DSTT error

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by seiyers, Jul 5, 2008.

Jul 5, 2008

DSTT error by seiyers at 1:16 PM (3,395 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    So I started playing Zelda-Phantom Hourglass, got as far as finally getting my cannon (yay!), turned it off, met up with friends etc, later on went to turn it back on to continue on my Link adventure only to find it said 'Save file corrupt'. And then my game got deleted! [​IMG] Tried it again, started up a new game and saved it once all the cut scenes stopped, and that one got deleted as well, same message. I've since started a third, and just again, saved it after the cut scenes, and that one, so far, is still there. (although 0% progress).

    It's not just Phantom Menace though; this morning I started playing LostMagic, another RPG. Got around 2-3 hours into it, and then saved and shut off. Left the DSlite to charge for a bit, and then came back to find that the save file wasn't even there!

    Any ideas??

    I thought maybe it could be that I have too many games saved on to my memory card, but that doesn't really make sense, right? Because the save files that get created when the game first gets loaded doesn't get any bigger or anything when you play?

    The other thing is, other games have been fine. eg. MarioKart DS still has all of my progress to date. Could it be something with just games that take multiple saves that the DSTT just doesn't like? But I started Bomberman DS a few days ago and that still seems to be fine...

    Any suggestions at all - I love my RPGs and it would suck if they all get wiped randomly into a game.
     


  2. ben_not_benny

    Member ben_not_benny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I used to have the same problem with Elite Beat Agents, the save file resets itself after some time. Since I don't play play EBA anymore it doesn't really bother me. I never had problems with other games though.
     
  3. Damademan3

    Newcomer Damademan3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Cr, IA
    Country:
    United States
    bad card or bad msd... I have never had that issue.
     
  4. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm loathe to blame it on either of the cards. Only other problem I've had with the cards was when I dropped my DS by accident and corrupted the MSD but it wasn't anything a format couldn't fix.

    Just weird because I've tried looking for similar cases of this happening but haven't found anything
     
  5. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Firmware up to date? Current version is 1.13, if you're still running the 1.07 version that came with your DSTT it might be causing some of your problems. Otherwise, I would suspect the micro SD card. What brand is it?
     
  6. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm currently running V1.10

    Micro SD card is a Kingmax 2GB.
     
  7. rynem

    Newcomer rynem Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    lol, what store did you get it at?
     
  8. litium

    Member litium GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Argentina
    Country:
    Argentina
    I think it's due to a bad MSD. I never had that problem (I use a Taiwanese Kingsont 1GB).
     
  9. rynem

    Newcomer rynem Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
  10. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    Store went by the name of 'Freebies from Older Siblings Inc.' Name may vary by family and location [​IMG]

    Thanks, I'll try the latest kernel later tonight and see what happens.

    Oh. And just to make this puzzle a little more interesting, my friend started playing FF Crystal Chronicles on it last night. Started it up this morning and the save game's still there. (for now, anyways.)
     
  11. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Simple things first. Yes, not having enough free space on your microSD card can cause the problem you describe. Also, having all your games at the root can cause the problem. Make sure to put all your .nds and .sav files into a "games" folder.

    -Bri
     
  12. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    Brilliant. Final Fantasy CC is still chugging along happily without any save/load problems, and I'm going to clear up some memory space and update to 1.13, and see if that makes any difference. Thanks all! [​IMG]

    (Will also stop carrying it in my bag so it stops slapping against my leg when I walk... figure the jostling might be a factor as well.)
     
  13. litium

    Member litium GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Argentina
    Country:
    Argentina
    My ds flew like 2 meters and still save/loads haha. I'm sure the problem is space and the kernel. I once had 5mb free on the SD and some games wouldn't even load.
     
  14. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry to bump this after a bit of inactivity, but it's happened again with Phantom Hourglass.

    Picked up my salvage arm and went around hauling/shooting frogs. But after hitting a frog, and they say 'oh you might want to write this down somewhere', i accessed my water-maps but found that each time after I doodled on them, the doodles never stayed on. Which led me to think that the game was screwing up again.

    I saved/exited the game and when i tried to reload it, it said 'game file corrupt, data file will now be deleted' again.

    Now I've read that very rarely is it ever the problem of the ROM but in this case, is it possible?

    2-3 weeks ago, I had my file deleted from New Super Mario Bros as well, but that one has a better replay value and I'm not as bothered.
     
  15. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Are all your games in a "games" folder or on the root of your microSD card? Is your microSD card nearly full?

    -Bri
     
  16. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, have always had the Games folder

    MicroSD card shouldn't be even near full (I can't check at the moment because I haven't got it with me) - I removed a few games the last time I fiddled with it and don't remember adding anything new.
     
  17. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    So did it do it with the newest kernel?

    -Bri
     
  18. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    Kind of. Last time I updated was up to 1.13, which was the newest at the time. But, no, it's not at the most recent 1.15.

    I'm not sure how to go about making sure it's something to do with the kernel without having to sink hours into gameplay and nervously load the game each time I want to play, not knowing if it will be there or not. If you know what I mean... [​IMG]
     
  19. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I would say play it a little bit between saves and make frequent backups of your save files is about all you can do until you can track down the problem. I never had a problem with saves on my DSTT like you're seeing.

    Had you done anything else between saves like added or deleted any files on your PC? I wonder if your microSD reader isn't corrupting your card or something.

    -Bri
     
  20. seiyers
    OP

    Newcomer seiyers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I had thought of the frequent backup option, but didn't want to resort to it. Usually it's just sheer laziness that makes me not bother with transferring files back and forth from the DS to the computer, what, with having to pop out the SD card and put it into the laptop and click around and pop it back into the DS...

    Having said that, I hadn't done anything to the files on the DS since I last updated the kernel, largely because of the aforementioned laziness.
     

Share This Page