DSTWO:Animal Crossing Crash

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by pcdude2143, Apr 15, 2011.

Apr 15, 2011
  1. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to play Animal Crossing with my sister, and the game disconnects after only a few minutes of play. I've already tried two different ROMS (One trimmed, one clean). I started both with new save files. On the Supercard website they said they fixed a bug related to Animal Crossing, but it was related to the Chinese version. Any ideas?

    Edit: I checked the CRC against the AdvanScene DB and the clean one checks out. Also, I'm sure I have the latest SC updates.

    Bump?
     
  2. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Weird. I have no issues with mine, playing either the 1.0 or 1.1 roms.

    Try backing up your SD cards, and format your SD with "Panasonic SD formatter". Then put everything back on and try again.
     
  3. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    Get your ROM from somewhere else. I have no problem running it. [​IMG]
     
  4. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Could you tell me what Panasonic SD formatter does? I use Linux, so I'd need to find a different way to do it.
     
  5. hatredg0d

    Member hatredg0d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    honestly, that game (that game only) froze and suffered many slowdowns on my dstwo, a class 10 micro sd fixed that problem.
     
  6. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Do they even make 16GB class 10s? Highest I could find in that size was class 4.
     
  7. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    what class are you using right now?
     
  8. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a class 4. Sorry I wasn't clear. I read somewhere that brand matters more than class though, because class only measures write speed? I'm using a Sandisk 16GB class 4.
     
  9. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    yes, it's about RAM (Random Access Memory) speeds, which aren't calculated for the class

    i think i remember hearing that sandisk's 16gb cards were somewhat slow, but sandisk is a respectable brand and i don't really know what could be going wrong...

    i'd PM a moderator on the supercard forums about it
     
  10. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, I just recently started using a 16GB class 4 Sandisk Micro SD, and it runs much slower than my C08G Taiwan 8GB Class 4 MicroSD did.
     
  11. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try swapping my phone's card (generic C16G JAPAN) with the SanDisk. My phone doesn't need a super high speed card anyway. It's not like I'm running apps off of it.
     
  12. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Turns out my phone's card is WAY worse when it comes to seeking:

    Code:
    pcdude2143 [ ~ ]$ cat droidsd 
    VersionÂÂ1.96ÂÂÂÂÂÂ ------Sequential Output------ --Sequential Input- --Random-
    ConcurrencyÂÂ 1ÂÂÂÂ -Per Chr- --Block-- -Rewrite- -Per Chr- --Block-- --Seeks--
    MachineÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSize K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CP
    g60vx-laptopÂÂ1000MÂÂ 346ÂÂ39ÂÂ7703ÂÂ 1ÂÂ8278ÂÂ 1ÂÂ1585ÂÂ94 1354727ÂÂ86ÂÂ56.3ÂÂ 0
    LatencyÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 10233usÂÂÂÂ2004msÂÂÂÂ1322msÂÂÂÂ5548usÂÂÂÂÂÂ54usÂÂ 12802us
    VersionÂÂ1.96ÂÂÂÂÂÂ ------Sequential Create------ --------Random Create--------
    g60vx-laptopÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ-Create-- --Read--- -Delete-- -Create-- --Read--- -Delete--
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂfilesÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CP
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 16ÂÂÂÂ41ÂÂ28 +++++ +++ÂÂ1153ÂÂ95ÂÂÂÂ41ÂÂ28 +++++ +++ÂÂÂÂ17ÂÂ 5
    LatencyÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 119msÂÂÂÂ6356usÂÂÂÂ7211usÂÂÂÂ 129msÂÂÂÂÂÂ85usÂÂÂÂ2219ms
    1.96,1.96,g60vx-laptop,1,1303059339,1000M,,346,39,7703,1,8278,1,1585,94,1354727,86,56.3,0,16,,,,
    ,41,28,+++++,+++,1153,95,41,28,+++++,+++,17,5,10233us,2004ms,1322ms,5548us,54us,1
    2802us,119ms,6356us,7211us,129ms,85us,2219ms
    Code:
    pcdude2143 [ ~ ]$ cat sandisk 
    VersionÂÂ1.96ÂÂÂÂÂÂ ------Sequential Output------ --Sequential Input- --Random-
    ConcurrencyÂÂ 1ÂÂÂÂ -Per Chr- --Block-- -Rewrite- -Per Chr- --Block-- --Seeks--
    MachineÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂSize K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CP K/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CP
    g60vx-laptopÂÂ1000MÂÂ 625ÂÂ71ÂÂ5332ÂÂ 1ÂÂ5706ÂÂ 0ÂÂ1591ÂÂ94 1354411ÂÂ86ÂÂ2645ÂÂ28
    LatencyÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 11852usÂÂÂÂ2121msÂÂÂÂ 922msÂÂÂÂ5047usÂÂÂÂ 105usÂÂ 15130us
    VersionÂÂ1.96ÂÂÂÂÂÂ ------Sequential Create------ --------Random Create--------
    g60vx-laptopÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ-Create-- --Read--- -Delete-- -Create-- --Read--- -Delete--
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂfilesÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CPÂÂ/sec %CP
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 16ÂÂÂÂ89ÂÂ60 +++++ +++ÂÂ1184ÂÂ99ÂÂÂÂ87ÂÂ60 +++++ +++ÂÂ 126ÂÂ35
    LatencyÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 115msÂÂÂÂ6407usÂÂÂÂ7275usÂÂÂÂ 112msÂÂÂÂÂÂ22usÂÂÂÂ 989ms
    1.96,1.96,g60vx-laptop,1,1303065819,1000M,,625,71,5332,1,5706,0,1591,94,1354411,86,2645,28,16,,,
    ,,89,60,+++++,+++,1184,99,87,60,+++++,+++,126,35,11852us,2121ms,922ms,5047us,105u
    s,15130us,115ms,6407us,7275us,112ms,22us,989ms
    Looks like I'll be sticking with the current setup. I'll try reformatting the card, but I doubt that will help...
     
  13. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I zeroed out the entire partition and recreated it. Still won't work [​IMG]
     
  14. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
  15. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I do not use Windows because it has the odd habit of randomly deleting my files. I have no viruses, a good HD (tested before), a "good" install (I've reinstalled it many times), but it still gives me trouble anyway. If you could explain to me what that the program does, I'll figure out how to do it myself in Linux.
     
  16. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    it correctly formats the sd card from scratch to comply with the SD standards instead of just wiping the card clean

    although i doubt that's what your problem is anyway
     
  17. pcdude2143
    OP

    Newcomer pcdude2143 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Thing is, I don't know what the "SD standards" are. I just formatted the card using dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdX (Wipes out entire data area) and then recreated the partition (Turns out all ones is better for flash memory, but whatever). When I bought the card, I made super sure that the FAT32 partition started as close to the beginning of the drive as possible. It was originally at 4MB. My formatting program (Gparted) let me move it to start very close to the beginning.

    Like you said, the formatting is probably not the problem.
     

Share This Page