DSLinux - Is that it?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by retman, Jul 22, 2007.

Jul 22, 2007

DSLinux - Is that it? by retman at 2:51 PM (1,884 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. retman
    OP

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When i boot up DSLinux on my R4DS i'm presented with a keyboard and a little 'K' at the top right side of the touch screen.



    Is that all DSLinux does, gives you a keyboard?
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Obviously not, its 12 megs.

    Read their wiki
     
  3. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DSLinux is a text based operating system, like MS-DOS only alot better.
     
  4. loathsome

    Member loathsome GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    N3DSXL
    Country:
    Australia
    DSLinux is Linux for the DS.

    If you don't know what Linux is, stay away from DSLinux. Simple enough.
     
  5. retman
    OP

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know what Linux is, i have ubuntu on my laptop.
     
  6. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Read the wiki for dslinux, it tells you everything you need to know.
     
  7. loathsome

    Member loathsome GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    N3DSXL
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, do you expect the DS to run GNOME/KDE?
     
  8. retman
    OP

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No i'm not that stupid. I didn't say i expect it to run GNOME/KDE
     
  9. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    I guess the only way to input is keyboard. But of course, I didn't look at the wiki yet. Maybe there are shortcuts you can make? er? I wish I knew how to use linux. :'(
     
  10. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
  11. retman
    OP

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got it working, i was using the wrong 'build', but sadly it awful. I deleted it.

    Thanks for the 'Help' people >_>
     
  12. loathsome

    Member loathsome GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    N3DSXL
    Country:
    Australia
    Then what the hell did you expect it to do? .. [​IMG]
     
  13. retman
    OP

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Something useful. [​IMG]
     
  14. IainDS

    Member IainDS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DS linux blows.
     
  15. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I don't know what the point of it is, TBH. Computer native OSes on a DS, pah....

    You can go a lot farther with Ubuntu on a laptop. So DSLinux compared to that....well.
     
  16. dg10050

    Member dg10050 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Well, a lot is actually going on behind the scenes. Like a native sdl port, so you'll be able to run sdl based games through DSLinux. Plus telnet and SSH are very useful. If you have a Linux PC running an SSH server, you can basically run programs on your ds that you can normally only run on your PC.
     
  17. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hehe, I only use Windows. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page