DSLink on sale

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by IxthusTiger, Aug 26, 2006.

Aug 26, 2006

DSLink on sale by IxthusTiger at 3:12 AM (4,180 Views / 0 Likes) 47 replies

  1. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States


  2. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    how much is that in american monies?

    too bad it's an auction and not an actual market
     
  3. Heinrisch

    Member Heinrisch GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Sweden
    296.00 Chinese yuan = 37.1355447 US$
     
  4. bullet007

    Member bullet007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    wow, pretty cheap
     
  5. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    Thats kind of like a fixed price auction on eBay right? I mean, I see ones with a 1G TF and another with a 1G, DSlite and hori protectors on there too and they all list numerous pieces @ fixed price.

    Of course, the translator doesnt do so well, and I have no idea why I'd want to use Pay Po [​IMG] Wonder how good this thing will be...
     
  6. neojei

    Member neojei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    Can you use a passme device on it? I'm reading this article from MaxConsole. I hit the part #4, and it says
    Ok from what I can tell from retranslating the first sentence from just logic, it says to me
    "Flashed NDS machine, for the installation of DSLInk, installation of Flashme v7."
    For the second sentence from the way I'm retranslating it from logic
    "Nonflashed machine users need to us passcard. (Such as Mk4 passcards to guide to menu cards replace by using A button then put in DSLink.) yadayadayada..."
    I'm assuming "brushed" means "flashed", so with that we can assume that there is a way to use NDSLink with a nonflashed NDS. It's just using the convience of swapping the cards in slot1 which is kinda... annoying if you think about it. Just an assumption I'm making.
     
  7. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah you need to be flashed (and not just by boobies)
     
  8. SlyGuy

    Member SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know why so many people have a problem flashing their DS's. For me there is one feature that stands out above all others as a virtual necessity and that is: FIRMWARE RECOVERY!

    With all the programs, ROM dumps, homebrew, etc, etc I am downloading, I believe it would be ill-advised to leave my DS unprotected against a possible bricker.

    What are the downsides to flashing (other than voiding your warranty) and why are so many people against doing it?
     
  9. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    ds link is a failure. Why buy DS Link and a Passme. When you can just buy a Passme and a GBA Flash Cart.. makes NO sence at all.
     
  10. SlyGuy

    Member SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    I assume the big advantages of this type of flash cart will become apparent when Nintendo releases more games compatible with the Rumble Pack / Memory Pack. They may also release other addons for the GBA slot such as a TV / Radio Tuner, IF/RF capability for use as a remote control, Gyrometer, GPS tool, etc, etc. The bottom line is that Nintendo is already using the GBA slot IN CONJUNCTION with DS games. This is simply not possible with the current setup of running DS games through Slot 2 (GBA).
     
  11. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    TV Tuner/Radio tuner, etc would be run from the DS slot not GBA. And the other stuff is just optional
     
  12. mrekli

    Newcomer mrekli Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I for one have had all my DS's flashed for a while. I like how this product is looking. I'm just curious about compatiblity and features (like skinning). Anyone have info on this?
     
  13. lurker

    Newcomer lurker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    That is just plain wrong. Why try to make hardware for the slower and less extendable DS slot when the GBA slot already has had similar products in the past? (e.g GB camera)
     
  14. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Because there would be a issue with DS/Lite. So NDS slot is universal.
     
  15. Jaunty

    Newcomer Jaunty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    the web browser has different lite and non-lite versions.
    other products could do the same probably.
     
  16. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but for other products like a TV tuner. DS and NDS would be alot more different. for the web browser its the same and is only for ram. NDS slot will be used for any 'add-ons'. Opera was only an excpetion.
     
  17. SlyGuy

    Member SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    With all due respect, your highness, if Nintendo (or 3rd party companies) want to use an 'add-on' at the same time as a DS game (such as the rumble pack, a gyrometer, a camera, etc) they will be forced to use the GBA slot. After all, the DS is made primarily for DS games, so why would an 'add-on' leave the GBA slot as the only one available to play games from?

    Most customers don't use the GBA slot at all when playing NDS games so it is basically a free and unused slot for 95% of customers playing NDS games. It is only the hackers who are using GBA flashcarts and I highly doubt Nintendo will be catering to us!
     
  18. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    The reason the GBA slot exist's is for GBA games. There will never be a extension for DS that would be used gameplay wise (ala, Gyroscope). Considering DS already have enough innovation. No need to jack up the price of a DS game adding something stupid like that. TV Tuner 'could've been GBA, but they did DS, why? because they dont want to make 2 versions of every little 'add-on' and kill the DS Phat installbase.
     
  19. SlyGuy

    Member SlyGuy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Canada
    "When Nintendo released Metroid Prime Pinball, it included a Nintendo DS Rumble Pack, which essentially plugged into the GBA port of the system and vibrated at key points in the game." -joystiq.com

    Also, I wouldn't be surprised if the RAM pack that comes with Opera is used in future games to expand graphics capabilites much like what was done with the N64:

    "The console was finally released in September 1996 and managed to sell all its initial stock Two years later, The N64 Expansion Pack was released for the console, which added 4MB to the RAM to allow games to include larger levels and higher resolutions." -cyberiapc.com

    I must disagree with your opinion, considering the trend of using the GBA slot to enhance NDS games is already happening! Also, to dismiss future innovation by saying there is already enough innovation comes across as somewhat foolish. Do you think Nintendo will ever stop innovating and say "Yeah, I think we've done enough new stuff. Let's just do the same 'ol same 'ol from now on"?
     
  20. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I think you've lived up to your name with that post [​IMG]
     

Share This Page