English version not working on HK R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by basilisk900, Aug 10, 2007.

Aug 10, 2007
  1. basilisk900
    OP

    Newcomer basilisk900 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    The recent update on R4 English isn't working for me. I got my R4 from Hong Kong and everytime I replace the files, something in Chinese comes up (suck at Chinese) and the 1.10v Chinese is the only version that works. This also happens with a skin I just got. It doesn't read it, so it comes up with a default one. So how do I fix this problem or convert my R4 to English so it can take in the skins and the update?
     
  2. roboz

    Member roboz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Japan(I wish)
    Country:
    United States
    Try using the chinese 1.11 firmware to see if it will work, as for the skins you are probably not putting them in the right place.
     
  3. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
  4. fearofblood

    Newcomer fearofblood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    You gotta get the chinese firmware at r4ds.net. I have too tried the english one but found out it needed the chinese firmware to update the chinese R4.
     
  5. GirAiD

    Newcomer GirAiD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Country:
    United States
    for the fw use the patch,
    as for the skin, you need to put it in the proper location with the proper name, and then select it with, well, with "select"
     
  6. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
  7. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
  8. L_o_N_e_R

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    or if you really dont want to use an chinese firmware....

    open up that r4...

    see 2 pads near the middle of the left side that looks like you can solder it? well solder it [​IMG]

    but really....i would stick with the chinese ver [​IMG]
     
  9. basilisk900
    OP

    Newcomer basilisk900 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I downloaded the patch files. It says put the _DS_Menu.Dat in the same folder. Idon't see the file anywhere, but a _DS_MENU instead. I presume its that and I put it into the same folder and run the program. This is where I'm stuck. I answer the first question by putting in _DS_Menu.DAT and press enter but the program closes. What did i do wrong? I'm also not too clear on the skin part. I take the skin I want, put it into themes right?
     

Share This Page