DSLite fault diagnosis - help!

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Steevsee, Jul 13, 2008.

Jul 13, 2008
  1. Steevsee
    OP

    Newcomer Steevsee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Aussie Game Wreckers
    Country:
    Australia
    Greetings to all.

    I have a DSLite which will not turn on properly.
    The green power light comes on then dims then top screen flashes white before system turns itself off. (No signs of life in the bottom screen at all)
    The ds was reportedly dropped but no obvious damage to case or hinges.
    I have opened the bottom half of the case and checked all cable connectors which seem to be fine.
    Also I can see no obvious damage to the touch/LCD screen itself, but assume there may be some problem which is causing the fault.
    The only idea I have is to try to replace the bottom screen with a good one to see if this works but just wondered if anybody has had similar problem and could offer any alternative suggestions for a fix?

    I also tried to open the top half of the case to check the cable there but after removing the four screws, I was unsure if the cases just unclip of is there some trick to separating these?
     
  2. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds like blown fuse.
     
  3. thrallking

    Newcomer thrallking Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    The connector to the top screen might have come loose. Open it up and try that first. Replaceing the fuse is not a walk in the park.
     
  4. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The top screen should be OK, as it flashes (indicating that it is connected...)

    The problem is the bottom screen, have you checked the ribbon cables for fractures? You said you made sure the connectors were in. Are the black tabs securing them in place?
     
  5. thrallking

    Newcomer thrallking Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    You're right. I misread the original post. Whoops.
     
  6. Steevsee
    OP

    Newcomer Steevsee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Aussie Game Wreckers
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for all the quick responses so far.
    Yes, black connector tabs (x 3) are all locked down.
    Not sure how to tell if cables have fractures - nothing stands out on visual inspection.
    Might try swapping out the bottom screen and will let you know if it makes a difference.
     
  7. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
     
  8. Steevsee
    OP

    Newcomer Steevsee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Aussie Game Wreckers
    Country:
    Australia
    Just a quick update.
    I have swapped over the bottom screen with a good one which made absolutely no difference.
    Looks like I might have to look at the fuses.
    I assume fuse1 is a part of the charging circuit and I need to check fuse2.
    Can I check it with a multimeter whilst it is still attached to the board?
     
  9. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, you can, although I doubt it's a fuse problem.

    If it was dropped, a ribbon cable may have come loose, even if the connector tab locks are still down. Open the tabs, push the cables in (make sure they actually go fully in - difficult to tell unless you've done it before!) and try again.
     
  10. 704jaffer

    Member 704jaffer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Morden, MB
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm not saying your problem is a power switch problem, but in my experience, when I was replacing my power button, when the switch had not yet been properly soldered, attempting to turn the system on would flash the ds on when the switch was up, but off when the switch fell back down. Since the DS was dropped it may have severed some internal circuit board connection. Overall, sounds power related though, try holding the power switch up.
     
  11. Steevsee
    OP

    Newcomer Steevsee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Aussie Game Wreckers
    Country:
    Australia
    Just a quick update.

    I have successfully bridged F2 Fuse with jump wire. (Very delicate task - I definitely need glasses!) [​IMG]
    However it has made absolutely no difference. Those who said "not fuse" were, apparently right.

    Wile I was at it I swapped over the top screen for a good one , which also made no difference.

    Double checked all cables and clamps.

    Looks like I might be up for a new mainboard.

    Anyone suggest a good supplier in Australia?
     
  12. kirby145

    Newcomer kirby145 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like you are good at modding, I would just recommend buying a ds (broken screen or buttons) and maybe a replacement case and use that baord and combine parts.

    Seeing as you will have to mod either way
     
  13. Steevsee
    OP

    Newcomer Steevsee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Aussie Game Wreckers
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi and thanks for the suggestion.
    I had actually thought that this might be my best bet to get a replacement board at a reasonable price so will most likely do as you have suggested.
    Still have to be careful though as I have bought a couple of Broken DS systems on ebay in the past ,only to find someone had already attempted repairs and rendered the boards pretty much useless.

    Also, just to let everyone know, I have just finished replacing the faulty motherboard with the one from my son's DS and the system started up perfectly, first time. [​IMG]

    Still need to track down a replacement board for my son now. (I have also ordered a new translucent blue case for him to sweeten the deal)

    We actually have a total of five DS lites in this household, 3 owned by kids under 12, so I am quite sure that this will not be my last DS repair project!
     

Share This Page