EDGE OS v1.31 Released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Sinkhead, Feb 26, 2008.

Feb 26, 2008

EDGE OS v1.31 Released by Sinkhead at 5:47 PM (12,158 Views / 0 Likes) 37 replies

  1. Sinkhead
    OP

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    A new version of the EDGE OS has been released, among other fixes this release should enable skinning support!

    [title:Changelog] * Game compatibility fixes
    * Skinning system enabled
    * Japanese GUI translation added
    * Moonshell soft reset support added (you must download Moonshell for EDGE Release 2 to take advantage of this)


    [​IMG] Source
    [​IMG] Download

    Thanks to johnchan for the tip!
     


  2. Sinkhead
    OP

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can anyone test that this actually enabled skinning. If it does, it would be awesome if Urza could update his review, as it seems to be the only major disadvantage.
     
  3. Mikhal

    Newcomer Mikhal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm that skinning works! Didn't even know this firmware was new. I got my Edge card from Dealextreme today, went to the official site to download it and saw this thread afterwards. I love that there's a skin chooser unlike the R4DS and the DSTT (only other flash carts I used). I used the CycloDS skins in case people were wondering...
     
  4. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Still i never recieved an answer to my question!

    Is there a way to update the Edge cheat database?
    Will there ever be a tool to do this ?

    Edge team never answered this question. I would love to see a tool to edit the cheat database, a tool like the cycloDS evo one
     
  5. Mikhal

    Newcomer Mikhal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Was the cheats contained in the Edge.dat or something in the old version? In this new firmware, the cheats are in it's own cheats.dat file in the Edge folder... I assume you just replace that?
     
  6. rix

    Newcomer rix Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, skinning works.
    Just tested with new skins.

    Moonshell soft reset does not work (works partially).
    After soft reset, I get to see the top screen only.
    The touch screen with the menu icons stay black.

    It's good to see there is an update of the OS. [​IMG]
     
  7. C3NTY64

    Newcomer C3NTY64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome I'll be ordering one of these next weekend hurray
     
  8. CuriousG

    Member CuriousG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is I've been waiting for dealextreme to get it back in stock for a while now. I've even signed up for the e-mails when it is back in stock and I have yet to see an e-mail. Is there another source that is somewhat comparable in price?
     
  9. bballplaya210

    Newcomer bballplaya210 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Same here. I hope I can order one in 6 days like the site says. The only thing I didn't like about the Edge was that the skinning didn't work but now it has everything I want.
     
  10. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    No, it always used the cheats.dat in the edge folder.
    I just want a way to update the database with only cheats i want. therefor we need a cheat editor like R4/CycloDS evo has.
     
  11. Ryjuu

    Newcomer Ryjuu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nice, it seems EDGE really can do big business if they bring more updates with new features in the future [​IMG]

    Maybe a good choice after all for me not to purchase the Cyclo and wait how EDGE gonna do [​IMG] After all they are nearly the same [​IMG]
     
  12. euphemism

    Member euphemism GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States

    ...minus the in-game menu with slow motion, LCD brightness adjustment, real-time save, and cheat toggling, a team that talks with it's customers and doesn't rip another team's product...and apparently doesn't have the same game compatibility.
     
  13. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    At half the price.

    Sounds like a deal to me.



    And Sinkhead, I plan to.
     
  14. Ryjuu

    Newcomer Ryjuu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That doesn't bother me at all, after all those (useless) features most of the people here include me never will use it. Yeah except the die-hards but for most people it still be useless. What the hell is fun about RTS and slow motion.... it just ruined the gameplay ed. and to pay more then the half for these "wonderfull" features? Nah, don't think so...

    cyclo-fanboys really need to wake up, be realistic, the gap between the prices of the flashcards is very huge.... and what you get back is more then useless.....Indeed, it sounds very great if something has more then 100+ features, but what's the point if you never use it..... [​IMG]
     
  15. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    I dont own an edge, but cant you use the r4 or cyclo editor to update the cheats, or are they specially encrypted for just the edge?
     
  16. dudereno

    Member dudereno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    *cough* supercard slot 2 clone *cough*

    If you can edit the cheat data then it seems like this card may be worth a look as decent budget slot1 option.
     
  17. Hyperlisk_

    Member Hyperlisk_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my CycloDS for the auto-DLDI patching. Does the EDGE support that too? I don't see it on the feature list... Unless I'm overlooking it...
     
  18. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    It does.
     
  19. Giangsta

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia
    i agree with Urza, i just use my R4 for 1 reason, and that is to play games.

    I do agree with "those who want in as cheap as possible and can pirate games as easily as possible" because thats me =D
     
  20. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    As for the custom cheat codes question, I have yet to succeed on that front. No luck with the R4 cheat editor or CycloDS Tools.
     

Share This Page