Aquila

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Hi everyone,

Everywhere I read you should use DVD-R's for burning Wii backups, because DVD+R's might be bad for your Wii.

I only have (Philips) DVD+R's atm and I wonder if that's really true or not, some people deny this, others insist they really are bad..

It's kinda confusing, so well now.. what really is true? Are DVD+R's bad for your Wii or not?

Some other intel: I have an early (PAL) Wii model, dating from the release in Europe. This might be interesting because I read somewhere the earlier models would have a better laser or something?
And, whatever the conclusion of the question "are DVD+R's bad for your Wii or not" is, what is/are the best DVD brand(s) to use?

Thanks in advance for answering!

TyrianCubed

Gamer 1989 to present
Trophies
Website
www.gamescollection.it
XP
Country
Italy
I'm not an expert, but even when I set the booktype to DVD-ROM, when I burn +R half of them don't work (DRE).
'nuff said
wink.gif

f00had

Trophies
XP
Country
I've read that you should avoid Memorex discs, although I'd like to know if Imation is any good. There's a buy-one-get-one-free offer at my local stationers
ohmy.gif

Aquila

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Yeah, I know DVD+R's can work, even though they are less compatible. But my real question is whether or not it can harm your Wii (seen over a longer period).

I also know that it indeed has been asked many times.. but I couldn't find any useful 'decision' about whether or not these discs can harm your Wii... hoped I could find it here now
smile.gif

berlinka

You have sustained a lethal injury.
Trophies
Website
www.berlinka.blogspot.com
XP
Country
Netherlands
I bought my Wii in June 2007. I've ONLY used DVD+R discs and I've still got every game working. Even burned SSBB on a DVD+DL disc.

Off course I've got the occasional disc error message. But after a reboot everything works.