DVD burning help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gullwing, Jul 2, 2008.

Jul 2, 2008

DVD burning help by Gullwing at 10:32 AM (911 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

1. Gullwing
    OP

Member Gullwing Synesthete

Greece
    I ordered my Wiikey and it will come soon enought to mod my Wii but I have some questions about the DVD burning:

1* Which program to burn my DVDs should I choose (Nero, Img Burn or something else)?
    2*In what type of DVD should I burn the ISO I want (DVD-R)?
    3*In what speed should I burn the ISO I want?

Please answer me in simple terms and not in complicated ones cause I'm a newb.... [​IMG]

2. Slimmmmmm

Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

United Kingdom
    1 I like IMGBurn, nice and simple, quick and never any problems, it's also free and very small and doesn't cause some of the problems larger non free software can cause. To use >> Open IMGBurn, inset DVD in drive, navigate to .iso, click burn, done.

2 I use RITEK DVD-r's, they are very cheap, and if you get ones with G05 dye (it tells you in IMGBurn) you will never have dre's, like you will with for example Aones etc. Verbatim are the best, but way more expensive, so find RITEK g05's, I get 50 for £8.

3 I burn at any speed, but never over 8x, it doesn't really matter to me, some people swear by certain speeds, but imho, it depends on the DVD's themselves and what you pc is doing at the time. So don't be overdoing other things while burning. I have had several burn failures with other DVD's etc, but with these steps and the right DVD's no failures in hundreds of burns (I like to modify and play about a bit)

Hope that helps, but it is just my opinion on things, I'm sure others will have different opinions.

3. Gullwing
    OP

Greece
    Thanks for that but still on what Speed should i prefer to burn?At x2?

4. skawo96

Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United Kingdom
    Well...this wii likes that speed this likes that...I'm burning on 6x, but to be safe try on 4x.