dsDoom 1.10 - with DLDI support

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by scrawl, Jan 15, 2007.

Jan 15, 2007
  1. scrawl
    OP

    Member scrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Iceland
    Not sure if this has made the news rounds yet, but dsDoom 1.10 now has DLDI support.

    There have been reported problems on some Flashcarts (EZ-Flash 4 compact, EZ-Flash 4 Phat) and overwriting save games have made it reset on me once or twice (you don't lost the save though).

    http://www.jefklak.com/Guides/Doom-DS
     
  2. GameGeezer

    Member GameGeezer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Working perfectly on the G6 Lite. I tried Doom shareware and Doom II so far. Very nice.
     
  3. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    what i don't like about this homebrew is the files that are stored in the root. i'd prefer them to be stored in a folder.
     
  4. scrawl
    OP

    Member scrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Iceland
    dsDoom 1.10b

    Identical to dsDoom 1.10a, except data files (*.wads, tranmap.dat and savegames) are now stored in /data/doom/

    Download Here
     
  5. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Great!
     
  6. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    This version gives me a black screen after selecting normal game. Anyone esle gotten it to work on R4?
     
  7. pmdroks

    Newcomer pmdroks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    How do I get Doom to work on my DS-X? I download both 1.10a and 1.10b. I get a black screen after I try to start a normal game.
     
  8. Elfish

    Member Elfish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Germany
    u need to patch the homebrew with chisms dldi patcher.
    (make sure u get a patch for your dsx)
     
  9. slayerspud

    Member slayerspud GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does this version save on the G6?
     
  10. GameGeezer

    Member GameGeezer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm that it does save on the G6 Lite. I have had it crash a couple of times during play but that is unusual.
     
  11. skullstatue

    Banned skullstatue Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    So let me get this straight, it doesn't support Hexen or Heretic? I've gotten Doom 1 and 2 working but haven't tried the two H's yet.
     
  12. scrawl
    OP

    Member scrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Iceland
    Four builds of DSDoom for Doom, Doom2, TNT and Plutonia, pre-patched for EZ-Flash IV and EZ-Flash V. Now you can store multiple version of DSDoom on a single card.

    Rename your .WAD files to Doom.wad and place them in the following directories:

    /data/doomplutonia
    /data/doomtnt
    /data/doom
    /data/doom2

    Download here

    You will need 7Zip to extract the files.

    The doom.bin files are actually doom.ds.gba files. Rename the extension if required.

    If you do not own an EZ4 or EZ5, remember to apply an appropriate DLDI patch.

    For all those having issues with other flashcarts, I'm afraid I can't help much - my testing is limited to an EZ-Flash IV Deluxe and a EZ-Flash V.
     
  13. sirAnger

    Member sirAnger GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the heads up scrawl. I'll have to play with this tomorrow!
     
  14. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    scrawl are those files using ez4 dldi?
    because although i'm using ez4 deluxe, i normally have to use the alt dldi patch.
     
  15. scrawl
    OP

    Member scrawl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Iceland
    Sorry OSW, I should have mentioned that.

    The .bin's are pre-patched with the normal EZ4 DLDI patch. You'll need to patch them if you use the alt_ez4 DLDI patch.
     
  16. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    ok thanks man!
     
  17. TonyIommi

    Newcomer TonyIommi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Man it won't work on my R4DS...Ive patched it and extracted it in the root.The only thing i get after selecting normal game is two white screens,as if the ds was switched off (but the green light is still on)What the hack?
     
  18. inovermyheadd

    Newcomer inovermyheadd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Black Sabbath for life! Do you have the doom.wad? You are doing something wrong b/c it works great on my M3 Simply.
     

Share This Page