Hacking Dump digital Wii U games to Wup Installer format?

AmberDambey

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
219 N 14th Street, Las Vegas, NV, 89101
XP
30
Country
United States
Hi. Still new here, so I won't reply immediately. So, recently I bought a second Wii U. I accidentally broke my old gamepad, and seeing that a standalone Wii U GamePad is a lot more expensive than a whole new console, I got a new one. My primary one is homebrewed, Haxchi and all, so I can't do a system transfer. Is there some way to dump digital games over to the WUP Installer yMod/GX2 format? Yes, I considered dumping them as a WUD and using wud2app, but my computer is very tight on storage right now and my 1.8 TB HDD is coming in a few weeks. Is there a

Edit: I can't pair the gamepad over! I just want to haxchi up my new console, not connect the gamepad to the old one.
 
Last edited by AmberDambey,

N7Kopper

Proud lover of a three-inch girlfriend
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
700
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
884
Country
United Kingdom
If the Wii U came with a new GamePad, you can just sync the new pad to the original console (unless they're different regions - GamePad updates are regionlocked, and the Wii U won't let you use one if it won't update)
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,560
Trophies
1
XP
12,690
Country
United States
there is a way to sync an out of region gamepad, I believe. I think you have to use system config tool, which can be dangerous if you don't know what you're doing. generally, the lower down the option, the more dangerous it is, and the gamepad ones are near the bottom from what I remember.
 

AmberDambey

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
219 N 14th Street, Las Vegas, NV, 89101
XP
30
Country
United States
If the Wii U came with a new GamePad, you can just sync the new pad to the original console (unless they're different regions - GamePad updates are regionlocked, and the Wii U won't let you use one if it won't update)
The SYNC button is broken on the new one. Is there perhaps a way to pair the GamePad without the SYNC button?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,560
Trophies
1
XP
12,690
Country
United States
The SYNC button is broken on the new one. Is there perhaps a way to pair the GamePad without the SYNC button?

not that I know of. if you were use the console for something like that, logically, it would have to be synced to begin with to establish any sort of connection.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I think the gamepad uses some sort of unique wlan connection, so it's not bluetooth like the pro controller or wiimotes. it's also 5GHz afaik, unlike the 2.4GHz of wifi.
 

AmberDambey

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
219 N 14th Street, Las Vegas, NV, 89101
XP
30
Country
United States
not that I know of. if you were use the console for something like that, logically, it would have to be synced to begin with to establish any sort of connection.
My old GamePad can still be used. I need to use DRCapture to see the GamePad screen. I can blindly tap around while looking at my computer monitor.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,560
Trophies
1
XP
12,690
Country
United States
I don't know if it's possible to use that gamepad to somehow make a connection with the one with the broken sync button. I know of no way unfortunately. I think drcsim, which will display the gamepad on the computer monitor (maybe similar to your drcapture) requires the sync button. I was never able to install it though due to gksu, which is related to gui in linux, I think. there's a replacement for it, but I don't know how to get it to work. I forgot the name of it too (think it might start with a p or another g).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

you need something like the panda wifi dongle to use it. I don't think it works with normal wifi. I bought the panda in preparation for drcsim, but unfortunately, gksu has been removed due to security reasons, and installing its dependencies on linux is a never ending task. lol

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I actually had to buy the panda, because the sandisk connect (another wifi dongle) doesn't support 5GHz. it's kinda a pita, because I never bothered installing it (comes with a disc), since I couldn't install drcsim in the first place. it might be easier with virtual box, but I think you'd still run into the same issues as gksu is no longer available. you can install the .deb, but it has an endless series of dependencies upon dependencies to get it installed, so it's not worth it.
 

AmberDambey

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2021
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
219 N 14th Street, Las Vegas, NV, 89101
XP
30
Country
United States
I don't know if it's possible to use that gamepad to somehow make a connection with the one with the broken sync button. I know of no way unfortunately. I think drcsim, which will display the gamepad on the computer monitor (maybe similar to your drcapture) requires the sync button. I was never able to install it though due to gksu, which is related to gui in linux, I think. there's a replacement for it, but I don't know how to get it to work. I forgot the name of it too (think it might start with a p or another g).

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

you need something like the panda wifi dongle to use it. I don't think it works with normal wifi. I bought the panda in preparation for drcsim, but unfortunately, gksu has been removed due to security reasons, and installing its dependencies on linux is a never ending task. lol

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I actually had to buy the panda, because the sandisk connect (another wifi dongle) doesn't support 5GHz. it's kinda a pita, because I never bothered installing it (comes with a disc), since I couldn't install drcsim in the first place. it might be easier with virtual box, but I think you'd still run into the same issues as gksu is no longer available. you can install the .deb, but it has an endless series of dependencies upon dependencies to get it installed, so it's not worth it.
I just want to Haxchi up my new Wii U. What happened to dumping to Wup Installer?
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,560
Trophies
1
XP
12,690
Country
United States
that question I don't know the answer to. as for haxchi, you might be able to use the drcapture to install it. I don't know if there's a way to push the buttons without a gamepad, since it's a ds game. the controllers a game supports are in the meta.xml iirc. either 1, think it's 2 though, is drc (the gamepad).
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,240
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,038
Country
Norway
The SYNC button is broken on the new one. Is there perhaps a way to pair the GamePad without the SYNC button?
You can disassemble the gamepad and try to clean the sync button with IPA or other electronics cleaner and a q-tip and see if that fixes it. If that doesn't help then your best bet might be swapping the working screen onto the gamepad with the broken screen.
Hi. Still new here, so I won't reply immediately. So, recently I bought a second Wii U. I accidentally broke my old gamepad, and seeing that a standalone Wii U GamePad is a lot more expensive than a whole new console, I got a new one. My primary one is homebrewed, Haxchi and all, so I can't do a system transfer. Is there some way to dump digital games over to the WUP Installer yMod/GX2 format? Yes, I considered dumping them as a WUD and using wud2app, but my computer is very tight on storage right now and my 1.8 TB HDD is coming in a few weeks. Is there a

Edit: I can't pair the gamepad over! I just want to haxchi up my new console, not connect the gamepad to the old one.
You can system transfer, it just won't transfer over pirated titles. You can dump the contents of your pirated titles with ftpiiu_everywhere (in Loadiine format) and then use nuspacker to pack them into installable format again. You can use ftpiiu_everywhere to dump your saves as well. Though navigating the file system to find what you need over FTP can be a hassle and the copy process is rather slow (but it would be slow dumping to FTP or USB as well - due to the Wii U's super slow FAT32 driver, so FTP is about as good as it gets), I haven't done anything on Wii U in a while so I don't remember if there is any proper homebrew for save backup/restore and about the best dedicated homebrew for dumping games is ddd and that is kind of a hassle. So FTP is probably the best method.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeffyTheHomebrewer
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
    mr_switch @ mr_switch: I just want a true dark mode theme for OLED Switch