Dual-USB HDD and USB Ethernet/Wii Speak problem SOLVED

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Anon2098, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. Anon2098
    OP

    Newcomer Anon2098 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    So, the Wii only has 2 USB ports which makes using Wii Speak or USB Ethernet a problem when using USB-powered HDD's which require 2 USB ports. You can connect an external PSU but that leaves the HDD running 24x7. Here is my solution, I give you GC5V!

    [​IMG]

    You hack a USB female connector and a GC gameport plug together - Voila, 5 Volts! [​IMG]

    It works really well! Simply connect the 5volts in the USB cable (usually red cable) to the GC 5V (usually yellow) and the USB gnd (usually black) to the GC gnd (usually green) - takes about 10 minutes.

    ]-[
     
  2. Sonic4Ever

    Member Sonic4Ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    France
    This thread contains epic win.
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,941
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm not going to buy a new gc controller to do THAT
     
  4. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Awesome job!

    You know what, I had exactly the same idea, however I didn't know how much power the GC ports could provide, nor do i have the patience or skill to put it into practice.

    Another idea I had was, using the sensor bar port. I have a wireless sensor bar (they are cheap) so this port is free and looks pretty simple.
    How much power does that provide?

    Also, cheap gc extension cable could be used http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.19116

    ps: this adapter is awesome! http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.21329

    pps: not trying to advertise dx lol.
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wow, that's pretty cool
     
  6. dodol

    Member dodol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    Just curious what you guys using that needed 2 USB power ? I use WD120GB and it work with just 1 USB power.
     
  7. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some HDD's use 2 USB sockets.
     
  8. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    some HDD's CAN use 2 usb sockets, as some older usb sockets don't provide enough power. AFAIK with the wii that is never necessary..
    and connecting other usb devices still crashes the usb loader.. so........ [​IMG]
     
  9. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  10. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    I did the same thing and it seemed to work fine (I plugged in a USB wiimote charge pack and the charging light went on).

    However later i checked the wiimore battery and it hadn't improved charge as far as i could tell.

    [​IMG]

    well, either it's not supplying the right amount of power, or this charger won;t work with it for some reason... I don't know because I'm not really in the know how about these things, very amatuer.
     
  11. micric100

    Member micric100 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    Canada
    but it's not just for hdd's that use 2 usb ports. The lan adapter doens't work even if you have a hard drive with one port. To make my lan adapter work, do I plug it into the gc port or do I plug the usb hdd into the gc port and the lan adapter in the back?
     
  12. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The GC port is only providing power, nothing more. Plugging anything into the GC port exclusively will just power the device and nothing else.
     

Share This Page