Hacking Error changin nds file name

Mutill

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
Ok people so here's the deal. I got Final Fantasy 3 nds file(psy-ff3u.nds or something like that) and Legend of Zelda phantom hourglass. Ok so I didn't like how it looked in my DSTT, and i decided to change both their nds file name and the sav file name. Using common sense, i supposed that in order for the game to read its respective sav file, they need to have the same name, so thats what i did. I changed over 15 file names to make my DSTT look organized and most of the games worked fine but the error here is that when i booted FF 3 or Zelda, everything was fine but it just made a new sav file ignoring the last one.

I checked in the games folder in my microSD card and there were 2 files named Final Fantasy III.sav and the same for zelda game, sav wasnt on caps btw. And also to confirm that both the nds file and the sav file were matching, i pasted the nds file name onto the sav file name, still didnt work.

I'd appreciate if anybody posts the answer to my problem, thanks!
yaynds.gif


Edit: I don't know if this counts but I have the latest firmware just in case anyone thinks the problem is the firmware (1.11 i think)
 

Nakura

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
254
Trophies
0
XP
124
Country
United States
Mutill said:
Ok people so here's the deal. I got Final Fantasy 3 nds file(psy-ff3u.nds or something like that) and Legend of Zelda phantom hourglass. Ok so I didn't like how it looked in my DSTT, and i decided to change both their nds file name and the sav file name. Using common sense, i supposed that in order for the game to read its respective sav file, they need to have the same name, so thats what i did. I changed over 15 file names to make my DSTT look organized and most of the games worked fine but the error here is that when i booted FF 3 or Zelda, everything was fine but it just made a new sav file ignoring the last one.

I checked in the games folder in my microSD card and there were 2 files named Final Fantasy III.sav and the same for zelda game, sav wasnt on caps btw. And also to confirm that both the nds file and the sav file were matching, i pasted the nds file name onto the sav file name, still didnt work.

I'd appreciate if anybody posts the answer to my problem, thanks!
yaynds.gif


Edit: I don't know if this counts but I have the latest firmware just in case anyone thinks the problem is the firmware (1.11 i think)

They have to be exactly the same, I mean EXACTLY. Case sensitive, and the .sav has to be small, not .SAV.
 

Mutill

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
This is my nds file:Final Fantasy III.nds
This is my sav file:Final Fantasy III.sav

cant find any differences at all
 

Nakura

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
254
Trophies
0
XP
124
Country
United States
Mutill said:
This is my nds file:Final Fantasy III.nds
This is my sav file:Final Fantasy III.sav

cant find any differences at all

I know this isn't cool, but how about naming them back to the way they were?
 

Mutill

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
Lol that's a good idea but now I have a bigger problem, I have tons of Final Fantasy III.sav files because I just made a bunch of tests to see if it was working and I have no idea which one's the original one.

Thanks for the help, I'll just start a new game, I might have spent 3-4 hours, I can do it again, cya!
smile.gif
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,355
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Georgia
XP
479
Country
United States
Mutill said:
I checked in the games folder in my microSD card and there were 2 files named Final Fantasy III.sav and the same for zelda game, sav wasnt on caps btw. And also to confirm that both the nds file and the sav file were matching, i pasted the nds file name onto the sav file name, still didnt work.
The only time that can happen is when the filesystem is corrupted. At least that's the only time I've ever seen a card allow two files to be named exactly the same thing. Backup your card and reformat. You should be able to rename both games normally after that.
 

Nakura

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2007
Messages
254
Trophies
0
XP
124
Country
United States
Mutill said:
Lol that's a good idea but now I have a bigger problem, I have tons of Final Fantasy III.sav files because I just made a bunch of tests to see if it was working and I have no idea which one's the original one.

Thanks for the help, I'll just start a new game, I might have spent 3-4 hours, I can do it again, cya!
smile.gif

Well usually the first save will be the correct one, not always, but usually. Just back them all up and test.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Are people out there really spending $100 on fans...