DSLink Review!

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by IxthusTiger, Aug 27, 2006.

Aug 27, 2006

DSLink Review! by IxthusTiger at 4:09 AM (3,039 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States


  2. Heinrisch

    Member Heinrisch GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Sweden
    Is the cart used as ex. memory? or as current flashcart?
     
  3. dirtyweasel

    Newcomer dirtyweasel Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    flashcart
     
  4. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    that's actually the ds browser cart...

    Does anyone know if the Band Brothers Request Selection can be flashed to a GBA cart and be accessed by an actual Band Brothers game cart?
     
  5. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes you can. But you have to make it act like a real GBA cart. For example, disabling the menu in the X-ROM GBA flash cart and having only one ROM inside the cart. It varies from cart to cart.
     
  6. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome, because I have the old school F2A carts [​IMG]

    Do you guys know of any flashcarts that sit flush to the DS Lite, but can have the DS functionality disabled so I can use it as a straight up GBA cart?
     
  7. Konamix02

    Member Konamix02 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Alabama
    Country:
    United States
    I've never noticed how clear the DS lite was...now I want one.
     
  8. karamu

    Newcomer karamu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Kansai, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    yeah that is the the memory cartridge that it is using in the gba slot, i can at least read japanese. Tried working through the chinese but no luck, my chinese isn't good enough. funny thing is i gave it to my friends who are from china, only being in australia a year or so yet they have no idea how to translate what it says. they said it was too technical for them to be able to translate into english.

    so hopefully we have someone here can translate it because im becoming interested in this unit. The idea that the got the browser working is just awesome!
     
  9. neojei

    Member neojei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    I think you don't need a flashed DS to use the DS Link. I tranlslated using Google
    All you do is use an MK4-Mini or MK4-Key from what I'm understanding, and you boot that up, then you are able to access a menu that lets you either boot "A: MK2/3 from NDS Slot -or- B:Boot from GBA Slot." What the reviewer did was selected A, and instead put in the DS Link, and apparently it works. So if you don't have a flashed DS all you need to do is obtain an MK4-Key/Mini and just switch it out. If you want check the link out theres two pictures on there showing the MK4 menu.
     
  10. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone buy one yet?
     
  11. kalimero

    Member kalimero Uncle Rupee

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Germany
    To sum something up from this review:

    1. DSLink works on unflashed DSLite, with MK4 Mini. *yeah*
    2. You can use Extension cards e.g. Browser, Rumble Pack...
    3. Moonshell works out of the box (other Homebrew too?)

    I can't understand the "Compatibility Test games" part. Somebody does? Where is the (green mushroom) guy who can read chinese?

    Damn I want this card so bad! They need english support (packaging, software, website) NOW.
     
  12. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    It says it works with flashme but only flashme v7, and about the compatibility testing part. They basically said they used castlevania a the test for speed and found slow downs in the intro. He suspected it's the card so he tried it in a supercard lite and it was perfect. He says the DS slot is operating at a slower frequency so the fact they can get this close is already great. Doesn't really talk about overall compatibility, just the Castlevania test. I'll stick with my gba slot flashcarts thanks.
     
  13. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I had a theory about that and figured it'd be too good to be true. It's nice to see that it does infact work. Even though I still won't even consider this cartridge for a second.
     
  14. neojei

    Member neojei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    I want to get it, but you know having to swap is kinda annoying. I think I'll wait for the M3 version and weigh my options. If M3 cost like twice as much as this with the MK4, I'll go with this, if not M3 ftw.
     
  15. Chu

    Newcomer Chu Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible for a DS to be flashed with a flash cart running Flashme v7 in slot 1?

    If the DS Link can be booted up with a MK4 mini, would it be possible to have Flashme v7 on the DS Link and run it to flash the DS? Then the person can sell the MK4 to someone so they can flash their DS with a DS Link too.

    The two problems I see is: if the DS can not be flashed with Flashme in slot 1, and if Flashme can even be run with the MK4 swapping method.
     
  16. zone97

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
  17. neojei

    Member neojei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if you can use an MK4-Key for it, doesn't state it, and I'm not sure if its tested. Says MK4 series works, so I'd assume so. This is getting more tempting to get. Just gonna wait for reviews, and M3's version to see wth to finally get as a flash cart.
     
  18. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, works with MK4. You boot the DS with MK4 then swap out the key for the DSLink.

    Edit: What does the review say about SanDisk 1G? Is the compatibility and speed ok?
     
  19. neojei

    Member neojei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah so it wouldn't make a diffrence using a Mini from the Key. Basically the only difference from Mini and Key is the that ram thing used for DS saves. Cause if you were to buy the Mini, the DS LInk, and a gig of MicroSD from PSXbox, its basically the same price as a supercard lite, with 1 gig, with a superkey, lol. If you buy a DS link, a mk4 key, itsl ike 10 dollars cheaper, plus it also works in any DS, unlike the supercard lite, native to only DS Lites.
    Anyone know where you can buy ram carts for the DS Brownser? Lol this would be usefull.
     
  20. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Thats stupid. If you have to switch out carts, the ONLY way i could see curing that is.

    A.) A TRUE Sleep mode, ala no battery usage, screens off, etc
    B.) Boot from any game to menu with select + a.
    C.) Customization (if possible) of power off button to make it if you do that it goes back to menu. Or sleed mode, either way.
     

Share This Page