Easiest/cheapest way to play GBA Roms on M3 Real

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by markmcrobie, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a DS Lite running Sakura 1.47 on an M3 Real cart.

    What do I need to buy to plug in to slot 2 to enable me to play the GBA Roms on my DS? And what software do I need in addition to Sakura?

    Cheers
     
  2. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,917
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should get the M3 GBA expansion pack. You shouldn't need anything extra as it should work natively with Sakaura.
     
  3. Fel

    Member Fel GBAtemp's Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    So close and yet so far away.
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    The M3 GBA Expansion pack for which you do not need any additional software is the easiest, because you just insert it, startup Touchpod/Sakura and select the game as if it were a DS game (you only need to go into the menu before starting a new game for the first time, in order to create a save, and if the game does not load - it takes way longer than a DS game - then switch the type of loading in the menu /patch or fast loading/). And it has a real time clock in case you'd like to play a game which uses one (and has also a RTS save function).

    The EZ 3-in-1 also works, but you need to use the GBAloader (or something like that), and furthermore you have to have a version which works with the M3, because it was disabled by request, so it's not so easy to get it working. But there are threads around here about it, so try searching around, there are several threads on how to get it running on Sakura. It's not so smooth as the native GBA exp. pack, but it's cheaper, unless you find a shop that sells the exp. pack alone, although I think I saw it somewhere. I don't know if it can RTS or not. [​IMG]
     
  4. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Fel

    Member Fel GBAtemp's Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    So close and yet so far away.
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Yup, that's the one! [​IMG]

    EDIT: Btw, here are the main, core facts about the 3-in-1 and the M3 GBA exp., including what version of the software you need in order to make it run on Sakura.
     
  6. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Have hit a snag, though - Real Hot Stuff want $19.50 for the product, but $35 shipping to the UK! And I can't find any UK suppliers - I went through every single UK reseller listed at the official M3 site.

    Any ideas? Perhaps a US seller with cheaper international postage?

    Thanks again, much appreciated.
     
  7. Fel

    Member Fel GBAtemp's Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    So close and yet so far away.
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Sure, it's also here, but although they ship to many countries around the world (they do not list them), they sadly do not ship to Czech Republic, even though it is a part of EU. But since you're in UK, you should be fine. [​IMG]
     
  8. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    $29.95 for postage [​IMG]
     
  9. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    hey try this one M3 GBA EXPANSION.....seems to be a lot cheaper shipping than whats been posted here before. plus that site is on m3's reseller list.
     
  10. IAmTheRad

    Member IAmTheRad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    GBA Expansion works fine. I'm using one RIGHT NOW with my M3i zero. As in playing a GBA game right now. Only some issues with games, then I switch the mode of loading and it works fine.
     
  11. hawkeyenick

    Newcomer hawkeyenick Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
  12. markmcrobie
    OP

    Member markmcrobie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No shipping costs to UK?
     
  13. hawkeyenick

    Newcomer hawkeyenick Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    $3 USD shipping to anywhere.
    I can't get it stocked without the m3 card in a bundle.
    You can always try the ez v flash 3 in 1 if you get desperate.
     
  14. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Did no one read my previous post? the link I provided sells the gba expansion for 24€ which equals about 19£ and the shipping is 8€ which is equal to around 6.5£
    therefor to to buy it and have it shipped to the UK it would cost you around 27£, which is not a bad price considering they're hard to find on there own and getting them shipped from another supplier that actually has them is pretty expensive.

    Here's the link once again: http://shop.01media.com/info.asp?ProductID=38418#

    BTW: ZeroMods Prices are on the high side compared to many other dealers
     

Share This Page