Emulators that let you use both analog and d-pad for snes/nes?

kbf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,156
Trophies
0
XP
2,026
Country
Canada
I know RetroArch allows this but I find using different controllers for RA is very confusing and a pain to deal with. I have some other emus on my PC but they don't allow both analog and d-pad movement at the same time. Does anyone know of SNES/genesis/NES/Gameboy emulators that allow both controls at the same time?
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,124
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
24,655
Country
United Kingdom
Forest for the trees moment. Why care what an emulator does if you have have something on your PC fake the same inputs? I don't know what we are suggesting for the likes of joy2key they days (would take joypad input and spit out keyboard outputs to the OS so the underlying programs without joypad support would work) but that would be where I look if emulators or the games themselves* don't allow multiple keys to be bound to one action.

*sometimes a game (usually more turn based or co-operative) won't care if it is joypad 1, 2, 3 or 4 as it would change what happens on screen. Easy enough then for those emulators that support multiple controllers to do things and fake it as it were.
 

kbf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,156
Trophies
0
XP
2,026
Country
Canada
I'd rather just have an emulator that does everything I need it to do instead of needing another program to do it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Segger

JaapDaniels

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
881
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
1,642
Country
Netherlands
Really, easier then RetroArch ain't there as far as i know... just per controller setup your setting ones, and add your other controller... when all controllers are setup... it's done. i got 8 different ones setup there, it will always be seting up that one time.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,124
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
24,655
Country
United Kingdom
I'd rather just have an emulator that does everything I need it to do instead of needing another program to do it.
It is a fairly common setup/requirement for games in general, especially older ones but new are not immune, if you are going to use sticks. If you want to branch out into macros then even more so. Maybe not quite "oh I don't want to install 7zip to unpack my ROMs" but perilously close.

Similarly SNES emulators worth considering is basically ZSNES (lots of hacks to get things working so many would tell me to drop it from this list), SNES9X (has a few forks but none likely what you want), bsnes/higan if you fancy a system grinder and while http://problemkaputt.de/sns.htm is not necessarily as shiny as his GB/GBC and GBA/DS efforts it is still worth noting in this. If you have tested all those and found them wanting then either find the source code to them or play with external tools.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,985
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,195
Country
Norway
I know RetroArch allows this but I find using different controllers for RA is very confusing and a pain to deal with. I have some other emus on my PC but they don't allow both analog and d-pad movement at the same time. Does anyone know of SNES/genesis/NES/Gameboy emulators that allow both controls at the same time?
You could just use Steam's controller binding support and add the emulator as a non steam game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Segger

Segger

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2017
Messages
38
Trophies
0
XP
120
Country
United States
I know RetroArch allows this but I find using different controllers for RA is very confusing and a pain to deal with.

Are you on the latest version? I haven't used RA in a bit but I could have sworn the last time I used it, it would autodetect my controllers and they were plug-n-play. I recall being able to use the analog stick for movement in Mega Man X2 as well but maybe there was a checkbox I hit or something.

How many different controllers do you have that RA's setup is too much of a pain? I will agree that their default UI is annoying and scrolling through menus with a controller is slow and cumbersome.

One of these days I'll have to look into the different UI options for RA since I'm pretty sure that's a thing.
 

kbf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,156
Trophies
0
XP
2,026
Country
Canada
Are you on the latest version? I haven't used RA in a bit but I could have sworn the last time I used it, it would autodetect my controllers and they were plug-n-play. I recall being able to use the analog stick for movement in Mega Man X2 as well but maybe there was a checkbox I hit or something.

How many different controllers do you have that RA's setup is too much of a pain? I will agree that their default UI is annoying and scrolling through menus with a controller is slow and cumbersome.

One of these days I'll have to look into the different UI options for RA since I'm pretty sure that's a thing.


I sometimes use a retroUSB adapter to use real controllers. Problem is when I switch to another controller like a 360 controller my buttons are all messed up. The UI for changing controls in RA is incredibly confusing compared to other emulators. I just like it due to being able to enable analog along with D-pad.

It's been awhile since I tried using my adapters but I just remember it never working properly and I'd always have to keep re configuring everything.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: your horny