dwl-g510 wirless card woes

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Edgedancer, Apr 20, 2008.

Apr 20, 2008

dwl-g510 wirless card woes by Edgedancer at 11:12 AM (1,336 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I was wondering if anyone on the forum would be able to help me. Recently, my wireless card has been disconnecting randomly but now it wot connect for a few minutes at a time if IO am that lucky. I am running Vista Basic and the card is dwl-g510 (rev C). I have installed the proper drivers for the card but nothing seems to help. I can connect to the local network but it is unable to access the internet and I know that it is not a distance problem because my brother has a computer using the same card in XP in a room further away from the router.
    I thank you in advance for any help possible. [​IMG]
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    You are lucky I got that card and running it through Vista as well. You have to use a different driver.

    http://www.soft32.com/download_178131.html

    Try those. You have to manually install and it won't come up as DWL-G510, but it'll work.

    Edit: NVM, you got the Rev. C. Wow, I'll try looking for alternative drivers. Dlink has pretty cruddy support for the G510 cards.

    ftp://files.dlink.com.au/products/DWL-G510/REV_C/Drivers/

    Those are the actual Dlink drivers. The ones that come with the CD are for Rev. B.
     
  3. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I had the Rev C card, the drivers that came with it were fine, sadly I cant find the CD.

    Try sticking it in another PCI slot, fixed a lot of problems for me when I was using it.
     
  4. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the replies. For some reason it is working fine at the moment but if the problem occurs again, I will take your advice.
     
  5. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Oh, by the way, it uses a RaLinkTech RT2500 chipset, knowing this helped mea great deal when trying to get this working on old Ubuntu Edgy.
     
  6. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    What does Ubuntu have to do with it. I am running Vista.
     
  7. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Helps if you need to know the chipset the card is based on.
     

Share This Page