DVI splitter help :S

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by vergilite, Apr 19, 2010.

Apr 19, 2010

DVI splitter help :S by vergilite at 7:19 PM (1,200 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so i have a ps3 and a wii, i use my monitor as a output.
    i have my ps3 using an HDMI To DVI cable
    now my wii only has a component cable so i bought this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001HW2...ref=oss_product
    and this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002U0B...ref=oss_product so i dont have to switch the DVI cable constantly, but heres the thing the DVI shows no picture when either my ps3 or wii is on :S.
    so i tried just connecting my wii with the adapter into my monitor but for some reason it doesnt fit :| if you can see on the image of the adapter it has four pins around the "-" pin so it doesn't fit into the monitor the only way it can connect is through the splitter HELP PLEASE!
     
  2. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BUMP ! oh and i just realized i put this in general console discussion >_> guess its kinda related
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    its different types of DVI connectors

    [​IMG]
     
  4. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it seems the adapter (component to DVI) has a male DL-DVI-I connector while the other end of the splitter is male DL-DVI-D and i can see how the adapter is not plugging straight into the monitor but the adapter plugs into the splitter then the splitter plugs into the monitor (perfectly) so why no image DAMN!!! i need monster hunter tri and red steel 2 :|
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    probably because thats a reverse cable
    it goes from DVI to component + vga (not the other way around)
     
  6. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you must be joking :|
     
  7. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so can anyone confirm 100% that this adapter cannot take a component signal to a dvi output [​IMG]
     
  8. vergilite
    OP

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bump D; sorry guys im near crying can someone please confirm this adapter wont work [​IMG]
     

Share This Page