)

ps : when everything's working again, you can change autoboot=0 to autoboot=1
with autoboot_list=0 it will auto-launch AMS sysMMC (autoboot_list=1 for AMS emuMMC if you have made one, autoboot_list=2 for original Firmware)

EDIT : if you have upgraded AMS from 0.x to 1.x, do not forget to delete atmosphere\fusee.secondary.bin or even better, remove atmosphere folder and unzip again v1.2.5 (but you will lose your personnal AMS parameters if you have set some of them). AMS can't boot if there is package3 AND fusee-secondary.bin
 
Last edited by Badablek,

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
take DBI, use its MTP mode (X button)
no driver needed

But if you prefer using your switch to choose which games to install, then you can try DBIbackend (you will have to install libusbk from ZADIG)

ps : when everything's working again, you can change autoboot=0 to autoboot=1
with autoboot_list=0 it will auto-launch AMS sysMMC (autoboot_list=1 for AMS emuMMC if you have made one, autoboot_list=2 for original Firmware)

EDIT : if you have upgraded AMS from 0.x to 1.x, do not forget to delete atmosphere\fusee.secondary.bin or even better, remove atmosphere folder and unzip again v1.2.5 (but you will lose your personnal AMS parameters if you have set some of them). AMS can't boot if there is package3 AND fusee-secondary.bin
Thanks for your help, it’s much appreciated. I haven’t had a chance to try the fix yet but hopefully I can get back to where I was. Do you know why some games were installing fine and others were asking for sigpatches? I had another switch modded last year and all the games I installed on that using tinfoil worked fine. but tinfoil wouldn’t find my folders on this switch.

games like super Mario odyssey, luigis mansion just wouldn’t install with gold leaf but on my old one they worked perfectly , it’s very confusing lol
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,202
Country
Colombia
I higly recommend using DBI for your installations, as explained before, you update your CWF but do not update your Hekate_ipl.ini file so it points to the old fusee_secondary.bin beside the new package3 files, you can update manually even without take off the SD card from your switch, when booting, after injecting your payload, keep pressed VOL- to enter Nyx, then go to tools, USB tools, USB mounting. and connect the switch to your PC, the Switch now is a card reader for the SD. Cool!

you need also to update your sigpatches. that's is why you should read a little about the updating process, do no follow video guides, they trend to be outdated. and if you use home-brew for scripted update, understand how it works so you can get any manually repair needed.
 

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
I higly recommend using DBI for your installations, as explained before, you update your CWF but do not update your Hekate_ipl.ini file so it points to the old fusee_secondary.bin beside the new package3 files, you can update manually even without take off the SD card from your switch, when booting, after injecting your payload, keep pressed VOL- to enter Nyx, then go to tools, USB tools, USB mounting. and connect the switch to your PC, the Switch now is a card reader for the SD. Cool!

you need also to update your sigpatches. that's is why you should read a little about the updating process, do no follow video guides, they trend to be outdated. and if you use home-brew for scripted update, understand how it works so you can get any manually repair needed.
thanks, much appreciated.

are the sigpatches I need available in a certain place?
 

Zay475

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
135
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
337
Country
United Kingdom
Big thanks to everyone that has helped me, i have managed to get it up and running but strange thing has happened, i have only installed two games and it says that all of the memory on my 128gb card is full. when I got it up and running the games that were installed before are not there but the memory is full. does anyone know what this could be?
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,202
Country
Colombia
the booth set of sigpatches are almost the same, the one here on gbatemp have a little more files and a hekate_ipl.ini file for use as template.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,202
Country
Colombia
Big thanks to everyone that has helped me, i have managed to get it up and running but strange thing has happened, i have only installed two games and it says that all of the memory on my 128gb card is full. when I got it up and running the games that were installed before are not there but the memory is full. does anyone know what this could be?
check the sd card (chkdsk or similar) and look for hidden files.

test it using h2testw too
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: That door probably did more parenting then he's ever had in his life