Tutorial Edit OFW clean Switch save data from NAND backup/restoring via Fusee Gelee payloads

MSco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
284
Trophies
0
XP
511
Country
Germany
@lordupload The best way to determine this is having a look at the creation date of the files. You have to remember, when this savegame has been created the FIRST time. This is the "last edit" date in the filebrowser. Sort all savegames by this date and you will find it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordupload

Tennant

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
45
Country
United Kingdom
Kimbra, could you help me out here. I can not find the Save and the save meta for ACNH. Is there any prog or way to know which one you can use?
Which stage are you up to in the guide? maybe I can help before kimbra gets back.

Please be sure you have your SD card connected to your PC.
Once opened, there should be a "backup" file. open this and the next folder til you have rawnand.bin and a restore folder.
This rawnan.bin file you need to mount using HacDiskMount.
Once mounted as a Floppy disk in your A: drive, open that and you'll find your "save" folder.
You will likely have only the 1 file if ACNH is your only game. That is your AC save.
If you have a few saves from different games, copy and test each one using NHSE until one works correctly and proceed from there.
Least, that was how I did it :)
 

lordupload

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
255
Country
Germany
@lordupload The best way to determine this is having a look at the creation date of the files. You have to remember, when this savegame has been created the FIRST time. This is the "last edit" date in the filebrowser. Sort all savegames by this date and you will find it.

Could you add me on Discord and help me out maybe, just some questions.
(In German:) Hey, könntest du mich vielleicht auf Discord adden. Würde dir nur ein paar Fragen stellen wollen!
Discord: Lordupload#9796

Which stage are you up to in the guide? maybe I can help before kimbra gets back.

Please be sure you have your SD card connected to your PC.
Once opened, there should be a "backup" file. open this and the next folder til you have rawnand.bin and a restore folder.
This rawnan.bin file you need to mount using HacDiskMount.
Once mounted as a Floppy disk in your A: drive, open that and you'll find your "save" folder.
You will likely have only the 1 file if ACNH is your only game. That is your AC save.
If you have a few saves from different games, copy and test each one using NHSE until one works correctly and proceed from there.
Least, that was how I did it :)

Thank you!
 

lordupload

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
255
Country
Germany
Which stage are you up to in the guide? maybe I can help before kimbra gets back.

Please be sure you have your SD card connected to your PC.
Once opened, there should be a "backup" file. open this and the next folder til you have rawnand.bin and a restore folder.
This rawnan.bin file you need to mount using HacDiskMount.
Once mounted as a Floppy disk in your A: drive, open that and you'll find your "save" folder.
You will likely have only the 1 file if ACNH is your only game. That is your AC save.
If you have a few saves from different games, copy and test each one using NHSE until one works correctly and proceed from there.
Least, that was how I did it :)

I have 2 Savefiles from Animal Crossing there now. One is ending with 3a and the other one with 3b. Which one i take?

2nd Problem: If I mount EMMC with TegraRCMGui the program freezes. Why is that? I tried with the USB C to USB C MacBook Cable with which I am loading as well as the Cable for the Pro controller. It detects the RCM mode but when I mount it the program freezes...
 
Last edited by lordupload,

Tennant

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
45
Country
United Kingdom
I have 2 Savefiles from Animal Crossing there now. One is ending with 3a and the other one with 3b. Which one i take?

2nd Problem: If I mount EMMC with TegraRCMGui the program freezes. Why is that? I tried with the USB C to USB C MacBook Cable with which I am loading as well as the Cable for the Pro controller. It detects the RCM mode but when I mount it the program freezes...
I save the NAND to the SD card and edit it from the SD. No need to connect the switch to a computer or MAC except for the initial Hekate injection via TegraRCMGui. once Hekate boots up on the switch, disconnect it.

i tried editing it while inside the switch using Memloader but it doesn't register.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordupload

Jasken

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 13, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
13
Country
Japan
Long time user of this method for Pokemon SW/SH - made an account because I can't extract the ACNH file for the life of me.

Edit: I'm an idiot, while I there was save data present on my switch - upon loading the game I found that I had previously deleted the save data for whatever reason.

