1. Mastak

    Mastak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Yepp, controller command 0x111...

    Okay because some people want to test (includes MIDI):
    Here is the CIA https://easyrpg.org/downloads/tmp/easyrpg-player-latest.cia
    And a 3DSX ZIP: https://easyrpg.org/downloads/tmp/easyrpg-player-3ds-latest.zip
     
  2. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    Lower screen with the numpad now appears corrupted and tested on .flow, its telling me some textures are missing/main room is almost fully white (O3DSXL 11.2 Luma+A9LH)
     
  3. Mastak

    Mastak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    We recently updated to latest devkitARM and ctrulib version, will check. Don't have a 3DS here but Citra also renders it a bit incorrectly it seems.

    .flow is probably a problem with the encoding detection. Does it use japanese files? If yes open the "RPG_RT.ini" of the .flow game and add
    Code:
    [EasyRPG]
    Encoding=932
    
    This forces "shift-jis" (Japanese encoding). Then restart .flow.
    There is currently no way to overwrite the encoding from the generic GameBrowser.
     
  4. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    Does, renders properly now with no fragmentation/missing textures, skips a few frames rarely, but the sound is properly sync'd up.

    Problems I have noticed since I updated:
    -On OFF the sound lags a bit and as such sounds as if fragmented
    -Some games experience lag while ingame (lots of interactive/moving sprites on screen) and while opening/closing menus (Tho I'm on an O3DS, so makes sense that it lags ; -; )
    (Tested on OFF, Yume Nikki, .flow, Touhou Mother, Space Funeral, Wadanohara, The Gray Garden, Ib)
     
    Last edited by hidd12, Feb 19, 2017
  5. magpiess

    magpiess Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there, I don't know how actively this is being developed or monitored, but I'm scratching my head over this so I'm wondering if anyone can help. Ever since I got a9lh + luma on my system I haven't been able to use this at all. Beforehand I was able to use the 3dsx through Soundhax fine (the numpad was glitched and Space Funeral would crash after about five minutes of playing but I chalked that up to general instability) and played through about half of Yume Nikki. Since I fully hacked my system however I have been unable to get the player to run. When I go through the CIA it immediatley crashes back to the system menu. The crash log reads "Error: Couldn't initialize audio. Error code: 0xD880A7FA" Going through the homebrew launcher is similarly unsuccessful, the player initializes but stops completely when the bottom screen turns green and I have to hard reset. Considering that it worked before and that I haven't updated the system menu, really not sure what's going on here.

    Other pertinent info:

    N3DSXL
    System Version 1.3 U
    a9lh + luma
     
  6. Mr.Faq2015

    Mr.Faq2015 /ˈmɪstə ˈfæk/
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    Argentina
    Which version did you download? Download the latest official version (the only one?), avoid nightlies for the time being

    Edit: did I really miss 0.5.1? Holy s**t... Going to test it rn

    Sent from my 1DS with A9LH using Discord Nitro
     
    Last edited by Mr.Faq2015, Apr 24, 2017
  7. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    I switched my O3DSXL for a N3DSXL, gonna test as soon as I can get a new microsd card
     
  8. Mastak

    Mastak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    @magpiess
    We reworked the sound system and it only uses ndsp now. Right after 0.5.1 we were made aware that this needs a DSP firmware on your SD card, otherwise it crashes... We plan to provide a visual warning for this with 0.5.2 (expected in a month before the summer break :D)

    You can get the DSP firmware dumped e.g. with this tool by Cruel: https://github.com/Cruel/DspDump/releases
    Just run this once, then EasyRPG should work again :)

    Features of the new sound system:
    • No audio glitches anymore (before you sometimes got random noise).
    • Fade In/Fade Out works.
    • MIDI support!
    • Pitch (speedup/slowdown audio playback) works. But only on N3DS because we run on the 2nd core to prevent framedrops and threads on this core have a very small CPU time window only and pitching takes too long :/.

    Also important: Better use the continious build at the bottom of the download page instead. We encountered two regressions already: One is a savegame corruption when you play non-english games and save and the other is a scrolling error with backgrounds. These are fixed in the continious builds (and will be fixed in 0.5.2)

    One upcoming feature (which is not in the continious builds yet): https://my.mixtape.moe/aiegxa.webm
     
    Last edited by Mastak, Apr 24, 2017
  9. Vis_Mage

    Vis_Mage Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hey!

