Hacking [ERROR] Fatal error: Failed to stat stage2 (atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin)!

AshyAshyAshy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
129
Country
United States
Hi, I recently booted up my switch and I've been getting this error when injecting the fusee-primary payload: "
Fatal error: Failed to stat stage2 (atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin)!"

As far as I can tell, fussee-secondary has been discontinued. I have already deleted and replaced my atmosphere related folders (atmosphere, bootloader, sept, switch and sigpatches) twice and the error still keeps on appearing.
 

thesjaakspoiler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2018
Messages
620
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
830
Country
Afghanistan
I vaguely recall that Atmosphere has an option to reboot an take a new/other payload from the 'bootloader/payloads' folder.
If there is only 1 it might automatically pick that one.
So if you have updated Atmosphere you also need to update the payload in that setting.
Maybe you are trying to inject the old atmophere fusee-primary.bin file and this payload looks for the fusee-seconday.bin file (which isn't there anymore in the latest Atmosphere release).

Also check hekate_ipl.bin for references to fusee-primary.bin
In case you updated to the latest Atmosphere, you also need to update these settings.
 

JackTheFroster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
262
Country
Germany
Sorry to bump an old thread but I have the same issue. The payload I’m trying to launch is hekate_ctcaer_5.3.4. Is the proper one to upload fusee.bin?
when you updated atmosphere, did you put the latest fusee.bin into the bootloader\payloads folder? make sure the one with primary is deleted.

also, your hekate version seems to be a bit outdated, you can also update it here

as also mentioned in a previous comment:
Also check hekate_ipl.ini for references to fusee-primary.bin
In case you updated to the latest Atmosphere, you also need to update these settings.
 
Last edited by JackTheFroster,
  • Like
Reactions: Prior22

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,658
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,224
Country
France
not only "fusee-primary.bin", but also replace "fusee-secondary.bin" with "package3" (no file extension) in hekate_ipl.ini if using fss0 boot method.
This is the issue users in this thread are having : their Hekate IPL is still pointing to an old file.


When updating from older than 1.0.0 AMS to newer version:

- delete sd:/sept/ folder (not used anymore)
- delete sd:/atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin (not used anymore)
- delete sd:/atmosphere/config/BCT.ini (not used anymore). Note: If you changed the setting for noGC, be sure to copy stratosphere.ini from the template folder into /atmosphere/config/stratosphere.ini and edit it accordingly.
- Edit hekate_ipl.ini, if present, rename fusee-primary.bin to fusee.bin
- Edit hekate_ipl.ini, if present, rename fusee-secondary.bin to package3
- delete sd:/bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin (if present for you. Some guides put it here, some don't. This is how I like to launch AMS)
- if your version of AMS is older than 0.10.x, it still used "sd:/atmosphere/titles/" folder for Game mods with LayeredFS, rename the folder to "contents"
- and do the following steps too

and on every new update:
- overwrite old Atmosphere content at SD root with new release (all the zip content : atmosphere, switch, and hbmenu.nro). This ensure you to keep previous configs, instead of deleting and reinstalling.
- overwrite old Hekate's "bootloader" folder at SD root with new release
- overwrite Atmosphere and/or Hekate's bootloader at SD root with the corresponding sigpatches's fusee.zip, based on the way you launch AMS (fusée or fss0). if you don't know, overwrite both. Attention, each new version of Atmosphere requires specific updated version of the patches. compare the "build hash" on the patch version against AMS zip package filename.
- copy Atmosphre's latest "fusee.bin" into sd:/bootloader/payloads/ folder. This will let you launch AMS from Hekate's payload menu : Hekate > payload > fusée.bin.
- copy sd:/bootloader/update.bin to a new file. Rename the copied file to "reboot_payload.bin", and move+overwrite it into Atmosphere folder. This will ensure you can reboot to Hekate from HB menu with "reboot to payload" app instead of rebooting AMS.
- verify if there's a new lockpick_RCM.bin released, and replace it in sd:/bootloader/payloads/ too. (And if there's a new version, don't forget to launch that RCM binary from Hekate to dump your new keys to SD, and keep a save/back to your computer!)

- Replace hekate_ctcaer_x.x.x.bin payload binary on your RCM booter/dongle/phone/chipset/computer/whatever you use to send payloads to RCM. But, this is unnecessary if your previous hekate is not too old, because it now always check if "update.bin" is newer and launch it instead. But I prefer having the correct one on my RCM device/dongle/app.