Of course - you must start a new game and save said game for it to extract... :D

(any mod feel free to delete this post)
 
Last edited by Jasken,

Artomis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
55
Country
United States
The process:
Following this guide got me into the Switch hacking scene in the first place. I was curious and found it during a Google search, and I found it to be very helpful! It outlines how to boot your Switch into RCM mode, how to find out if your Switch can use the Fusee Gelee exploit for payloads, how to prepare your microSD card, and how to create a NAND backup (Safety Precautions page)! My advice is to follow this guide to the point where a NAND backup is created on your microSD card, as that's the point where this tutorial will begin. The backup process does take time. Always remember to hold the volume down button when injecting the hekate payload as well.

mind updating the link? It's currently broken and I'm curious to see this guide
 

ytbro00

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
46
Country
United States
This is going to get you banned on Animal Crossing New Horizons though, right? I saw on another post that the game has checks if the save file has been modified or transferred.
 

lolkibo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
29
Country
United States
I've gotten up to the extract nand gamesave part. But when I run the .bat file to extract the saves to the 'out' folder, I get a lot of "title header missing" and it doesn't extract anything. Therefore I can only get my BOTW saves when I'm trying to get my ACNH save. Is there a way to fix that? I tried running the .bat as admin, didn't help. I did have to use the joint script since I had 15 rawnand.bin files, could that have messed up anything? The test on the string found at bis_key_03 was successful.

EDIT: You can get a successful test with an incomplete rawnand.bin. It takes a bit for everything to compile into a single rawnand.bin
 
Last edited by lolkibo,

Audioboxer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
524
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
Thanks for this guide, after an initial NAND backup, I'm just editing it directly with save files. Low risk as long as you know what to do and you only change save files.
 

lolkibo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
29
Country
United States
Kimbra I know you don't check this often, but any idea why I get access denied when I try to run my extract.bat? I'm an admin on my pc, running hactoolnet.exe or the .bat as admin makes it not work at all.

I've done everything. I've changed the owner of the drive it lives on. I rewrote the batch script so I can run it as admin from a shortcut (Batch files can only run as admin from a shortcut). I've configured hactoolnet.exe to run as admin. I've asked in three forums and even asked the maker on Github. Why does it say access denied for something I obviously have access to?

D:\switch stuff\hactoolnet-0.11.2-win\ACNH>hactoolnet.exe -k prod.keys -t save save/0000000000000018 --outdir out/0000000000000018
Failed to match key device_key_4x
Failed to match key eticket_rsa_kek_source
Failed to match key eticket_rsa_kekek_source
Failed to match key rsa_oaep_kek_generation_source
Failed to match key rsa_private_kek_generation_source
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek_source_x
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek_source_y

ERROR: Access to the path 'D:\switch stuff\hactoolnet-0.11.2-win\ACNH\save\0000000000000018' is denied.

Additional information:
System.UnauthorizedAccessException
at System.IO.FileStream.ValidateFileHandle(SafeFileHandle) + 0x9a
at System.IO.FileStream.CreateFileOpenHandle(FileMode, FileShare, FileOptions) + 0xa4
at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String, FileMode, FileAccess, FileShare, Int32, FileOptions) + 0x14b
at LibHac.FsSystem.LocalStorage..ctor(String, FileAccess, FileMode) + 0x51
at hactoolnet.ProcessSave.Process(Context) + 0xa7
at hactoolnet.Program.Run(String[]) + 0x269
at hactoolnet.Program.Main(String[]) + 0x1a

D:\switch stuff\hactoolnet-0.11.2-win\ACNH>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
 
Last edited by lolkibo,

Audioboxer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
524
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
Kimbra I know you don't check this often, but any idea why I get access denied when I try to run my extract.bat? I'm an admin on my pc, running hactoolnet.exe or the .bat as admin makes it not work at all.

I've done everything. I've changed the owner of the drive it lives on. I rewrote the batch script so I can run it as admin from a shortcut (Batch files can only run as admin from a shortcut). I've configured hactoolnet.exe to run as admin. I've asked in three forums and even asked the maker on Github. Why does it say access denied for something I obviously have access to?

D:\switch stuff\hactoolnet-0.11.2-win\ACNH>hactoolnet.exe -k prod.keys -t save save/0000000000000018 --outdir out/0000000000000018
Failed to match key device_key_4x
Failed to match key eticket_rsa_kek_source
Failed to match key eticket_rsa_kekek_source
Failed to match key rsa_oaep_kek_generation_source
Failed to match key rsa_private_kek_generation_source
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek_source_x
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek_source_y

ERROR: Access to the path 'D:\switch stuff\hactoolnet-0.11.2-win\ACNH\save\0000000000000018' is denied.

