EFA Linker 512M Simple

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by compmike19, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. compmike19
    OP

    compmike19 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jun 6, 2008
    United States
    I have a EFA-Linker 512M Simple and have downloaded the Client V1.0 to load roms. I have no problem installing the driver or software. I add the rom and check the loader or not then write the rom. The card writes then displays the contents fine. I am trying to play the roms I loaded on a Nintendo DS. I have tried 1 game alone no loader, 1 game with GBA loader, 1 game with NDS loader and multiple games with both loaders. I can't seem to get anything to load up. It either freezes at the GB boot screen or gives me a black screen afterwards. Is there something special I need to do to get this to run? Also tried on a GBA and no go either.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Member
    4,919
    256
    May 16, 2008
    Antarctica
    You have insufficient posts to view location.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=88208

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=60757

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=80680

    Read those, they pretty much cover everything about it, problem wise.



    Summary of everything:

    Charge it for 8 hours before doing anything.

    Drivers work with XP. might require compatibilitly mode in Vista x86. Unsigned drivers will NEVER LOAD in Vista x64.

    If you buttons seem to disappear, try formating the cart.

    If you have Nforce chipsets on your motherboard, you will not be able to detect the device properly. Same thing with some newer SiS chipsets.

    It has NO RTC (Real Time Clock), even though there is a calendar and clock in the menu options.

    Pick GBA LOADER and not the NDS LOADER and load GBA ROMS, NDS game support suck with the 1.0 loader, causes games to glitch.
     
  3. Gardenhead

    Gardenhead Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 25, 2008
    I'm having the same problem as the OP, anyone know what to do?
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Member
    4,919
    256
    May 16, 2008
    Antarctica
    You have insufficient posts to view location.
    you probably have an incompatible computer. otherwise you can read my sig for some answers.
     
  5. Gardenhead

    Gardenhead Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 25, 2008
    OK I found that it was freezing becuase I have to push it in firmly for it to work (The case is kinda split so it requires a special technique). But now my problem is that it loses saves, If I save a game then turn it off and on the save will be there, but if I leave the micro off for a while it loses the save. I charged it for 8 hours when I got it but I've put it in to charge again incase thats the problem.

    Got any ideas how_do_i_do_that?
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Member
    4,919
    256
    May 16, 2008
    Antarctica
    You have insufficient posts to view location.
    your suppose to charge it without it being in the gba. sounds more like you may have a defective cart if it wasn't related to how you charged it.
     
  7. Gardenhead

    Gardenhead Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 25, 2008
    Ok I just took it apart and the battery is disconected, this might have happened when I was taking it apart, do you know if the card would have worked without the battery being conected?

    Actualy that explains why it would only work sometimes when I pluged it in, ok so I need to re-solder it [​IMG] Fuck nothing ever just works how it should. [​IMG]
     
  8. Gardenhead

    Gardenhead Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 25, 2008
    Ok, I just soldered the battery back on, reformated the card and Im now writing the roms to it then I'm gonna leave it to charge overnight. Here's to hoping it works.
     
  9. Gardenhead

    Gardenhead Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Oct 25, 2008
    Yay it's working [​IMG]

    For now at least.