When I want to boot Atmosphere, I don't go into "launch" menu, but instead go to Payloads and select Fusée. it's a little faster, one less splash screen from hekate.
This method uses "fusée" (primary), not the FSS0 boot method.
If you prefer using "hekate" fss0 boot method, you need to use the "Launch" menu you setup using hekate_ipl.ini


Hekate: https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases
Atmosphère: https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases
Lockpick_RCM: https://github.com/shchmue/Lockpick_RCM/releases
sigpatches: no direct link, but it's very easy to find the patches from itotaljustice on a web search engine. take "fusee.zip".

If you haven't done it yet, you can also update your console's firmware.
https://gbatemp.net/posts/9564701
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Prior22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
841
Trophies
0
XP
2,088
Country
United States
not only "fusee-primary.bin", but also replace "fusee-secondary.bin" with "package3" (no file extension) in hekate_ipl.ini if using fss0 boot method.
This is the issue users in this thread are having : their Hekate IPL is still pointing to an old file.


When updating from older than 1.0.0 AMS to newer version:

- delete sd:/sept/ folder (not used anymore)
- delete sd:/atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin (not used anymore)
- delete sd:/atmosphere/config/BCT.ini (not used anymore). Note: If you changed the setting for noGC, be sure to copy stratosphere.ini from the template folder into /atmosphere/config/stratosphere.ini and edit it accordingly.
- Edit hekate_ipl.ini, if present, rename fusee-primary.bin to fusee.bin
- Edit hekate_ipl.ini, if present, rename fusee-secondary.bin to package3
- delete sd:/bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin (if present for you. Some guides put it here, some don't. This is how I like to launch AMS)
- and do the following steps too


and on every new update:
- overwrite old Atmosphere content at SD root with new release (all the zip content : atmosphere, switch, and hbmenu.nro). This ensure you to keep previous configs, instead of deleting and reinstalling.
- overwrite old Hekate's "bootloader" folder at SD root
- overwrite Atmosphere and/or Hekate at SD root with new sigpatches, based on the way you launch AMS. if you don't know, overwrite both.
- copy AMS latest "fusee.bin" into sd:/bootloader/payloads/ folder
- copy sd:/bootloader/update.bin to a new file. Rename the copied file to "reboot_payload.bin", and move+overwrite it into Atmosphere folder. This will ensure you can reboot to Hekate from HB menu with "reboot to payload" app instead of rebooting AMS.
- verify if there's a new lockpick_RCM.bin released, and replace it in sd:/bootloader/payloads/ too.

- Replace hekate_ctcaer_x.x.x.bin payload binary on your RCM booter. But, this is unnecessary if your previous hekate is not too old, because it now always check if "update.bin" is newer and launch it instead. But I prefer having the correct one on my RCM device/dongle/app.


When I want to boot Atmosphere, I don't go into "launch" menu, but instead go to Payloads and select Fusée. it's a little faster, one less splash screen from hekate.
This method uses "fusée" (primary), not the FSS0 boot method.
If you prefer using "hekate" fss0 boot method, you need to use the "Launch" menu you setup using hekate_ipl.ini


Hekate: https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases
Atmosphère: https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases
Lockpick_RCM: https://github.com/shchmue/Lockpick_RCM/releases

If you haven't done it yet, you can also update your console's firmware.
https://gbatemp.net/posts/9564701
not only "fusee-primary.bin", but also replace "fusee-secondary.bin" with "package3" (no file extension) in hekate_ipl.ini if using fss0 boot method.
This is the issue users in this thread are having : their Hekate IPL is still pointing to an old file.


When updating from older than 1.0.0 AMS to newer version:

- delete sd:/sept/ folder (not used anymore)
- delete sd:/atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin (not used anymore)
- delete sd:/atmosphere/config/BCT.ini (not used anymore). Note: If you changed the setting for noGC, be sure to copy stratosphere.ini from the template folder into /atmosphere/config/stratosphere.ini and edit it accordingly.
- Edit hekate_ipl.ini, if present, rename fusee-primary.bin to fusee.bin
- Edit hekate_ipl.ini, if present, rename fusee-secondary.bin to package3
- delete sd:/bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin (if present for you. Some guides put it here, some don't. This is how I like to launch AMS)
- and do the following steps too


and on every new update:
- overwrite old Atmosphere content at SD root with new release (all the zip content : atmosphere, switch, and hbmenu.nro). This ensure you to keep previous configs, instead of deleting and reinstalling.
- overwrite old Hekate's "bootloader" folder at SD root
- overwrite Atmosphere and/or Hekate at SD root with new sigpatches, based on the way you launch AMS. if you don't know, overwrite both.
- copy AMS latest "fusee.bin" into sd:/bootloader/payloads/ folder
- copy sd:/bootloader/update.bin to a new file. Rename the copied file to "reboot_payload.bin", and move+overwrite it into Atmosphere folder. This will ensure you can reboot to Hekate from HB menu with "reboot to payload" app instead of rebooting AMS.
- verify if there's a new lockpick_RCM.bin released, and replace it in sd:/bootloader/payloads/ too.

