EDGE WITH NEW CARD AND WEBSTIE

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by t_mafia, Oct 24, 2009.

Oct 24, 2009
  1. t_mafia
    OP

    Newcomer t_mafia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    loook at there site


    http://www.edge-ds.cn/?lang=en

    it shows the new iEDGE and a brand spanking new website

    it looks reallllllllllllly coool but under downloads tab their is only EDGE OS v1.45 not EDGE OS v1.5 (and when u download it it is 1.5)

    wtf is up with that????
     


  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Looks oh well same as every other dsi cart. [​IMG] At least we know they are making one.
     
  3. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    if it could use cyclo firmwrea the cyclo fanboys would be happy
     
  4. shadowguy

    Newcomer shadowguy Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Philippines
    is iEDGE available now?? [​IMG]
     
  5. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    So the EDGE team shows a bit of activity. I guess that's nice. It's also good to see their new website is a lot better than their old one.
     
  6. sun vulcan

    Newcomer sun vulcan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    The staff should put this on the first page. It's an important announce.
     
  7. snowkid2themax

    Newcomer snowkid2themax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm the iEDGE is advertised as 100% legal...., but they don't advertise the original as legal.
     
  8. Danny600kill

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ^^
    because it come as a totally blank card and there saying its legal because most dsi cards are illegal because they used copyrighted games to pass 1.4 but edge say its only illegal if u get the rom and make the 1.4 firmware so in theory they arnt making you do it.
     
  9. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Cool website.
    I wonder what game it spoofs.

    I just noticed, the iEDGE Reference Manual can be downloaded, and I found a few points:
    -The flashcart comes only in white
    -The iEDGE shows a red icon when initially installing the bootstrap (DSi) or when booted in an older DS
    -The iEDGE supports Wii Connectivity
    -The iEDGE supports DSi 1.4
    -The iEDGE has a red updating LED like the M3i Zero
    -The iEDGE uses an EXE to install the bootstrap updater
    -The iEDGE bootstrap updater comes with an NDS file with the bootstrap inside (meaning it probably can be opened with a ROM editor to change the icon)
    -The iEDGE has a unique bootstrap updating procedure

    It seems that the bootstrap updater works like this:
    1. Download the bootstrap updater and extract somewhere
    2. Run the bootstrap updater
    3. Select the microSD card, and the NDS bootstrap file
    4. When it's done, put the microSD card in the iEDGE.
    5. Put the iEDGE in the console before turning on the console.
    6. Turn on the DSi and stay in the menu. The iEDGE's LED should flash.
    7. The flashing becomes quicker and quicker as it progresses, and when it stops flashing, the EDGE can be booted (It is necessary to download the iEDGE OS first).
     
  10. inferleon

    Newcomer inferleon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Country:
    United States
    Damn, the website is f****n tight!!
    I am so buyin this..
     
  11. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    why would someone wann buy a cart with such slow firmware updates
     
  12. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    yeh that is true...looks pretty interesting tho, hopefully its not the same old edge working on the dsi
     
  13. inferleon

    Newcomer inferleon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the reason they were slow is because they were working on the iEDGE and their website. [​IMG]
     
  14. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    looks promssing i loved my edge before i might just buy this one [​IMG] but im also happy with my ak2i
     
  15. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    I hope they are working on new firmware to go along with that new website lol
     
  16. wanderone

    Newcomer wanderone Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not thrilled with the specs list of the iEDGE. [​IMG] Still no Save State support and really no other features beyond
    what you'd expect a barebones card to offer...a few years ago. Even the R4 has more features than the EDGE/iEDGE. I mean they still have, 'Save game saves directly to Micro SD' as a feature listing!! That's a given nowadays!, even for the R4!

    I don't plan on ever buying a DSi (Esp. with mention of an upcoming DS with an Tegra chip!!...wonder if the DSi was just a interim money maker before the next *real* Gameboy advancement) so I don't care about DSi support personally.

    As for the site 'redesign', its really nothing new, just a flashy advertisement for their next product offering (I hope it didn't take them months to make such a simple site redesign). I'd be alot more impressed if they'd decided to finally host their own forums.

    I'll forgive their long silence and lack of updates if they finally have save state support in the next Edge firmware. [​IMG]

    Whether or not I get a Cyclos or another Edge next (Since I have an Edge now hopefully that won't be until a long long time) is dependant on what they do in the next couple of months.

    Not really riffing them, but they need to do more. A new product is great for them, but they need to support their current and existing customers 1st and then build on that.

    Hopefully things will pick up much more in terms of additional features and support now...for both cards.
     
  17. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    at least the edge isnt a total clone anymore beat cyclo to the dsi card and i was happy with the edge not a bad budget card
     
  18. t_mafia
    OP

    Newcomer t_mafia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i wonder if cyclo will clone iEDGE to make CycloDSi/iCycloDS

    that would be ironic

    lmao [​IMG]
     
  19. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah lol but the edge it a god clone at least not the same name like the r4 and dstt clones
     
  20. Alato

    Member Alato GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Canada
    That iEDGE logo works too well.
     

Share This Page