Emus running on ak2?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by FencingFoxFTW, Apr 27, 2008.

Apr 27, 2008

Emus running on ak2? by FencingFoxFTW at 12:13 PM (1,656 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. FencingFoxFTW
    OP

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    so I just ordered one from dx and I was wondering about how well are the emulators running(like the SNES ones)

    thanks for any info provided
     
  2. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    It has built in dldi patching so the emulators should run, But i never bother to try out retro emulators.
     
  3. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    All the emulators I've tried work just fine(nes,snes,gameboy,genesis,MAME,scumm,Atari2600)
    I love the retro stuff
     
  4. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry ... when I first glanced at this topic title, I thought it said, Emo running with an AK ...

    Yeah, the emulator support is fairly decent ...
     
  5. FencingFoxFTW
    OP

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    emos running with AKs? if they ever do, they should kill each other!

    anyway, wich ones run full speed? I read somewhere the SNES one doesnt

    btw, thanks
     
  6. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you really want handheld SNES emulation goodness ... as well as other handheld shenanigans, look into getting a JXD or a GP2X ... worthwhile purchases [​IMG]

    Some emus for things like the SMS, GG & PCE will run full speed on everything, but most of the others will experience slow down in some games ...
     
  7. FencingFoxFTW
    OP

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    for the price of those, I would rather get a PSP, even if I have to deal with the firmware stuff

    anyway, back to the DS, some emus do need the expansion memory, right?
     
  8. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    I think theyll be shooting themselves
     
  9. Sweater Fish Del

    Member Sweater Fish Del GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    Speed is rarely an issue for emulators of classic consoles on the DS since the DS has a hardware tilemap renderer that allows emulator authors on the DS to completely skip one huge hurdle that emulator authors for computers and modern console systems have to deal with. Oddly enough, StellaDS (Atari 2600) is the slowest of the emulators I've used and that may be because the 2600 used some sort of weird scanline renderer instead of tilemap.

    SNEmulDS and jEnesisDS are both full speed in the vast majority of games, but they both have other problems like certain graphics modes not being supported or background priority issues or graphics corruption on text or certain other layers. Stuff like that. It's because the tilemap renderers in the original systems don't exactly match the features of the renderer in the DS.

    I don't find the problems too annoying in SNEmulDS and in fact some games are nearly perfect, which is quite a feat on the DS. jEnesisDS has the additional problem that the DS's screen is only 256x192 while most Genesis games run at 320x240; that's quite a lot of screen that has to be cropped off and I find it hard to ignore.

    I've been very happy with the emulators on the DS. And especially with the recent release of ApprenticeMinus (an excellent SMS emulator...FINALLY), I feel less and less desire to get a GP2X, though Neo Geo emulation would sure be nice and I don't ever expect that to work on the DS. Nice homebrew on the GP2X, as well...but another video game system is the last thing I need.


    ...word is bondage...
     
  10. xenon

    Member xenon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Italy
    I always wonder why people struggle to run emulators on their consoles when we all have a PC which easily runs all of them... Oh well, to each his own. [​IMG]
     
  11. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Portability i guess.
     
  12. Sweater Fish Del

    Member Sweater Fish Del GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    Proves me wrong:

    http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=15460


    ...word is bondage...
     

Share This Page