- Replace hekate_ctcaer_x.x.x.bin payload binary on your RCM booter. But, this is unnecessary if your previous hekate is not too old, because it now always check if "update.bin" is newer and launch it instead. But I prefer having the correct one on my RCM device/dongle/app.


When I want to boot Atmosphere, I don't go into "launch" menu, but instead go to Payloads and select Fusée. it's a little faster, one less splash screen from hekate.
This method uses "fusée" (primary), not the FSS0 boot method.
If you prefer using "hekate" fss0 boot method, you need to use the "Launch" menu you setup using hekate_ipl.ini


Hekate: https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases
Atmosphère: https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases
Lockpick_RCM: https://github.com/shchmue/Lockpick_RCM/releases

If you haven't done it yet, you can also update your console's firmware.
https://gbatemp.net/posts/9564701

I received the error message “failed to run tsec keygen firmware” when running fusee.

Here’s pictures of my hekate IPL and payload screen. Any idea what went wrong?
 

Attachments

  • B3036A6B-B7FD-4136-9275-3DECF9D023EB.jpeg
    B3036A6B-B7FD-4136-9275-3DECF9D023EB.jpeg
    6 MB · Views: 80
  • DCB86936-E495-4950-83DA-3C21E8276BF3.jpeg
    DCB86936-E495-4950-83DA-3C21E8276BF3.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 83
Last edited by Prior22,

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,658
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,224
Country
France
don't use gateway loader.
https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/issues/1606

just send Hekate through RCM, not gateway loader to load hekate. You should probably set your dongle to send hekate.bin right? I don't have a gateway so I don't know how it works.
Let Hekate be your payload loader, not gateway listing payloads.
 
Last edited by Cyan,
  • Like
Reactions: Prior22

Prior22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
841
Trophies
0
XP
2,088
Country
United States
don't use gateway loader.
https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/issues/1606

just send Hekate through RCM, not gateway loader to load hekate. You should probably set your dongle to send hekate.bin right? I don't have a gateway so I don't know how it works.
Let Hekate be your payload loader, not gateway listing payloads.
If I want an actual dongle am I correct in assuming rcmloader is the way to go?
 

JackTheFroster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
165
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
262
Country
Germany
If I want an actual dongle am I correct in assuming rcmloader is the way to go?
what are you using right now to inject your payloads?

and im not familiar with any dongle, but i guess as long as you can use any desired payloads with it, its the way to go
 

spoggi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
313
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
583
Country
Denmark
Since AMS 1.0.0 all the help there have been online about this issuse is the following.
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin in hekate ipl
must be changed to fss0=atmosphere/package3.LOL i mean guess all us SXOX users
now on AMS are in the hands of Mr Sciresm or in the hands of the Hekate DEVS LMAO.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,658
Trophies
2
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,224
Country
France
If I want an actual dongle am I correct in assuming rcmloader is the way to go?
Yes, RCM Loader is one of the possible devices. But not the only one.
If you get RCMLoader, be careful it comes either as a clip (jig) only, or a USB Dongle. Be sure to get the dongle as you already have a JIG from SxOS.

But like JackTheFroster said, any compatible device capable of sending a binary payload is good to use.

To send a payload on RCM, There are different methods:
- an USB Dongle: easy to travel with, some might need to charge the battery before using it... (like SXOS dongle apparently). I think RCM Loader can store different payloads, but I prefer using hekate as sub-payload booter.
- a computer: Windows has TegraRCM and other tools. I don't know about Apple/mac.
- an OTG Compatible phone or tablet: android, iphone
- a chipset: soldered inside the console

Personally, I don't use the computer method, because I like to be able to boot my "handheld" console anywhere, not only at my home...
And I don't use a dongle either as I have a compatible phone, easy to select different payloads or update them, but I suppose a dongle is certainly more convenient as it doesn't require additional cables.


If your phone is OTG compatible (you can check it with an app) and you already have the necessary cables, you might want to look into this solution instead of buying something new.
I'm using NXLoader app on android : https://github.com/DavidBuchanan314/NXLoader it works even with screen OFF.
There's a mod of it, might be better and is more recent, but I didn't test it : https://github.com/ELY3M/NXloader103/releases
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
18,030
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
New York City
XP
11,952
Country
United States
Since AMS 1.0.0 all the help there have been online about this issuse is the following.
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin in hekate ipl
must be changed to fss0=atmosphere/package3.LOL i mean guess all us SXOX users
now on AMS are in the hands of Mr Sciresm or in the hands of the Hekate DEVS LMAO.
To be honest, this also affects all normal long-time Atmosphere users.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Well these names make sense