    If possible, could someone help me out with creating a single-game CIA with easyRPG? (The tutorial is here: https://rinnegatamante.it/board/showthread.php?tid=64 )

    I'm extremely new at all of this, and am not very good at these sort of technical things (it took me a long while to even get CWF on my 3ds in the first place). I'm completely stumped on the whole set-up process for all the pre-required required files (3dstool ,bannertool, makerom) needed for the process? Could someone help walk me through this, or even better, could someone send me a zip file of the required folder already set up? I would greatly appreciate it, getting some of my old RPG Maker games on the 3ds was one of the main reasons I looked into homebrew in the first place.
     
    Last edited by Vis_Mage, May 17, 2017
  10. Vis_Mage

    Vis_Mage Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
  11. SomebodyElse

    SomebodyElse Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Don't know if you're still looking for help, but everything that's missing from that packager can be found here, in the "stuffs" folder. Just put them in the same folder as build.bat. I think you need bannertool, maketool, hex_set, and 3dstool, but I just copied all of them to be safe.

    It's worth noting, however, that there's really no good reason to do this, unless you're really set on having the games available from your home screen. The included .elf file is outdated (You can find an up-to-date one here), and if you want .midi support you'll need to download the .3dsx version (in the same link) and put the instruments folder and wildmidi.cfg file in the romfs folder. This adds around 20MB to each game you package. It's not a huge amount of data, but it's redundant data if you're going to have multiple games on your system.

    More importantly than all that, I've been testing with one of the simplest games I have, and there's no real performance improvement from doing it this way versus just using the player normally. If anything, it runs slightly worse. There's also the point that, since EasyRPG is still pretty early in development and feature-incomplete, it's a lot easier to have your games separate from the engine so you don't have to repackage them when you want to update the engine.
     
    Last edited by SomebodyElse, Jun 24, 2017
  12. AllenHirai

    AllenHirai Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    2 questions are you still working on this? And can you make a cia version? thankyou
     
  13. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5,837
    Country:
    Portugal
    A cia version is available already...

    https://ci.easyrpg.org/job/player-3ds/
     
  14. Mastak

    Mastak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, the only purpose of game specific CIAs is to have icons on the home screen, no change in performance at all.

    We got a report that since latest luma and bootstrap9 and the new hb-menu our 3dsx file is not working anymore btw (because title selection is not supported), havn't investigated this yet, summer vacation break. So only the CIA is currently supported.
     
  15. Boured

    Boured A Dusk Lycanroc who cares a lot about people.
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    594
    Country:
    United States
    1. No, said person quit the scene because reasons.
    2. Refer to @gnmmarechal
     
  16. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5,837
    Country:
    Portugal
    EasyRPG 3DS is still being worked on, though, iirc.
     
  17. Mastak

    Mastak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    We usually don't work on new features for the 3DS version but we still provide updates and EasyRPG Player is under active development.

    The latest 3DS-exclusive improvements: A visual warning on startup when the DSP firmware is missing and the touchscreen shows now a visual indicator which button was pressed.
     
    SomebodyElse and AtlasFontaine like this.
  18. Gultigargar

    Gultigargar Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
  19. Mastak

    Mastak GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Currently only the CIA works when you use the latest custom firmware.
    For unhacked systems (just with HBL) the 3dsx still works.

    Well you put (for the CIA) the games in "sdcard:/3ds/easyrpg-player" . Ensure that the games are extracted and contain a file called "RPG_RT.ldb".
    For 3dsx the games belong in the folder that has the 3dsx.
     
  20. RogueZero

    RogueZero Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hey guys, first I got to really thank you for this project, RPG Maker is one of my favorite platforms and this is just awesome!
    I wanted to know if it's still working as of 11.6, since mine just won't load games.
    I'm currently on a non-cfw old 3ds on 11.6.0-39U using oothax 2.9.
    I can launch easyRpg just fine, but when I try to launch Ib what seems like a loading bar just barely starts to fill and stops, and I tried waiting for an hour.
    The game works fine on easyRpg for windows, and I have put the rtp files inside 2000/2003 respective folders.
    Can someone confirm this, or help me otherwise? Thanks a lot :D
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - EasyRPG, Player, Maker