DScratch pre-teta-alpha (date 071016)

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, Oct 20, 2007.

Oct 20, 2007
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DScratch pre-teta-alpha (date 071016)
    Audio manipulation software
    [​IMG]
    DScratch is a homebrew audio manipulation software for the DS made by gorgull. It's in "pre-teta-alpha" stages at the moment but is functioning. DScratch is made using the Protein engine and allows use of .wav files. It can also output MIDI over Wi-Fi. Quick head's up to R4DS owners - apparently this application is having problems working properly on the R4DS! The author is aware of the issue.[title:DScratch readme]DScratch is the first module made using Protein engine - it's a little audio manipulation software running on DS which ables you to play with an existing .wav file or recorded audio sample; you can pitch it, scratch it, rewind, mute and apply effects on it. Moreover, DScratch sends MIDI through wifi connection, which ables you to control external applications, like a VJing software as I do.

    FEATURES:

    * load .wav file or live-recorded audio
    * scratch
    * pitch control
    * FX "Retrig"
    * FX "DownSampling"
    * Midi OUT (wireless)
    * stylus control
    * NDSMotion control

    DEMO:

    Here's the pre-teta-alpha demo v071016:

    NOTES:

    * The manual is in README.txt
    * There's no file browser for the moment - replace the Protein/Data/Sounds/sample.wav file with your own sample - for the moment the sample is fully loaded in RAM, so it can't load a sample bigger than ~1MB.

    KNOWN ISSUES:

    * no file browser - default sample.wav
    * sample.wav is limited to ~1MBytes - I'm currently testing audio file streaming feature
    * FX Retrig isn't synchronized to rythm - I'm currently rewriting the effect, it will be really better next time ;-)
    * won't work properly on today's R4DS - I just bought one to test and some problems remain
    * certainly a lot of other things - remember it's an early alpha :-p
    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Home page
     
  2. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I recorded a wav using DSOrganize, but it didn't work with this one...
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  4. jayleferm

    Newcomer jayleferm Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe that's because pasc used the standard version. Go to the Developer's Homepage and load the R4/M3S hack version of DScratch. It works on my M3Simply very well.

    Or maybe the recorded wav didn't match the sample rate of sample.wav.
    16 bit, 44,1 khz and mono should work.
     
  5. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    AND it should be under 1 megabyte.
     
  6. PBC

    Member PBC What!? I can change this??

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Kinda good. pretty fun.
     
  7. Damaged

    Newcomer Damaged Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Israel
    I'm playing with this for hours.. this is AWESOME.
     
  8. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] I just found out about this little homebrew!

    *Pulls out MicroSD Adapter...

    [​IMG] When I read the first post by Shaun, it said it had problems with R4s.. I scrolled down and found a R4/M3Simply hack..

    So thanks for that, jayleferm.

    ~Nero
     
  9. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    does any one worked it with G6 Lite?
     
  10. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Neither one of them works on the CycloEvo. gives an error about line 68 (I think I posted this in a previous thread)
     
  11. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    The special M3Simply/R4 version doesn't work. [​IMG]

    I just tried it out for the first time..

    ~Nero
     
  12. jmm0070

    Newcomer jmm0070 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Chile
    when dif the dshobro thread become this????
     

Share This Page