Additional information:
System.UnauthorizedAccessException
at System.IO.FileStream.ValidateFileHandle(SafeFileHandle) + 0x9a
at System.IO.FileStream.CreateFileOpenHandle(FileMode, FileShare, FileOptions) + 0xa4
at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String, FileMode, FileAccess, FileShare, Int32, FileOptions) + 0x14b
at LibHac.FsSystem.LocalStorage..ctor(String, FileAccess, FileMode) + 0x51
at hactoolnet.ProcessSave.Process(Context) + 0xa7
at hactoolnet.Program.Run(String[]) + 0x269
at hactoolnet.Program.Main(String[]) + 0x1a

D:\switch stuff\hactoolnet-0.11.2-win\ACNH>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

Don't run it as admin, run it normally. Also make sure prod.keys is in the same folder.

Also did you actually create the save folder?
 
Last edited by Audioboxer,

lolkibo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
29
Country
United States
Don't run it as admin, run it normally. Also make sure prod.keys is in the same folder.

Also did you actually create the save folder?

I copied the folder that has the main.dat, MainHeader.dat, and Villager0 folder to the "sav" folder. Should prod.keys also be in 00000018, or in the hactoolnet folder?
 

Audioboxer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
524
Trophies
0
XP
392
Country
I copied the folder that has the main.dat, MainHeader.dat, and Villager0 folder to the "sav" folder. Should prod.keys also be in 00000018, or in the hactoolnet folder?

3BeU3ss.png
 

blooddragon88

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
96
Country
United States
question for ACNH, I have used this for pokemon sword and editing in pkhex. So for ACNH I obtained the save file and edited in in NHSE, however after I inject the changes to the save file that was extracted and copy it back to the nan backup, after I restore it no changes occur in game?

I made changed to main.dat only, and i restored main.dat and mainHeader.dat. Any1 have any ideas?
 

blooddragon88

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
96
Country
United States
question for ACNH, I have used this for pokemon sword and editing in pkhex. So for ACNH I obtained the save file and edited in in NHSE, however after I inject the changes to the save file that was extracted and copy it back to the nan backup, after I restore it no changes occur in game?

I made changed to main.dat only, and i restored main.dat and mainHeader.dat. Any1 have any ideas?

figured it out, nvm.
 

Method_EU

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
59
Country
Aruba
@kimbra

Firstly - thank you for the in-depth guide. I've managed to get as far the .bat section but I've become unstuck. I'm trying to edit a Pokemon Sword save. I've found the save file in A:/ but each time I run the extract .bat, I get the following:


Code:
C:\Users\\Desktop\extract nand gamesave>hactoolnet.exe -k prod.keys -t save sav/000000000000005e --outdir out/000000000000005e
Failed to match key device_key_4x
Failed to match key eticket_rsa_kek_source
Failed to match key eticket_rsa_kekek_source
Failed to match key master_kek_00
Failed to match key master_kek_01
Failed to match key master_kek_02
Failed to match key master_kek_03
Failed to match key master_kek_04
Failed to match key master_kek_05
Failed to match key master_kek_source_06
Failed to match key master_kek_source_07
Failed to match key master_kek_source_08
Failed to match key master_kek_source_09
Failed to match key master_kek_source_0a
Failed to match key rsa_oaep_kek_generation_source
Failed to match key rsa_private_kek_generation_source
Failed to match key save_mac_sd_card_kek_source
Failed to match key save_mac_sd_card_key_source
Failed to match key sd_card_custom_storage_key_source
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek_source_x
Failed to match key ssl_rsa_kek_source_y
Header hash is Valid
/main

C:\Users\\Desktop\extract nand gamesave>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

Also for the inject. I've tried using --repack and --replacefile but all I get is "Unknown option --repack" Unknown option --replacefile and a bunch of options to use instead.

EDIT: Fixed - made a new folder with hactool.exe and it worked
 
Last edited by Method_EU,

PriMieon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
130
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
littleroot town
XP
688
Country
Germany
I included the sept folder and I am getting the CMAC Signature (FAIL) message with the extract and inject bat file.

EDIT

I have no idea what i did differently but i just deleted everything and just redid everything from scratch. Worked now.
 
Last edited by PriMieon,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: wow, neighbor's cat doing Loud meowing