ERROR! (ret = -1) happens whenever I launch anything

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by IchigoK2031, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. IchigoK2031
    OP

    Member IchigoK2031 Wannabe Shirow Miwa...

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    691
    Location:
    My Tablet
    Country:
    United States
    I launched homebrew channel and then whenever it tries to do anything with the sd, i get this error what is it caused by?
     
  2. houseonfire

    Member houseonfire GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    Last I heard, stuff like this is caused by having the gamecube controllers or memory cards plugged in. But I'm not sure if this bug has been overcome yet.
     
  3. IchigoK2031
    OP

    Member IchigoK2031 Wannabe Shirow Miwa...

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    691
    Location:
    My Tablet
    Country:
    United States
    heres what happens...
    1. I boot up the wii
    2. I go into homebrew channel it reads my card fine
    3. Then I launch something like gecko os, then if I go to save config it says theres no sd card
    4. If I got wad manager it gives me the error
    5. If I got into cios corp I get the error
    6. Also if I try to launch cheats with gecko os = no codes...
     
  4. markg87

    Newcomer markg87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    downgrade your wii maybe? install the cIOS first i believe.
     
  5. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have a theroy about this my SD plays up to with the same situations what type is your SD, how much memory is it i have a San Disk ultra (2 speed) 4GB SDHC card and i think it is the cards we are using have you got any different SD cards to try
     
  6. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Ret -1 means error accessing the SD Card. Try a different SD Card and see if it works.

    As for markg87, no to both. Those apps he listed don't require a certain firmware or cIOS to work. Even Wad Manager works on any firmware w/o cIOS, it just only installs official wads on 3.3v2 and up.
     
  7. IchigoK2031
    OP

    Member IchigoK2031 Wannabe Shirow Miwa...

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    691
    Location:
    My Tablet
    Country:
    United States
    could it be b/c I'm using a micro sdhc? 8gb...
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it could. The fact you're using a microSD in an adapter is likely the issue. My microSD+adapter (a Kingston 2GB non-sdhc) does that if i use it in the wii, so yours is probably the same way.
     
  9. IchigoK2031
    OP

    Member IchigoK2031 Wannabe Shirow Miwa...

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    691
    Location:
    My Tablet
    Country:
    United States
    noes!, I guess I actually have to BUY a sd card now...[​IMG]
     
  10. NickPDX

    Newcomer NickPDX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 16gb Kingston SDHC card that is giving me that same error when using wad manager. I got it to work and install a wad once using Wad Manager Enhanced off this forum I believe ... but now it is not working again. Is the SDHC support really that picky that it would work sometimes and not others? The SDHC card works fine from the wii system menu for moving games to is and such just not currently with apps like wadmanager. Any thoughts?
     

Share This Page